We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every Day Local Place”
Review of New Violet's Grill

New Violet's Grill
Ranked #1,373 of 2,391 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: US$15 - US$35
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Every Day Local Place”
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Good place to experience the everyday local foods of the residents of Honolulu. Nothing fancy, just simple comfort food.

Helpful?
Thank DaPheonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tips to make your visit worth while”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

OK, so this is one of my favorite restaurants which I frequent at least once per month. I have been disappointed several times, but only because they were out of the dishes I was dying to consume. Tip #1: call before going to be sure they have enough portions of the dishes you will order; Tip #2 DO NOT order any of the soups on a Sunday or Monday. Why? because the soups have not been simmered long enough. A fresh batch of soup/stews??? No Way! Tip#3: Do you enjoy eating shoyu pork? If you do, try their FRIED shoyu pork...delicious! Tip #4: the mac-potato salad is the BEST!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonefish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food For Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I have only tasted their oxtail soup which is marvelous and such a good deal. The soup is $14.95 which includes soup or salad, a drink and dessert. There is a LOT of meat in the soup, some vegies and peanuts. YUM. The soup is light (not salty) and the oil has been skimmed off, which I really appreciate.

The restaurant is low in ambiance, but very high in service.
Just thinking about this makes me want to go there....right now.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bebehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Sorry, we're all out of .....!!!!”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Four of us went to Violet's Grill last nite since my daughter had just seen the Japanese t.v. food show, "Dotchi" featuring Okinawan Soki Soba and was hungry for the tasty soup-noodle dish. I was more than delighted when she invited us for some delicious Okinawan food, especially their Pig's feet soup. I was salivating when we arrived and the place was jammed pack with diners feeding their faces with hardly any conversation. You know the scene. To make a long story short, they were out of the Pig's feet soup, Soki Soba, and several of their popular dishes. I ended up ordering the Aki belly since they were out of almost all of the Okinawan soup delicasies. My wife ordered the teri chicken, daughter ordered the Okinawan soba with soy pork and son-in-law the fried soy pork. In silence we devoured everything, including the mac-potato salad. Advice: go early especially on weekends.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bonefish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Home Style Cooking”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Located in the heart of Kalihi, the "New" Violet's Grill is the home of local style, Japanese and Okinawan cuisine. Don't be fooled by the term "New" because the decor is "old," but so is the food....old in terms of how food "use" to be prepared by our parents or family members. Local dishes such as hamburger steak w/fried onions smothered with brown gravy, Chicken or pork katsu, Teri beef or chicken, fried rice, etc.; Japanese dishes such as chicken, pork or beef tofu, tempura, tonkatsu, oyako domburi, sashimi, etc.; Okinawan dishes such as a variety of soups (oxtail, nakami, pigs feet, etc.), Okinawan or yaki soba, shoyu pork and a variety of champuru...Spells YUMMY!!!! One word of caution though is the bar located next to the restaurant can get pretty loud due to the karaoke system so take a booth as far away from the bar as possible or have an early dinner.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonefish2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to New Violet's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing