We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Super Value in the Middle of Waikiki”

US Army Museum of Hawaii
Ranked #17 of 324 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The museum and the museum store are open Tuesday - Saturday from 10 AM - 5 PM. The Museum is free to all. The U. S. Army Museum of Hawaii is under the direction of the U.S. Army Center of Military History and receives well over 100,000 visitors a year. tours are available for rent from the Society for a small fee in both English and Japanese. Parking is available directly across from the museum. Validation for a reduced parking fee is available at the welcome desk. Constructed from 1909 to 1911, this Coastal Artillery Battery protected Oahu with its two 14-inch disappearing guns. The battery was built so well that it was unable to be torn down in the early 1970's to make way for the military's Hale Koa Hotel. The battery was turned into a museum in 1976 and begins with early Hawaiian warfare and covers every major military event in the Pacific theater of operations through Vietnam. The Gallery of Heroes honors Hawaii's soldiers who have received our nation's highest awards: the Medal of Honor and the Distinguished Service Cross. Chartered in 1976 as a not-for-profit corporation, the Hawaii Army Museum Society, also known by its acronym, HAMS, was organized by several former military veterans and patriotic members of the Honolulu community. HAMS is a 501(c)(3) tax-exempt organization whose mission is to support the U. S. Army Museum of Hawaii. HAMS is a non-federal entity. It is not part of the Department of Defense or any of its components and has no government status.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Super Value in the Middle of Waikiki”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

The Army Museum of Hawaii is one of Hawaii's least known and used attractions, even though it is at Ft. DeRussy just steps from the Hale Koa and Hilton Hawaiian Village hotels, on one side, and the Halekulani and Reef on the Beach on the other side. It has much more to share than Pearl Harbor because its military history goes all the way back to pre-contact Hawaii, and up to the Viet Nam and the Persian Gulf Wars. It is also very reasonably priced and is very family friendly. It is also very clean, safe, and accessible by foot.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank istagner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    970
    562
    117
    14
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“What a hidden gem”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This wasn't really on the tourist radar in brochures etc but we were staying close to it and decided on the last day to go in. What a fabulous display. It is run by volunteers and well worth your time

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleCatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Would've like to see”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Disliked the hours of operation. They are closed on Sundays and Mondays which limits your choices when you're only there for a few days.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnellisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMSDirector, Executive director at US Army Museum of Hawaii, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
John,
You indeed came a very long way to visit our island of Oahu. We are sorry that your time was limited and that you were unable to visit during our hours of operation from Tuesday through Saturday from 9 AM to 5PM. There is much to do on Oahu and we hope that you will visit again soon and make time to visit the US Army Museum of Hawaii!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elburn, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Show your true colors and spirit here.”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had not been here in years and were pleasantly surprised to see what they've turned this museum into. Holy schmoly!!! You'd never guess what's in store for you to see from the outside! Each room is made into a special scene complete with manequins dressed in uniform depicting a war event. There are amunition displays as well as lots of war memorbilia. The gift shop is small but does have a nice selection of things. There is not a fee to go in but at the end there is a box for donations. After seeing what they've done to this place, you can't help but put a couple of bucks in the box.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank peppermintparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HAMSDirector, Executive Director at US Army Museum of Hawaii, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Mahalo for visiting our Museum again during your recent trip to Waikiki. We appreciate your suggestions on donations, as it was donations that afforded us the opportunity to recently reconstruct the two parapets. Over the next several years we will be developing galleries in the newly available spaces. Please return and see how every donation makes a difference! Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great historical museum”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The museum is right next to Fort De Russy and is free. The museum walks you through a timeline from the monarchy, WWI, Pearl Harbor through the Vietnam War. Much more interesting than I thought it would be. We thought we would be done within an hour but we never got to see the second floor before it closed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank foodandwine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed US Army Museum of Hawaii also viewed

 

Been to US Army Museum of Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing