We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We spent a chilly weekend in January at the Chanler. Our room was lovely and faced the sun rising over the Naragansett Bay each morning. Steps away from the cliffwallk, we were able to walk down to the Breakers ( the Vanderbilt "cottage"), take a tour, and walk back. Just wonderful. The staff was immensely helpful, starting with the valet and bellman who knew exactly who we were as we pulled up to check in. Wait staff were exceptional, especially Teddy. Julie at the front desk showed us around and couldn't be more helpful. Maurice the bartender mixes a perfect drink and tops it off with personality. The food at the spiced pear simply cant get any better. The presentation and flavors were superlative. We'll be back as often as we can.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thistle828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    545
    59
    25
    14
    16
See reviews for
65
467
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

This is the only hotel my husband and I will stay in when we visit Newport. Each room is decorated in a different period style, so each visit to Newport feels like a new experience. This makes it a unique place and vastly different from the chain hotels in town which are almost as expensive and often damp and uncomfortable. Rooms can be visited on line so there are no surprises when you get there. You get to actually choose the room you want to stay in. They range in size according to price. The Spiced Pear Restaurant is one of the best restaurants in town. All of this is located just steps from the beach and Cliff Walk. Gorgeous views of the ocean are available in many of the rooms.....Stay here!

Room Tip: All rooms can be viewed at their website....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Corinne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California,USA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Unfortunately we planned to stay one night only..
The hotel is very nice and very well kept. Our room was a little bit small but had a beautiful view of the beach. The restaurant served excellent food and service was great. People here were very friendly and professional . The hotel is very close to the mansions.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giogio42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed in the Renaissance Room, alone unfortunately, since my husband was ill and didn't get to accompany me. Even alone, the room was a dreamy experience! The entire staff is so eager to please, and when you ask for anything - and I mean ANYTHING! - they are there to assist you, with a sweet smile. The staff is young and energetic. Whenever I ordered room service, two people quickly brought it up the second-floor stairs to me in just a very few minutes. On Friday night a young woman employee wearing 4-inch heels, accompanied by a young male employee so that she wouldn't trip on the stairs in her heels, delivered my meal from the Spicy Pear restaurant. I LOVED that and felt happy to be among smiling young people, particularly since my husband was not with me. The blue bedroom is stunningly decorated with 3 chandeliers, plus another chandelier in the bathroom. The gorgeous bathroom has a bidet, two golden sinks, sunken tub, 3-jet shower. Everything is so brightly lighted: in daytime because of the windows and huge balcony, and at nighttime because of the wonderful lamps and chandeliers. I plan to return to the Chanler as soon as I can! Such a gorgeous view across the water and green lawns. Would love to stay in the Louis XVI room next time, adjacent to the Renaissance Room, as it has a similar huge balcony with view of the water and grounds.

Room Tip: The 4 largest rooms in the Main Building are called Signature Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milnathort Uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Best hotel in Newport and one of the best small hotels anywhere. Position is perfect at the start of historic Cliff Walk. Rooms are spectacular. Restaurant is superb and try to book chefs table.
Thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Malcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
1.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.4 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.6 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.5 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chanler at Cliff Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chanler at Cliff Walk

Property: The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Address: 117 Memorial Boulevard, Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#2 Family Hotel in Newport
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Chanler at Cliff Walk 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning historic mansion hotel located on the famous Cliff Walk in Newport, Rhode Island. Boasting 20 elegant guestrooms, each custom designed around a particular historical period or theme, this luxury hotel allows breathtaking views of the Atlantic Ocean and Easton’s Beach, setting the mood for a truly relaxing and enjoyable vacation. The award-winning Spiced Pear Restaurant and luxurious in-room spa treatments combine to make this boutique hotel the perfect setting for a romantic retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Chanler at Cliff Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chanler At Cliff Walk Hotel Newport
Chanler At Cliff Walk Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing