We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$483
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$258
US$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Waikiki Beach(Honolulu)
US$236
US$213
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$425
US$355
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$384
US$323
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$517
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$314
US$276
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$213
US$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
US$273
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,092)
Filter reviews
4,092 results
Traveller rating
2,346
972
439
193
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,346
972
439
193
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe mai tai barthe pink palacemailani towerbanana breadsurf lanaiazure restaurantpink ladyhistoric sectionsheraton poolwaikiki beachbeach boysgarden vieworiginal buildingbeach chairsiconic hotelbeach stafftower rooms
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 4,092 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 5 nights when we got a great deal. Our room was a little older without any sort of view but the hotel itself is gorgeous. The staff were very gracious and helpful. They all seemed to truly enjoy talking with the vacationers, giving suggestions, etc... the location could not be better. The hotel itself is like this beautiful, quiet (minus the luau!) oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. Waikiki itself was a little crazy for me. We were in Hawaii to explore the beautiful nature there. We were more interested in hiking and snorkeling than partying. I'll probably stay up on the North shore if I head back to Oahu. That said, if I were to visit Waikiki, the Royal Hawaiian is the ONLY place I would stay! The toiletries are fabulous. I still have a lotion from there that I smell to bring me back to Hawaii. The coffee from the cafe is amazing, the pastries were great too, we got a voucher for them in our room. We had mai tais and french fries at the outside bar one afternoon, both were delicious. And expensive. The pools are small but you can use the pool at the Sheraton next door. We didn't bother, as we were far more interested in the beach than the pools.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank shfelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great place to stay. Annie the housekeeper is a royal gem!! So many of the staff are incredible!! Too many to name. Location can’t be beat. Everything was perfect and I will be happy to return again soon.


FYI — Hotel Ratings section on Trip Advosr review did not work or I would have rated excellent.

Room Tip: Ocean view if possible. Worth the extra cost.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Maloha808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Royal Hawaiian, in the Mailani tower on the 16th level with uninterrupted ocean views from our balcony. This is a 5 star old world iconic resort with beautiful grounds, restaurant and location. On Waikiki beach you are only steps from shopping and the international market place behind you and the beach in front of you.
Breakfast in the restaurants is outstanding. Insider tip, drinks happy hour with complimentary beer, wine and sparkling and snacks for guests in the Mailani tower.

Room Tip: Kona Coffee is available throughout the day and is complimentary
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mehmbers_only
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We always start our vacations to Hawaii with a stay at the Royal Hawaiian. The traditional hotel is impeccably maintained and is an oasis of tranquility in the chaos of Waikiki. The service has always been outstanding. On previous visits we have dined in the hotel as well as tried other restaurants, however, this time we spent our entire five days on site. Their breakfasts and dinner at their beach side venue are terrific. Also, the Man Tai Bar serves the best Man Tai’s in Hawaii. Don’t forget to pre-reserve your beach lounge to take advantage of the hotels private section of the Waikiki Beach

Room Tip: We prefer an ocean view but have also enjoyed a garden view room in the past
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodWaikiki2, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Aloha James L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay with us, and found the service to be outstanding . It's always a pleasure to hear such kind comments like the ones you left.

I'm thrilled that every dining outlet - from Surf Lanai to Mai Tai Bar - left a positive impression on you. And great tip about the beach chairs! As you mentioned, they are very popular and book up quite quickly.

We thank you again for your wonderful review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pink Palace again.

Mahalo,
Ayaka H.
The Royal Hawaiian, Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our three-night stay at The Royal Hawaiian in November! The property is perfectly located right in the center of Waikiki, with a wonderfully accommodating staff. We were treated very well as SPG Platinum members, upgraded to a junior suite in the main building (528). We enjoyed our room, which was quaint but spacious (although the bathroom was rather small). The check-in and check-out processes were smooth. As one would imagine for a Luxury Collection property, the grounds were immaculate.

As others have noted, the pool is tiny (see photo), and dining options are limited on-site. We enjoyed sunset drinks at the Mai Tai Bar, but otherwise dined off-site. We parked at the Sheraton next door -- parking isn't included in the resort fee -- and it wasn't too out of the way to access. Spaces in the garage are tight! We did take advantage of the GoPro rental included in the resort fee, and used that on our day trip to the North Shore. We captured awesome videos and photos!

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Royal Hawaiian, and would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mcgowan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews