We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money. Very happy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Value for money. Very happy.”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

After staying at the Hyatt in the middle of Waikiki recently, we were torn about whether to book this hotel. The price was great. The location we thought was fine because we wanted to shop at Ala Moana and, in the other direction, we knew Waikiki was only a short walk away. We just worried that if we booked something so much cheaper than the Hyatt it might not be very nice.

On arrival we were still unsure. The first room we went into was on a low floor and seemed very noisy (traffic) so we asked to change. We were given a higher floor which was still a bit noisy but with the air con on the traffic was drowned out.

Very quickly, though, we settled in and decided this hotel was actually an excellent choice. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was not brand new but worked perfectly well and everything was clean.

I really liked the laundry located right next to the pool which was right next to the gym, so you could wait for your clothes to wash/dry without wasting time or having to leave them there and go away. We enjoyed lying by the pool as did a few other guests.

As mentioned the hotel's an easy walk to Ala Moana shopping mall which we loved. We also actually walked all the way across Waikiki, up to the top of Diamond Head and back to the Ramada. I wouldn't recommend this, though, unless you're on a crazy fitness drive like we were.

A couple of other recommendations: go to the Wailana coffee lounge for breakfast. Old school American type diner which we (as foreigners) found kind of charming. We liked the i-Hop too! Both these restaurants are on the street outside the hotel (turn left and walk a few metres). Also, there's a car hire place really close to this hotel where we picked up a vehicle for the day and drove up to the North Shore and back via the pineapple plantation. That was a memorable day.

In short, this hotel was a great choice because it wasn't hugely expensive but gave us everything we wanted. I enjoyed it very much and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lamington_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickiki, Manager at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Aloha!

Mahalo for your comments about our hotel. I am very glad that you were pleasantly surprised. Yes, our location is excellent, as we are very close to just about everthing you would want; shopping, restaurants, beach, hiking, tennis courts, park, and so much more. Even having a car rental agency next door is very advantageous, as you discovered. TheBus stop is right in front of the hotel as well. Hoping to see you back here again soon! Mahalo for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    607
    259
    64
    23
See reviews for
351
484
125
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

It was excellent for the price you pay. What do you expect? if you want to have a place to stay right in the heart of Waikiki yet cheap and clean you can not get it from Sheraton or five star hotel. Who would want the hotel to be a part of your vacation? You do not want the hotel to ruin your vacation but it does not need to be extra special. They provide free internet, free ammenities. Internet is super fast. There is a 15 dollars parking fee but you go to other hotels where you do not pay for parking fee but yet you will have to pay for other stuff which turn out to be the same. The one trick people do not bring up on here is from this location, it is very easy to drive your car around town which is a big plus. It is easy to get in and out of the hotel which I can not say for other hotels. For us, a family of two and a small kid, the room provide two full beds which is more than enough. If I come back to Hawaii which I will, I will stay at this location again. if you are rich and wanted to be treated special stay at the big hotel and pay more. This hotel is not for the super rich who want wine service to their rooms but it is for people who want to go around the island during the day and go shopping at night in the waikiki area and then come back to nice comfortable beds and friendly nice staff. Some people ask for Kids activities inside a hotel. Why do you want to kid activities inside a hotel when you are on vacation in Hawaii??????????This hotel is across from the Hilton and you can just walk your kids over there and see all the Koi fish and just walk down the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vinh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickiki, Manager at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Aloha!

Thank you so much for all your comments. Feedback is very important to us as it helps us to improve wherever possible. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our hotel convenient, comfortable and affordable. Thank you also for sharing your ideas and suggestions with everyone. We look forward to your safe and speedy return.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELLSWORTH
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

this is a nice hotel staff very friendly rooms clean and comfortable

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irelandandapub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickiki, Manager at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Aloha!

Thank you for mentioning how you enjoyed our great staff, clean rooms and the comfort you experienced while here. Come on back and see us again soon!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Hotel look and amenities were basic, as the way a small hotel is.

The nice part is that it offers the following:
1) Complementary Coffee and water in the morning
2) Complementary in-room internet
3) Complementary computer with internet and free printer at front desk
4) Probably lowest price parking in Waikiki-- $15/day
5) Bus stop right in front of hotel. Ala Moana mall is about 10 minutes walk away, and National and Enterprise rental cars are just next door.
6) Front Desk personnels were attentive to my requests.

And for about $100 (tax included), what else can I ask for?!

Lots of airline employees stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sftong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickiki, Manager at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Aloha!

Thank you so much for your very kind review. It is always nice to hear that guests enjoy their stay. It is also very nice to hear that you found our amenities useful, such as the free coffee in the morning, the free internet, the free printer, the value-priced parking, the convenient location, and most importantly, our staff. Thanks for noticing and for mentioning it.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I had a very brief overnight stay in this hotel (overnight layover). The staff were friendly, the rooms clean. The bathroom is quite small, the main room is average or slightly bigger in size.
The rooms are basic, they do the job, this is not a hotel that you stay in if you want your hotel to be part of the vacation.
The best thing I found about this hotel is that it is very quiet. I was beginning to think that street noise and Waikiki went hand in hand but the rooms at the back of this hotel (facing away from Ala Moana Blvd) are actually very quiet which suited me perfectly.
To be perfectly honest, I wouldn’t stay here again except for another overnight connection, however there is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel. I would highly recommend it to anyone that wants to stay in Waikiki and still be able to sleep without interruptions from the street noise, that is one thing this hotel has going for it compared to most Waikiki hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cocobean8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickiki, Manager at Ramada Plaza Waikiki, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Aloha!

I'm so glad you had a great sleep at our hotel. By being back off of the main boulevard from the other hotels, we are definitely quieter, and our backside, which faces the mountains, is even quieter than that. I am glad you liked our location and hope to see you again. Thank you for your kind comments and for staying with us. We appreciate your business!

Maybe the next time you stay with us you might have a chance to check out the local restaurants in our area, as well as the shopping, beaches, and ocean activities. We have lots to offer and everything is just a few minutes from our doorstep!

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
1,478 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
244 reviews
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
152 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Plaza Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Waikiki

Property: Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Address: 1830 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#38 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and E Komo Mai! Located at the beginning of Waikiki, we are an off beach property offering affordable accommodations with NO resort fees! We are within walking distance to the beach, Ala Moana Shopping Center and the Hawaii Convention Center! All guest rooms come with free WI-FI, charging station for electronic devices, microwave, mini-fridge,in-room safe, HDTV including free HBO, coffee maker, hair dryer, bathroom amenities, iron/ironing board. Also free use of the Fitness Center and Business station. Start your morning with fresh coffee, tea, and iced water in the hotel lobby. Parking is normally $25.00 per night but become a Wyndham Rewards member, and parking is reduced to $20.00 per night plus earn points towards a free stay at any Wyndham property. Public transportation (The Bus) is available in front of the hotel. Explore and experience the island culture - visit our concierge/activities desk in the lobby for all your tours and adventures and build great memories of your Hawaiian vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Plaza Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Waikiki Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Waikiki
Holiday Inn Honolulu
Honolulu Holiday Inn
Ramada Plaza Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing