We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (704)
Filter reviews
704 results
Traveller rating
99
214
197
92
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
214
197
92
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews attached restaurant downtown newport shuttle service minute drive outdoor pool rooms are large coffee maker rhode island bed was very comfortable free parking microwave walmart couch
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 704 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018

It is easy to tell the hotel has seen better days. The beds were fine, and the staff helpful, but the overall appearance of the hotel needs improvement. One of the chairs in the room had a hole in the middle (looked like a cigarette burn), the floor was not carpeted, and had a bump in between the two beds.

For the price paid, we expected a lot more.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We spent 3 nights at the Mainstay while visiting family in Newport. The rates at all of the hotels are always pretty outrageous at this time of year. Comparably priced hotel/motels, even those that included breakfast, were on noisier, commercial streets with outside room entrances. The location of this hotel was convenient to going downtown and heading out of town.

We were on the first floor facing towards the back, away from the parking lot off the main lobby. The room was large with a refrigerator, the room was very clean and housekeeping replaced everything daily. Plenty of towels, and hot water. WIFI was fast and cable worked. The furniture was very plain and looked somewhat worn.

The room could have used more outlets or a usb charging station - we did have to hunt a bit to find spots for charging our devices.

While our location was quiet, we heard the steps of those staying in the room above us due to wood floors. Walls were thin so we heard conversations of those walking by in the carpeted hall. Room keys only opened a couple of the outside doors - don't know if this was intentional or the keypads just didn't work in others.

Staff was very polite, check in/out was efficient. We ate breakfast 3 times and dinner once and will review the adjoining restaurant separately.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank loveh2ofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

I have been traveling for business for over 25 years, and I have yet to experience such a low level of service and such an overpriced accommodations.
Majority of front stuff is woefully undertrained and/or incompetent, and the manger is “not available” even when standing right in front of you, which goes long way towards explaining competence of the employees.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
4  Thank KahuNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We needed a hotel for a 1 night stay in Newport and didn't want to break the bank. We booked the Mainstay due to it's reasonable price. This is an average Best Western hotel, no frills. It was clean with nice, friendly staff. The layout of the hallways were a bit awkward and the biggest con = the walls in the rooms are super thin and you could hear other guests conversations, especially in the middle of the night.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basset_Mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

I recently stayed at the Mainstay whilst attending a friends wedding in Newport. The hotel prices in Newport in the Summer are quite expensive. The Mainstay has big bedrooms, free WiFi, good on-site restaurant and welcoming staff.

Check in was very smooth and efficient. Staff very helpful and very pleasant.

Room was big as was the bathroom. They even have a fridge and coffee machine in the room. Shower was powerful. And clean towels every day. Bed was very comfortable.

WiFi is free and code is given to you on check in - no need to keep logging back in.

Restaurant and bar was good. Lots of choice. Friendly staff and no waiting for food or drinks.

Hotel run a shuttle bus to town for a few $’s - they collect you from town too.

As with every hotel - not everything is perfect.

Lift is slow and v hot

Sockets in the bedroom I was in - some worked some didn’t.

The mainstay provided a very good base for us at an extremely reasonable price and I would stay there again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews