We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
534 results
Traveller rating
195
193
99
18
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
193
99
18
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews convenience store studio kitchenette panoramic ocean view air bnb bbq area laundry facilities mini mart pool and jacuzzi within walking distance waikiki beach front desk staff diamond head small bathroom washers and dryers few minutes walk would definitely stay here again great pool
Filter
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 534 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We booked our family into a room and they were given a 37th floor room facing Diamond Head. Spectacular view of Diamond Head, Waikiki, Ala Wai Canal and the Pacific Ocean. It was a functional room with two double beds, full sized refrigerator, stove and kitchen sink. The bathroom was so tiny the door couldn't be completely opened. Not good. We booked a room the last two nights our family was there and were put on the 15th floor in a renovated room facing Diamond Head. Nice view also but lots wrong. First we found a pair of shorts hanging on the shower rod, the shower head was very fancy but so low we had to duck under it to get wet, the vent was falling out of the ceiling and had to be pushed back in, the sink was a small kitchen sink, very deep and the stopper was like a kitchen sink. At least we could open the door all the way. The beds were queen sized and the mattress sat on a wooden frame which was too big and we often ran into the corners. Moving the mattress didn't help because if anyone sat or laid on the bed it moved and the corner was exposed again. The toilet seat was so cheap it bent when sat on it and had a sharp point on it and the air conditioner was so loud, even with just the fan, you couldn't hear the t.v. if it was running plus our room was next to the trash shute and when we opened the door the smell would permeate the room. Yuck. The front desk folks were actually very nice especially PT and Marynoll. The pool area is on the sixth floor and it is extremely nice. It is also keyed, in and out. They have a hot tub, showers, bathrooms, sauna, washers and driers and several gas barbeque units that are available for use. There is no WiFI except in the lobby and it costs. Also local phone calls are $1. The hotel is convenient to restaurants and only three blocks from the beach. It is the tallest hotel in Waikiki, however, the elevators don't always work and the convenience store on the 6th is very expensive. Pool towels are available on the 5th floor parking area and a separate elevator goes there, then back to the lobby and on another elevator to the pool. All in all, for the money we paid, it was average in some ways and very disappointing in others plus the price is going up for the renovated rooms. By the way, the room keys are terrible and we had to have them rekeyed three times, a pain.

Room Tip: High floors are not yet renovated (12/12) and the lower floors are but need work with the basics like shower head, toilet seat, etc.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank weggerzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Skyline at Island Colony. We take pride in our property and your concerns will be brought up to Senior Management in an effort to improve our product.
Our location and amenities are great with our team members giving an added touch to ensure you have a wonderful stay.
We look forward to the possibility of serving you again. Please call me directly, i will be more than happy to assist you.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed at this place over the Christmas/NY break. We had booked for a pamoramic ocean view room, but instead, were given a city view room. At check-out, I was charged for the OV room and when I asked the front desk about it, they gave me the credit. So, recommend that you always check your bill.

Recently remodeled, clean place. Feels like a apt/condo bldg, not a hotel. They have a pool, mini-mart, and bbq area on the 6th floor. About 3-4 blocks from the beach, but really a short walk.

Not bad for Plan B since the Sheraton Waikiki wasn't available.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maverickgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Aloha and Happy Holidays from the Skyline at Island Colony,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line readers. We apoligize for the inconvenience you endured during your stay and wish you back on a future visit to Honolulu and Waikiki. The Holiday season is always busiest and although your room request wasn't reached, we are happy the issue was resolved and look forward to the chance to serve you again.
Please call me directly should you need assitance in booking a future stay with us.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We are kama'aina who needed a place to stay while our house was being termite-extermination tented. We opted to stay at the Aqua Skytower as its location on the Ala Wai provides convenient routes to out-of-area restaurants without being stuck in traffic. Brian Kovaloff handled our reservation requests professionally and promptly. We were greeted cordially and warmly by Leilani, who despite being the only person at the front desk, managed to juggle phone calls, check-ins and guest requests with an unflappable and calm friendliness. Our door keys failed to work after three attempts and on the last, Leilani accompanied us upstairs to help. My husband dislikes the Waikiki area to the point of winding himself into an angry frenzy anytime he he
is in the area, so we drove out of Waikiki to have dinner. When we returned, Leilani informed us that the lock, rather than the keys, was broken and that we would be moved to another room. The first room was very comfortable, but the second room was a better upgrade. My husband, a geographer, even relaxed and was able to observe and point out the Kaimuki Dome and its place in the volcanic rift zone from Leahi to the Kaneohe Marine Corps area from the lanai of our new room. He thus lightened up a bit and was able to gain something from our stay. The only drawback for me was the lack of central air-conditioning in the second (one bedroom) room, which kept the bedroom cool, but left the living and dining area warm. Both Brain and Leilani were super! Accommodations in the hospitality industry have everything to do with how one is treated and I loved the cheery and efficient customer service provided us by these two outstanding professionals.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your Skyline experience. We thank you for choosing Skyline and although it was only a short stay we are happy you enjoyed all that Skyline has to offer. We look forward to your next stay with us, please call us directly and we will be glad to assist you.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012 via mobile

Having stayed here before Aqua hotels took over was just not what you'd expect from a hotel. Aqua hotels has greatly improved the level of service and the value for rooms in this property. The hotel manager was very professional and made our vacation a wonderful success. Brian is his name and his staff also showed us the real aloha we cone to expect from Hawaii. A good place to stay when coming to Waikiki. We will stay here again. Oh yeah the view Is amazing from our balcony of diamond head and the city lights.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line readers. Our recent renovations at the property have been a success and we are glad that you were able to experience first hand what the Skyline at Island Colony has to offer. Our service standards are top notch and are team members go above and beyond to ensure your stay is memorable and everlasting.
We look forward to the oppurtunity to serve you again in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel during our anniversary. The front desk I think her name was Haziel, she was really helpful and accommodating. We had such wonderful and very memorable stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2012

Aloha,
Happy Anniversary from the Skyline at Island Colony. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the property. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that Haziel was able to meet your expectations on this special occasion.
We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews