We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
12
6
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspit toiletsrunning waterstayed heresitestentwildlife
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

We arrived for a night of camping in our little teardrop trailer at around 9am last week. There were a number of sites to choose from at this time of the year and day which was good because we'd heard how fast it fills. We chose site 9, which was a wonderful site with some views of the river and lots of river noises. It is a shared space (with separate tables and bear boxes for each site) so you may not have a lot of privacy. Bathrooms were a pit toilet, but it didn't smell at all and was kept clean and well stocked.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
6  Thank jules_travel55857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We camped three nights in late July and loved this quiet campground. Lots of wildlife around the area including a great horned owl who hooted each evening and a black bear who wandered the woods nearby. The ranger program about wolves was excellent.

It was convenient to Canyon area, Lamar Valley, and Mammoth. Be prepared for cool nights and arrive early as the camp filled up each day we were there by 10 - 10:30 am.

Room Tip: The sites at the top of the loop have room for 3 small tents but all sites are OK.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kadala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed at Tower for 2 nights. The campground is located on a long sloping hill, which means finding level ground can be hard for some. We have a very small RV and found a site, but ideally it's a tenting campground. The sites have a tent pad, fire pit, picnic table and bear box. The river runs by the edge of the campground and there are many trails over to the water. You can also, walk a few short minutes away to the general store on the trail or on the paved road.
This campground is very quiet, and perfect for the quiet camper.
We had a Bison and deer visit while we were there.
The host is great too and very fair when it comes to first come first serve.
I highly recommend this campground!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
4  Thank JJobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2015 via mobile

One of the best I have been in anywhere. The campground host was very good. She met us when we pulled up and kept the check in process orderly. This is a campground where you will need to be there very early to get a site. She kept the cars in order to keep the process truly first come.first served. The sites will not work with all campers as.some sites are small. Vault toilets are.very clean. It is quiet and was the camping experience we.were looking for. Near the Yellowstone river, Lamar Valley, and Hayden valley. There is a store at the bottom of hill for ice and firewood and yes a flush toilets. I talked my wife and daughter into this so we would be near Lamar Valley and the wolves. They loved it. The vault toilet does not smell bad as long as people kept.the lid closed and the door shut as instructed. Even they did not mind and was a away from the big crowded campgrounds.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank wmehammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My only complaint about this campground was some young boys nearby were pretty loud from 10:00 - 11:00 PM the last few nights of our 5 night stay. Like Robert C noted, great location near Lamar Valley (beware of delays to bison on the road), Mammoth, and Canyon Village. Good ice cream at the general store that's a short walk from the campground.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Advice_followed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews