We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maui Jim's Outrigger Reef Beach Activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Maui Jim's Outrigger Reef Beach Activities”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Thanks for the Aloha, Maui Jims Outrigger Reef Beach Activites! Simply the best in beach activities and beachside lounge chairs and umbrella's. You made our stay a fabulous one and we certainly appreciate the special accomodations you made for us on the last day of our visit.

Be sure to visit Melvin, Carlos, Andy, and Kelly while staying at the Outrigger. They will take care of all your beach activities needs.

Your friends from KY,
Brian, Jason, Karen, Tammy. Paul

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 39604Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,279
    1,868
    436
    128
    81
See reviews for
1,662
2,706
157
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,473)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Was there for 4 days at the end of January. Friendly staff, clean and safe hotel, I couldn't ask for anything more. I only wish I had more time, can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ericsurf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I just left this hotel, and simply loved it.
The good....
Great value for the money. Staying on the beach is one of those things you don't think you'll miss until you don't have it. Having it was fantastic. Very convienent. With the hotels in Waikiki, you have shade at the pool for part of the day...because of all of the buildings. Having the beach to hang out at then going to the pool is great.
They have a water cooler with lemon at the pool, which seems like ya, whatever, but, its the little things that make it nice and easy.
Our room was very spacious. Two double beds and a full size couch and room to spare. Our room overlooked the pool...which was great. Live music till 9pm.
The bars were excellent. All very busy, which is nice to meet other people. The bartenders great. The music great. The food at the pool bar was good... your regular bar food. Drinks good...especially the mojitios.
The not as good...
Breakfast at the ocean resturant...meh...not good. We ate breakfast out... the Eggs and things restaurant fantastic and walking distance. Try Cream Pots also.
Thats it. I really can't fault the place. I had a great time, and would totally go again. The location was great too :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank orchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

The Outrigger Reef provides the perfect balance between access to the Wiakiki strip on the one side and it's tremendous beach and view of Diamond Head on the other. The rooms were clean, staff were friendly and we found the other guests to be approachable. Having both the pool and the beach within steps of each other made our 2 young children quite happy. The chamber maid greeted them every morning and on our final day made them both a balloon character. Nice touch.

In our case the City view and it's noticeably cheaper rates were just fine as we did not spend much time on the balcony with the kids...if we wanted to see the beach and the amazing vistas we simply took the elevator down to ground level.

All and all a GREAT choice.

Room Tip: See above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TwoMacsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed her with friends in late January. The rooms were nicely appointed with lots of great pillows. You need to be careful in requesting a room as one side faces right into another building. We had a fabulous view from our room, 714. I think it was listed as a partial ocean view, but it was the last room before the full ocean view rooms and it was still an amazing view. You can also get a senior rate here if you are 50 or over. We ate at all of the restaurants and the food was good to great. The service was very friendly and helpful. The pool is not on the ocean and this may be a drawback for some. There were lots of seats around the pool. We layed out on the beach and you had to rent the chairs and umbrellas and I thought they were a little pricey. There was a lot of music (live and Karaoke) at night, but it quieted down around 9:00 or 10:00. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you get the right room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snj97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,970 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2169 Kalia Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 639
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Reef On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Reef Beach
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger
Outrigger Reef Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing