We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
18 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$495
Expedia.comUS$495
PricelineUS$495
Hotels.comUS$495
FindHotelUS$495
eDreamsUS$495
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,828)
Filter reviews
4,829 results
Traveller rating
2,760
1,116
504
251
198
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,760
1,116
504
251
198
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the mai tai bar the pink palace mailani tower banana bread surf lanai azure restaurant pink lady sheraton pool historic section garden view historic rooms original building beach chairs tower rooms beautiful hotel old hawaii an umbrella
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 4,829 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2021

The Royal Hawaiian is back in business and we had a wonderful stay there. The luau is open again and was very fun. Everyone on staff is so nice and helpful. The rooms in the Mailani tower are nice but getting a little run down. Any room that faces the ocean has a lot of ambient noise but we found it soothing. Overall, this is a great hotel to stay at in Waikiki and it was relaxing and worth the money.

Some things to note if you are traveling this summer:

1. The restaurants on site have very limited hours and long lines for walk ins so try and make reservations before you go.
2. The onsite amenities book up very fast so make reservations for beach rentals/gym activities before you go.
3. No public shuttles at this time and it is expensive to get a rental car.
4. No room service
5. The Mailani tower lounge is not in service due to covid
6. The entire island is short-staffed so expect longer wait times, limited availability and arrive at the airport at least 2 hours before your flight and expect delays.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank deannasZ5960ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2021 via mobile

We just returned from a weeklong vacation at The Royal for our anniversary and all I can say is wow! I am so glad we chose this property. It was our first time to Waikiki and we wanted the nicest experience we could have. We chose this hotel for the history and reviews and we were very impressed.

PROS:

The grounds are gorgeous and well maintained. This resort is in the very center of Waikiki and has historic elegance. The beach is beautiful.
Check- in was a breeze. They give you customary leis at check-in and take your bags
An activity list for the resort was provided to us, along with muffins, sanitizer, a voucher for champagne for our anniversary, and our tickets for our beverages and food for breakfast and afternoon apps and beverages with the Malani Tower booking.
The breakfast and appetizers and drinks are totally worth it for the Malani Tower bookings. The fruit and danishes at breakfast are delicious and the poke and truffle fries are to die for! Don’t miss out on the Mai Tai here.
The front desk agent upgraded our room to a corner balcony overlooking Diamondhead and Duke’s for our anniversary. It was so nice looking out at the pool and listening to music on our balcony.
The room was spacious and clean. The Toto toilets are great! The fridge was spacious. The bed is very comfortable. The robe provided is nice. Thank you!
The pool staff is so sweet and the pool is serene.
All of the staff at the resort are phenomenal. The Mai tai waitstaff, and Lanai Surf staff are great as well.
Mai Tai is beautiful and has great drinks and sometimes has entertainment.
We were lucky to score dinner at azure and the dinner was so delicious! Our server there was so polite and attentive.
We signed up for morning yoga on the lawn and got a nice workout in a peaceful setting.
We also signed up for surfing lessons and they really helped us get up on the board! I highly recommend this!
The hotel smells of flowers and the grounds staff and housekeeping are hardworking. Housekeeping made sure we had extra towels and toiletries- which you sometimes have to ask for at other properties. Tip your housekeeping staff each day! It’s not an easy job! The employees are truly amazing here.

Cons:
Our room had a weird smell to it for a few days. It seemed to clear up, but it was a little bothersome for a few days.

(This is a long one, but Do NOT book the Fly Marriot Bonvoy shuttle. Yeah, it’s a great deal, but they forgot us at the airport and we waited over an hour. We booked the shuttle through the concierge and The RH makes you feel
Like it is their service on their website, but when you arrive at the airport , they tell you it’s third party and offer no help. They just told us to keep calling the shuttle ( who wouldn’t answer their phone) . Everyone on the shuttle was angry and lost an hour of their trip.
When I asked the Manager on duty about our return shuttle, he said to ask the concierge, who he said was out, and the again told me it was 3rd party. I don’t even know why RH would list them on their website if their service is so poor. Find another shuttle service RH! It’s a crappy way to enter your beautiful island and your beautiful resort. I avenue not say this enough!!!)

You have to go down to the pool around 7 am to put your towel down on a bed or have to stand in line days before to rent the loungers or umbrellas by the beach. They are not cheap, but nothing on the island is and especially not for that real estate so it is worth it to pay for the umbrellas.

We didn’t know the luau started back up- no one sent us an email. It would have been nice to sign up for that. They also didn’t seem to notify you when there was live music at Mai Tai, which is a great feature.

We missed out on another activity because the resort activity sheet is not in line with the Bonvoy app. The app said they had an activity on a Thursday and the concierge staff said it was wrong. No apology was offered and they just said to talk to the front desk.

You will have to stand in line at Mai Tai anytime between 5:30 pm- 8:30 pm for dinner. The staff tries to make it speedy, but be prepared to wait. Again, it’s worth it but the lines can get long.

The continental breakfast could use a little work. Even a nice change up on the egg ingredients would be fine.
The food was good though.

These were minor adjustments that could be rectified for an overwhelming wonderful stay.

Thank you RH staff for our wonderful stay! We hope to return one day soon!

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank kthnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2021

Aloha kthnc,

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and celebrate your anniversary at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki. It is always a pleasure to know that we exceeded our guests' expectations, and we are glad you mentioned how much you enjoyed our excellent service, on-site facilities, and spaciousness of your room. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions and have taken note of it. Your comments are important to us as it helps to improve our future travelers experience going forward. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon, and we wish you all the best with your travels.

Mahalo,
Nicole Okuna
The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and is really old Hawaii! It sits back right off the a
main street but you can’t tell you are in the middle of Waikiki Beach. It is very tropical. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the beach. The room was very clean which is important especially now. The RH pool is small but you can use the large pool next door at the Sheraton Waikiki. We had no problem getting lounge chairs and the pool staff was great. We rented an umbrella on the beach two days from the hotel ( make a reservation in advance so you are in the RH’s guest arena and not out in the public beach. The food service was limited due to COVID but it was ok. We did takeout most evenings from local restaurants and sat on our balcony to eat. The staff at the hotel are outstanding! Excellent service from everyone! The only reason I did not give our stay 5 stars is the hotel is starting to show its age and could use a refresh. This was on our bucket list of places to stay and we would definitely come back!

Room tip: Chose a rom with a balcony and reserve a beach chair in advance to be in the RH’ private beach area.
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 139jimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2021

Aloha 139jimw,

Mahalo for staying with us and also for the excellent review. We are delighted to read that you loved each and every aspect of your stay. We appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed our excellent service and our on-site facilities. We appreciate your feedback and can't wait to see you again soon at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki.

Mahalo,
Nicole Okuna
The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Royal Hawaiian is a fabulous and historical hotel perfectly located in Waikiki. The location is close to shopping areas and great restaurants. Rooms in Mailani Tower are fabulous; especially those with the ocean view. Nicole Okuna has been amazing throughout the trip to make sure that the stay is enjoyable. The corner suite at the top floor is my all time favorite and is the best place to relax after a Long Beach day. I will visit this hotel again

Room tip: High floor. Mailani tower
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank sffred2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Aloha sffred2015,

Mahalo for staying with us and also for the excellent review. It is always a pleasure to know that we exceeded our guests' expectations, and we appreciate you mentioning how much you enjoyed our convenient location, comfortable rooms, and serene views. We hope to see you again soon, and we wish you all the best with your travels.

Mahalo,
Nicole Okuna
The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

As much as I want to love The Royal Hawaiian, I find myself disappointed at the long lines for food and pool/beach chairs. Even though I reserved a beach chair, I still had to stand in line to get my chair the morning it was reserved. The price of the hotel should provide better service.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Y6002KBbrendaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Marriott, Guest Services / Front Office at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Aloha Y6002KBbrendaa,

Mahalo for taking the time to share about your stay. We are always excited to receive positive comments from our guests, but we are also grateful to learn from specific comments like yours. We are continually striving to improve our services, and we appreciate your feedback. We hope to have another chance to welcome you on a future visit.

Mahalo,
Nicole Okuna
The Royal Hawaiian, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews