We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
13
10
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
10
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews class reunion family room central house queen bed great place to stay fred wedding lake accommodations game retreat sleeping kids
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We had a great weeklong family reunion, with more than 50 people spanning 3 generations. Central House isn't a fancy place (and it's not inexpensive), but Fred & Tammy and the staff know how to make it work for their guests. They were very accommodating, starting with planning and scheduling our stay. The food, activities, lake and ambiance come together to produce a comfortable, relaxing experience. The guest rooms are basic, but we used them mostly for sleeping.

Nearby activities - hiking, rafting, zip lines, bowling, to name just a few - are easy to arrange and get to.

It's easy to see why some families have been going there year after year. Our group agreed that we'd like to go back.

Room tip: the "family rooms" work well
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marv S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

Don't get me wrong if you are going to stay in Beach Lake there are few other options and the pool is great along with the large spa.

The room was adequate for comfort however it was not well cleaned upon our arrival and we found a key for another room under the bed. When I approached the management they thanked me for returning it to them because it was missing however there was no apology etc for not diligently cleaning or for a possible breach in the security of another guest.

Also under the bed there was a single pink gum ball. I moved it to the middle of the floor to see if it would be cleaned the next morning. It was left there after the cleaning staff was finished... Maybe they thought we were saving it for later.

The food was very good, however pricey for what you get. You can eat better for less in other places in the surrounding area.

Finally I think the little things would have been nice. No ice machine however Ice was available for purchase. No shampoo etc, which would have been nice, and the rooms were a bit outdated.

They did have activities for young and old in the days and evenings, which would have to be considered in the price, but if you are not really phased by them (line dancing, mechanical bull riding, magic show and petting zoo) again it may not be worth the price paid. They have bocci, shuffleboard and ping pong. (However ping pong balls were available at a marginal cost)

If you have your heart set on Beach Lake or the Honesdale Area this may well be the only place to be. We had a great time with great friends, but aside from the pool I was underwhelmed by the service and facilities of the resort. For the price paid, why was there so much nickel and diming?

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank mattt645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Rooms were crowded for 4 people with the 2 beds. Not well maintained some lights didn'the work no bath mat in tub cheap shower curtain made bathroom floor a pond while showering. No hand towels or extra towels so we ran short on towels. Rooms were not what i would expect to find at any resort. Meals need to be eaten at set times some meals were great and others not so great, service was poor and cold tell the waitresses were trained to do everything on the cheap it makes them work twice as hard and makes them look bad. Maybe they need a dinning room manager to better handle it. One breakfast was served family style with 9 of us at our table we were given only 7 pancakes and asked to get more it took 45 min to get 5 more after 1hrs 15 min i was able to get a second pancake after we complained we were greated by one of the rude lady owners who was nasty towards us as guest and we're told that they were cooking to order and were serving 100 guest that morning so don'the be in a hurry at meal times. A few great things for the kids to do. Overall this place is run on the cheap side.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

Really like the view from the room, food was delicious...its just the room closet we actually had many cloths and left with no hangers :p when its comes to cleanliness thumbs up (y) very nice soothing environment and staff is nice. We have been attended by Gaurav Singh Rathore he was so polite and friendly and gave us warm welcome. Every hotel should recruit staff like him which gave ur customers a memorable experience.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 007141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

Pros -
- The staff is very friendly and helpful. They gave us a better room without us asking.
- Food - the resort prepared the food for a wedding reception we attended and is was very, very good. The presentation on the buffet was nice and the food was kept hot and fresh. The table service was excellent with drinks and desserts. A nice experience
-Location - you are pretty much right in town but town is small so that may be a plus. It is right on the lake.
-Buildings are convenient with large porches including tables to sit at and fresh coffee in the morning out on the porch - nice
-Bathroom was very good
-Parking is good - lots of it

Cons
- our room was very small - no closet. There is a small rack with 3 hangers for coats. We were there for a wedding and needed to hang our clothes.
-Room has a window climate control unit with no thermostat. So it is either "on" or "off" meaning the room was either hot or cold.
-The bedding is not as warm as one would like given the climate control situation.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank NancyAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews