We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$198
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Priceline
US$198
View deal
Free cancellation until 22/04/21
Hurb
US$244
US$169
View deal
SAVE US$75
Free cancellation until 23/04/21
Expedia.comUS$198
Hotels.comUS$198
Lol.travelUS$244
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,164)
Filter reviews
1,164 results
Traveller rating
912
178
39
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
912
178
39
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel mid century free coffee in the morning one bedroom suite great boutique live music every night home away from home the penthouse we loved our stay pool area the aloha spirit minute walk to the beach love this hotel waikiki beach valet parking beach chairs abc store
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,164 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2020

I don't normally take the time to write reviews...but we LOVE this hotel and the wonderful people who treat you with the true ALOHA spirit. I'll start by saying that during this crazy time of Covid, we felt very safe staying at the Surfjack...everything was clean, sanitized, & social distanced! We hesitated going during this time, but are so happy we did...the state is doing a great job taking precautions, Waikiki was lovely and didn't feel too crowded...and everyone we came across was friendly and happy to have tourists back.

We first discovered Surfjack a couple of years ago when we brought our daughter to tour the University of Hawaii, and now that she's in the midst of her Sophomore year at UH, this is the only place we choose to stay when we visit. We made our choice based on design, value, and location, but quickly found out that there's so much more to this happy little gem that makes it so special. We love finding great boutique hotels and this one is our absolute favorite. It's so close to everything and just a 5-minute walk to the beach, yet tucked away just enough from the hustle and bustle.

So clean and well maintained. And everything from the toiletries to the decor is so happy and fun. We've stayed in the two queen room, the one-bedroom suite, and the two-bedroom suite and have loved every one of them. We love to start our day with coffee and a good book in one of the great sitting areas surrounding the pool and end it by playing one of our favorite games in one of the cabanas with our girls...while enjoying one of the fun surf movies they're playing on the big screen up above their iconic "Wish You Were Here" pool. Or, by listening to live music by the pool by some fantastic local entertainers.

The food at Mahina & Sons is top-notch. Even with their limited Covid menu, we still found many of our favorites, along with some great daily specials. The cocktails are top-notch as well as the service. Same for Olive & Oliver...great coffee & pastries. And, the gift shop is my favorite little shop in all of Waikiki!

The music and atmosphere is another thing that makes the Surfjack so special...we were thrilled to find a few Surfjack playlists on Spotify to listen to when we got home. And, if you can schedule your trip around one of their "silent disco" nights... it's so much fun...for the whole family!

Last, but definitely not least...the staff at the Surfjack goes above and beyond. EVERYONE greets you with a smile on their face, from housekeeping to management. It's so lovely to see the same friendly faces time after time and it says a lot about the management that the same people are working there year after year. Lynette and Sam are absolute gems. We had so many pleasant conversations with them and they really made our stay extra special. The connection they have with their guests is something rare and is what makes the Surfjack so special. I would say the same about Tiki, Darien, Karen, Whitney, and the rest of the front desk staff. You can honestly tell that the management and staff care about each and every one of their guests. Also, Lisa, at Mahina & Sons was lovely to chat with while taking our food orders and making our happy Surjack cocktails. Surfjack is a special place and it's the wonderful people that work there that make it that way!

Room tip: We love the rooms facing the pool...and if you're on a higher floor, the Waikiki views are great!
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aim1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2020 via mobile

Our stay was so outstanding. We would love to come back again. We felt like we were at home. We loved the atmosphere, music, pool. The country night was awesome. Our DJ James Voles was in the house that night.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kelly-Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

We stayed at the Surfjack for about a month, 2 weeks of which we were in quarentine due to covid-19, for a PCS military move. After a 14hr plane ride, we finally made it to The Surfjack where we were greeted immediately by staff AND guests who helped us to our room with our tons of luggage. It was in our room before we were. Immediate feeling of being taken care of. The room was SO clean, our balcony was large, the bathroom was beautiful. Very welcoming. For the next 14 days the staff took care of us 100% - from delivering food, drinks, ice, printing things out, delivering towels, taking trash out as we set it by the door. All done with smiles and Aloha. Ah, I just love them all so much. When we finally got to leave our room we spent a lot of time at the GORGEOUS pool, events downstairs, and Mahina and Sons hotel restaurant. I loved that they delivered a sheet with the daily food and drink special. Always smiling staff, always happy guests, and LOVED that it is dog-friendly. Perfectly located in Honolulu. A quick walk to anything you could want. The best hotel we've EVER stayed at. Would go back in a heartbeat (we will go back to visit!)

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank heatherkrug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2020 via mobile

Best staycation ever thankyou,thankyou for your family friendly environment and dog friendly e5.Very clean and hospitable. So grateful for your precautions during covid 19.Great staff,very safe and very very cool,aloha Mahalo nui loa.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 96,712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2020 via mobile

This place is amazing and I recommend this place to everyone coming to Hawaii!!! I’d give it 10 stars if I could. Traveling with a dog and 4 month old is no fun task and they came up every time we called to walk our dog and change towels and sheets and trash everyday.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank joshuahc2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews