We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Waikiki”
Review of Halekulani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Halekulani Hotel
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best in Waikiki”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Heavenly Hotel right on beach with the city behind you. You cannot beat the luxury and tranquility at Haulikulani. Once you walk in off the beach or from the city you are taken miles away into a sophisticated oasis that is unmatched in Oahu. It’s not cheap by any means but if you are looking for first class with unmatched service this is the place. Celeb’s like it because it’s low key and nobody care who you are. Everyone here is here to enjoy and relax. Restaurants are also unmatched. Best Mai-Tai in the world is at the house without a key restaurant by pool.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RAY O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,806
    469
    156
    52
    40
See reviews for
666
1,208
67
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel is close to Kalakaua Street, the main shopping street of Honolulu, only 5 mintues away. The rooms were renovated a few years ago so they are quite new overall. The check in lobby seems a bit simple and small given the class of the hotel. They don't even have a chair in the lobby for guests. The lifts for guest rooms is in such a way that I thought it was a cargo lift and not sure if it is for guests.

But once inside the room it is a whole different world. It is new and decent. The lanai is side facing the beach, with a lounge chair, a chair and a tea table. My room included a tea table, stool, a writing desk and a sofa. Bathroom is spacious, with separate shower and bathtub. The back of the wardrobe is interesting that it is infact a sliding door that open the way into the bathroom.

I would rate the service of the hotel to be excellent. I asked for some toiletry from housekeeping and they delivered to my room, then I let go of the door thinking that it would shut by itself. It didn't. After some minutes a hotel staff knocked on my door and asked me to shut the door. Then after about half an hour a hotel technician came to fix the door closers. I was impressed with such service and attitude.

Orchids, the breakfast restaurant is by the pool and the lawn. The service is excellent, food is fine. The pool is not big, as in the case of most hotels on Waikiki. There is a small strip of pedestrian way beside the hotel lawn where quite many people walking all the time, so it is kind of busy most of the time. The beach attached to the hotel is relatively small, so if the guests wanted to swim on the beach, this is not a perfect choice.

I came across a few couples having their wedding in the hotel and I agree that it is a wise choice to choose this hotel for wedding.

If you are looking for a decent hotel on Waikiki, this is probably the best choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CLau888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Loved this hotel. Had a room high up overlooking the pool and ocean....Lots of sun, very clean. Staff very friendly. Great location to see everything.

Room Tip: Opt for a ocean room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nookinoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

“Absolute paradise! When we didn’t feel like splashing around in the waves we easily walked back to huge pool to relax in the lounge chairs. The staff are so warm and inviting; we fancied a round of golf and the concierge helped set up a tee time at one of the most beautiful courses on the island. Golfers and beach lovers will thrive in this oceanside destination that offers exclusive access to some of the premier courses on Oahu. Also, a beautiful backdrop for a wedding.”

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

From what I can tell this best hotel in Waikiki...

The friendly staff, to the spotless rooms to the efficient staff my experience here was worth every penny and considering a section of this hotel is under-renovation you would not know it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Halekulani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halekulani Hotel

Property: Halekulani Hotel
Address: 2199 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1988
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#5 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Halekulani Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halekulani has been hosting visitors to Waikiki Beach for nearly 100 years. Today its reputation for gracious hospitality, impeccable service and magnificent cuisine is unequaled on Oahu and renowned, throughout the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Halekulani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halekulani Hotel Honolulu
Halekulani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing