We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Day Visit”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Visited for a day to enjoy the calm beach and assess whether or not we wanted to stay there for a few days at the end of our trip. We ate and relaxed. Wonderful beach, overpriced resort to stay out in my honest opinion. Day trip this one and stay in Waikiki. Staff were okay, not overly friendly which made me decide real quick to stay elsewhere at the tail of our trip. Also, HORRIBLE construction going on with jackhammering that could be heard down the beach!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smellyia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Aloha smellyia,

Your complete satisfaction during your visit to The Kahala Hotel & Resort is our one true desire. Most regrettably, there is never a good or perfect time to complete needed repairs and renovations. We apologize profusely for the noise while we completed significant upgrades to our new Veranda lounge. While painful in the moment, we know this newly remodeled facility will greatly enhance guests’ stays for years to come. Our mission is to provide unparalleled service so that your guest experience is exceptional. Continually upgrading and renovating our facilities enables us to serve you and other guests better. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during the brief deconstruction period. Thank you for the privilege of serving you.

Sincerely,

Roseann Grippo
General Manager
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,937
    489
    163
    77
    61
See reviews for
946
1,198
68
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Yep! It's taken me this long to recover. Great video/audio on UTube of the construction work at The Kahala early last month. Mr Sweeney, Ms Grippo, did you know you had guests during early February? One would think not. We never knew about the construction when we booked our holiday. It affected our enjoyment almost every day of our stay and meant we could not take advantage of the pool or the beach and lagoon. Instead, we had to leave in order to maintain our sanity the noise was so loud. We would have had the opportunity to go elsewhere and enjoy our visit had we known about the construction and we are very disappointed to have had the experience we did. Imagine treating guests with such disdain! I do hope people who read Trip Advisor will take note: The Kahala is no longer the fine hotel it once was and management wants you to know that.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SuseSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Aloha SuseSydney,

Our sincerest apologies for the construction noise you encountered during your recent stay. Most regrettably, there is never a good or perfect time to complete needed repairs and renovations while staying in operation. We do our best to confine the noise to times most compatible with our guests’ daily outside activity schedules. In this case, the workers encountered difficulties completing the work in a timely manner because of unforeseen problems discovered once the renovations began. With historic buildings such as The Kahala, renovations often reveal new situations that call for revised plans. While painful in the moment, we know this newly remodeled facility will greatly enhance guests’ stays for years to come. Our mission is to provide unparalleled service so that your guest experience is exceptional. Continually upgrading and renovating our facilities enables us to serve you and other guests better. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience during the prolonged de-construction period of the floors in the Veranda lounge. Kindly allow us to contact you so that we may offer a personal apology and make amends in a more meaningful way. Thank you for the privilege of serving you.

Sincerely,
Roseann Grippo
General Manager
The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We travel a lot with our kids and my wife and I both agreed that this was probably the best hotel overall we have stayed at. Before I give my review of the hotel I just wanted to tell people who look at these reviews to take them all with a grain of salt. The week before we came we saw a few concerning reviews. I called the hotel before we arrived and mentioned these to them. Flora the manager who was maybe the nicest and most professional hotel manager I have ever spoke to allayed our fears and did all she could to make our stay perfect.
I always read these reviews to see if it would be a good hotel for my family. I was just rereading a few of the negative reviews. One person's negative review was because they pronounced his name wrong, something that he said happens all the time anyway.

When you are staying at a resort like this, you expect things to be expensive, so why complain about it. If your grey goose costs 11 dollars and that is a deal breaker for you, don't stay at a 5 star resort. Complaining that you don't have a balcony, when the room you booked is a non lanai room doesn't help anyone.

Sorry for the editorial onto my review.
This resort is the best of both worlds. You are 15 minutes from the shopping and dining of Waikiki but you feel Worlds away when you are at Kahala. The pool is really nice and they just put beautiful new lounge chairs at pool and beach. There is a ton of staff at pool to help you set up chairs at the beach or pool. No request seems like a big deal. You also don't feel like the staff all has their hands out for a tip. They genuinely seem to want to help you.
Our room was an Ocean View Lanai. It was huge, with 2 separate sink areas. The Lanai was very large and the beds were remarkably comfortable.
The decor is very Hawaiian and there are flowers all over. The dolphin lagoon is a great thing to have and the beach is great for kids, and there are really no large waves. Our kids took paddle surfing lessons and the staff was more than helpful.

I honestly felt like a valued guest at all times. They have a way of making you feel pampered without it feeling overdone or too formal as I have felt at Ritz-Calton's occasionally.

People complain about little costs. I loved the fact that they had free coffee and tea every morning for you. They had stuffed Dolphins in the room for my girls when we checked in, and beaded Lei's as opposed to the flower ones which die right away. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough and we are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank arosen15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Honolulu and for taking the time to send your thoughtful, candid comments. It was a pleasure to be of service to you, and I was delighted that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort the next time you visit our beautiful island. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

3.5 tops. Let me start with the room. I booked a partial ocean view, so imagine my surprise that our room directly overlooked the hotel driveway and valet station. A full view of the driveway. That should not even be a guest room, let alone categorized as a partial ocean view room at a 5 star resort. We seriously could not even keep the sliding door open because it was that loud. We were in the process of finding another hotel when Rick at the front desk found a room on a higher floor that was actually a nice quiet ocean view room. That was much better, and thank you Rick.

The room itself was a little small. As others mentioned, the furnishings are a bit worn. Also, if you have a "balcony" rather than a "lanai", you will have a ledge with railing, and that's it. This goes back to the whole room description/categorization issue. At this price point, don't pretend that a view of the driveway is a partial ocean view, or that a ledge is a balcony. The room had a wall of drapery, which seemed sort of dusty. Housekeeping was OK, but one day we had only 1 wash cloth. The next day we had only 1 bath towel. Wifi was $15 per day, and it was slow. Do not try to download a movie for your flight home the next day. These are not major issues, but at this price point I do expect to receive a full set of towels every day. And I will say it, if the Holiday Inn Express can provide free Wifi, why can't the Kahala? On that note, the business center will charge you $1 per page to use the printer (though no charge for boarding passes). And be sure to get there between 9 to 5 or you will be out of luck. I mention this because it is Hawaii, and most people will be outside from 9 to 5 enjoying themselves. Other hotels of this caliber have guest key entry to their business centers which allow access when it is convenient to their guests.

One thing that seemed a little off was that a seized jewelry auction was being held in one of the ballrooms on Sunday. I peeked in. It was run professionally, but seemed out of place and a little low-rent for this hotel.

The private peach is nice. The pool area was pretty nice. The pool service and food were good. All of the common areas were well maintained. Of course the dolphins and turtles are winners.

The restaurant Tokyo Tokyo is no longer at the Kahala, so there are only Plumeria and Hoku's. Hoku's is really good, we had dinner there twice. We thought Plumeria could only pull off breakfast. Happy hour was OK, but lunch was just bad. The problem is that you are kind of a captive audience out there, so they should step it up a notch or two. Keep in mind that if you take a taxi to Waikiki for dinner, it is about $50 roundtrip.

Also, please do not lie to my travel agent. My travel agent called twice and spoke with the operations manager and was assured that the construction work was finished as of Valentine's Day. We were there over President's Day weekend. As others have mentioned, there is ongoing construction work at the hotel. Yes, you can hear it at the pool. It was not the jack hammering that others have complained about, but there was the sound of power tools and pounding. At least be honest that there is ongoing construction work. While we were there the construction work was right off of the lobby and Verandah area. If you pulled back the curtain, you could see the power tools. That would otherwise be a nice view.

All in all, we have mixed feelings about the Kahala. It is beautiful, quiet, and peaceful. Hoku's was great. But, we have had far better all around service and accommodations in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Don't reserve a partial ocean view, and be sure to get a lanai if you want to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank julias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Aloha Julias,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your most recent stay. Your feedback is invaluable to us, and we will take your comments to heart to further our service standards. Kindly allow us to address each of your concerns:

Regarding your stay, our guest rooms are among the largest in the island at 550 square feet, and we are glad that Rick was able to find a room that better suited your needs upon your arrival. Although some of our rooms are furnished with French balconies, kindly note that these are never considered lanai rooms (the Hawaiian word for balcony). We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced in regards to Housekeeping. We are always happy to provide our guests with as many towels as they require, and our standard is to provide a full set of towels for each guest registered in the room.

We are currently looking into a providing a better solution for our Internet access, however, our mid-century building must be retrofitted for hi-speed Wifi and the infrastructure does not allow us to provide free access at this time. Our business center is available daily from 9 to 5, and guests are welcome to access the center after hours by contacting any of our front office staff.

With regard to our dining options, The Kahala will be opening a new Mediterranean dining concept from July 2012. In the meanwhile, the hotel’s four other dining outlets and 24-hour room service are available.

Finally, we would like to be clear that our integrity is very important to us. It would never be a staff member’s intention to lie to a guest or a travel agent, and we pride ourselves in having the utmost integrity in that regard. That said, we will be the first to admit there were several hurdles with the floor renovation of The Veranda lounge and Lobby lanai, and we are deeply sorry for the unexpected inconvenience to our guests.

We truly appreciate your feedback as our valued patrons’ comments can only help to better serve our guests. We hope to have the chance to be of service again and make you a true believer of The Kahala Magic.

With best regards,
Roseann Grippo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

You get what you pay for, as the saying goes. Our room was spacious, had a marvelous ocian view and the bed was first rate. A minor annoyance was the air purifier that greeted us in the room on arrival. Our non-smoking room turned out to have been a smoking room and the hallways also reeked of cigarette smoke. Fortunately we spent all our time with the windows open so we didin't notice the smell in the room.

We have stayed at the large hotels downtown and did not miss being there. Instead of the maddening crowds, the hotel is in its own private area adjacent to a lovely residential (high end) neighborhood. That means that the beach and grounds are not overrun by tourists from other hotels. The pool is a bit small, but there were more than enough lounging chairs along the beach that we were never without two together. The dolphin pool is a pleasant attraction.

Overall, as reflected in the other comments here, the key is the wonderfully helpful and warm staff throughout the hotel. From the restaurants to the front desk and cleaning staff everyone was welcoming.One evening they could not find our car and we nearly missed our reservations at a downtown restaurant. They called ahead for us (found the car in time) and then left us a bottle of wine and a tray of chocolates with a nice note apologizing for the inconvenience.

If you want to be within walking distance of downtown, this is not the place. But if you want luxury and peace, a 10 minute drive from town, this is the place to relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is truly non-smoking if that is what you want. Otherwise you may get a "deod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lbearpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Kahala_Resort, General Manager at The Kahala Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
It was a pleasure having you with us during your recent trip to Honolulul, and thank you for taking the time to send your comments. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed our secluded, quiet location and the guest services provided by our employees. My staff and I look forward to welcoming you back when you can plan another stay just to relax and enjoy. Aloha and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,499 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kahala Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kahala Hotel & Resort

Property: The Kahala Hotel & Resort
Address: 5000 Kahala Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96816-5411
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Kahala Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kahala Hotel & Resort is Hawaii's reigning luxury resort, set on a secluded beach just ten minutes from the world class shopping and entertainment of Waikiki. This legendary hideaway resort in Honolulu's plush Kahala district is a favorite with presidents, international royalty and celebrities. From the moment you arrive, you will know that you are truly somewhere special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Kahala Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kahala Hotel And Resort
The Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Kahala Resort Honolulu
Kahala Hotel Honolulu
Mandarin Oriental Oahu
Kahala Hotel & Resort
Kahala Mandarin Oriental
The Kahala Hotel & Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing