We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #3 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2006

Beach tree Inn was a pleasant experience, overall.
The guy who greeted us was a little awkward and ill at ease. He managed to explain the location of the room after about 10 minutes.
The room in the annex good sized, the carpet was a little worn, but the air conditioner and TV worked well and the shower was good. The room was adequate. There were floral sheets that looked a little worn. The whole place could use some freshening up.
The breakfast was adequate but far from great. The jam and syrup came in plastic packages like you get in a cheap diner- the coffee was weak, It was probably Maxwell House. I expected more.
However, the table was set nicely and the dining rom was pretty. Most of the breakfast was do it yourself from a big table- you made your own toast etc. It was about equal to the pantry breakfast you get at The Hampton Inn, expect they did offer some hot items like omelettes and pancakes , which were only adequate.
Over all, not a bad experience and the price was cheaper than other B&B's in Newport and the location was convenient to all the sights. So decent enough...

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ewe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 482 of 485 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
12
Reviewed 13 March 2006

We just returned from a great weekend getaway in Newport and stayed at the Beech Tree Inn. Our room was beautiful and decorated very tastefully. Our host was gracious and recommended some restaurants and sites. We were traveling with our 2 year old. So it was very convenient having the fridge and stove upstairs as well. Although my husband wanted a bigger breakfast, we would reccommend this Inn!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2006

My husband and I decided to stay at the Beechtree because we were traveling with our Shih-Tzu, Holly.

We arrived at check in time only to be greeted by the Cleaning woman's boyfriend (because no one else was around) He could speak very little English and could not find our paperwork. He showed us to a room, and we settled in for a spell.

Our room was not really very nice. The covers on the bed were worn, and the room had very little character. It was clean, but the plastic tree in the corner, and cheesy dime store pictures on the walls really took away from any Inn feel. The bath was very clean, but had modern decor that did not match the rest of the house. The room itself was toward the back of the house near the porch, where many quests shuffled by all day, forcing us to keep the shades tightly shut, and the soda machine (also on the porch) on the other side of our window blocked out most of our view.

An hour after we were settling in, the inn-keeper(who never properly introduced herself) told us she wanted to change the bed. So we left for a while, and came back later.

Breakfast the next day was nothing special. An omelette and toast with juice and coffee, and came back to our room the next day at five to find our bed not made and our bathroom only half cleaned, the towels not refolded and the sink etc....not cleaned.We could not find anyone sround that afternoon to speak to.

We were awakened the following morning at six due to the load voice of an older gentleman having a conversation with the inn keepers in the kitchen.
We left the next morning without eating breakfast because the host told us we were early, (we were on time) and made us feel uncomfortable.
There was another man there that morning,(the one who's voice woke us) an older gentleman who was ALSO an owner. He was telling us stories and basically trying to ignore the fact that his daughter just insulted us.

It was confusing, and overall, we were not impressed with this Bed and Breakfast. Having been to many others in the past, we have come to expect a staff that is available if needed, pleasant and not so flustered and appearing to be overwhelmed. I would not reccomend this establishment for the price we paid. Compared to other Inns in the Newport area, this one paled in comparison.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank gastronomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2004

BIG room, BIG King Bed, BIG bathroom (with Jacuzzi) and our own deck in the treetops, plus many small thoughtful touches that were really appreciated. This place is big, spacious and airy but had many little touches to make it feel like home. Wine glasses and corkscrew in the room, candy, snacks and wine in the parlour at all times. Plus a full kitchen on the top floor, with a rooftop deck are all little amenities that add up to a really enjoyable and restful stay. For those who like to walk; the ocean, downtown, the Cliffwalk and Belleview Ave are a brisk 15 minute walk through a pretty victorian neighborhood. We found a funky, artys neighborhood with fabulous dining on Broadway about 5 blocks away. The owners should be careful not to add more silk flowers and trees as they are beginning to overwhelm the spacious and gracious feel of this solid old mansion. Thanks for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank leafpeeper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Unser Zimmer lag im Cottage im 2. Stock. Man muss einige Treppen steigen, was mit schweren Koffern s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank connyhortian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,131 reviews
1.1 km away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#7 of 21 in Newport
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
1.2 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
716 reviews
1.3 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: €91 - €285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing