We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but that's where it stops”
Review of Royal Grove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Grove Hotel
Ranked #62 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good value but that's where it stops”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I stayed by myself and while the value and location was good, I was a tad disappointed with the room and service.

I tend to be a more "positive" reviewer... The establishment, room and facilities are very basic. From the entry to the hallway then finally into the room, was sadly a bit of a let-down. And I'm not pleased to say the staff were not welcoming... several staff in several days. I returned back to Waikiki after travelling around the islands and chose to stay at another property similar priced and much better service and room.

Being in the tourism industry for many years and a budget traveller, I at the very least expect good service. Sadly, I never got it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Perthyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    155
    41
    13
    16
See reviews for
77
124
66
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is a great little place. Honolulu is not cheap, and this hotel gives value for money, as long as you're not looking for something flash. Our room was $80, for a studio with queen bed overlooking the pool, with small kitchenette. It's sort of old motel style, but was clean, functional, and comfortable. It's an easy walk to the beach, and close to all the shops.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mayasalaama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The wife and I have Stayed at the Royal Grove many times and have found the hotel and staff
very good.The hotel is very close to all you would want to do as far as shopping and short walk to beaches.The bus stop is just up on the corner to travel all over the island.
The rooms at the Grove are very clean and all you would need for a very good vacation.
Why would you not look at the Royal Grove Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AustraliaRussell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

My college age daughter and stayed at the Royal Grove in January for five nights.After the initial shock at how dated the place was we settled in for a great stay.The one bedroom with kitchen was so handy.It was easy to stock up at the Pantry on Kuhio,so breakfast,lunch,dinner and snacks were easy.The other guests consisted of older long term returning guests and value seekers like us,always well behaved.The pool area is an oasis of quiet where people sun bath,read or play cards in the shade.The maids tend the rooms daly (they do not do dishes)with towels,bed making and bathroom cleaning.If you are OK with "old but good"this is a fun place with great value and convenience.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mixerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The hotel was clean, comfortable, spacious for the location and amazing affordable. We stayed in a two-room suite with a full-size bed and two twin beds. Exactly what we needed. We intend to stay at the Royal Grove for any future visits to Honolulu.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NJDCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
764 reviews
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,793 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,577 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Grove Hotel

Property: Royal Grove Hotel
Address: 151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3297
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Royal Grove Honolulu
Hotel Royal Grove
Royal Grove Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing