We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
21
10
10
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
10
10
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2016

My husband had a last minute trip and the the plumeria was just the right fit. Very convenient location and has all the basics you need. Safeway and starbucks right around the corner with lots of restaurants and shopping nearby too. Staff was very helpful and understanding.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

The staff and tenants are friendly. For the price of the accommodation, you are getting what you pay for. It is basic and clean. The staff will try to place you with other people around your same age and maybe same interest. There are some units that appear to have some retired tenants, who are also friendly. That shouldn't deter you from staying here. It's about a 10-15 min walk to Ala Moana mall and a little further is the beach. There is a Safeway one block away.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015 via mobile

I've just relocated to Honolulu, and stayed at the Plumeria for 4 weeks, while looking for an apartment.

The medium sized room which I was in was rather spacious and well kept, though its furnishings were simple.

My room was in a 4 bedroom apartment, shared by several young people and couples throughout my stay. Everything in the apartment was well kept and in working condition, just that the sink in the bathroom was a little old.

My stay here was enjoyable, primarily because my flatmates happened to be great people who used everything, especially the bathroom judiciously.

This is always the case in every shared housing situation. It was also interesting to notice that different flatmates had quite different living habits.

Since most of the rooms in the apartment are single and not shared rooms, it didn't feel too crowded at any point in time.

The Plumeria has a centralized location in a relatively clean and safe neighbourhood, well served by routes 1 and 2. The main gates and doors are locked at night for maximum security. It also has a well maintained laundry area.

The office staff are wonderful! They really go the extra mile to ensure that their short term visitors do not miss their calls, and also ensure that everyone, including their short term visitors, receives their mail.

The front desk staff are really friendly and knowledgeable, and are able to handle last minute changes and requests promptly without any difficulty.

Last of all, I got to stay at the Plumeria, as it was too late to find an extended stay hotel for a month. Overall, it was a great experience.

The good thing is that it is a cheaper option, and glad to have the chance to be at the Plumeria.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank Hock N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2014

Not very safe for women too. The pictures make the place look old and tired and need repairs but it actually looks even worse than the photos. The staff are rude and only work for a few hours a day so if you check in at night or any time that is not between 10 am and noon then it is really hard to find anyone to give you a room. This place is really expensive for a hostel. Very crowded. I wanted a room in a all Women Dorm but they were booked out.
If you don't believe that the area is unsafe type in the address in homefacts.com and you will get a better idea of the area. The hostel is half dorms for people staying there and half apartments where people actually live and there are some very unsafe people there.
Please don't stay here if you have children. I saw lots of families staying there and just for a little more money you can have your own apartment suite in a hotel with a bathroom you don't have to share with strangers.
If you prefer cheap hostels like me there are better places for the same price and some that are cheaper and in safer areas.
Some people stay here think they will get a dorm to themselves but this is very, very rare. It's crowded so you will always be sharing a kitchen and bathroom with 4-6 other people.
No security so don't stay here if you are renting a bike or leave bags or backpacks outside.
No real gates so homeless people wander in day and night.
The location isn't that great, at least for the kind of stuff I wanted to do in Hawaii.
It's basically like downtown L.A.
Pollution, noise, fights, thin walls, drugs, prostitution, homeless people.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in the all Women Dorm then the best way to get it is to travel with other women friends and book all the rooms together. That's usually why it's hard to get a room there because friends book the room all at once. When I stayed there the bathroom was crowded so if you really need to go there is a "Zippy's" restaurant across the street with a bathroom you can use (they don't mind) and if you need a bathroom late at night on the other side of the street is a Safeway and they are open 24/7. To get less road noise at night ask for a room closer to the office (so, away from the roads) and enjoy a better nights sleep!
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Alannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This place is an excellent, very basic hostel. They try and keep it clean, and It feels very safe and secure here. It was a much needed and refreshing find, after a horrible hostel experience in Waikiki. The location is actually really good, if you want to check out Honolulu, and your about 10 minutes from Waikiki. I've been very happy with my stay, and I would highly recommend it to travelers who are used to basic, accommodations. The staff was super friendly and helpful as well. Albeit, this is not a party hostel. If your into parties, you probably want to be down in Waikiki.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Akzblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews