We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a pleasurable stay at this B & B.”
Review of Stella Maris Inn

Stella Maris Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stella Maris Inn
Ranked #54 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We had a pleasurable stay at this B & B.”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stella Maris is conveniently located within walking distance of the harbor and of downtown Newport. We found that staying here was a welcome respite from run-of-the-mill motels, and it was less expensive than most of them in this high-cost area. Add to that the gracious hospitality of innkeepers Ed and Dorothy and you have a memorable two days. Ed was a font of information about the area and its attractions and couldn't have been more helpful. Dorothy gave us some interesting background information on the 1869 house itself.

Even though there is no air conditioning and we were there when the weather was in the high 80s, we had no trouble sleeping with our second-floor windows cracked and in fact we used a light blanket. The room itself was very clean and interestingly decorated with antiques. The area is quiet and safe. In the morning we were provided a more than adequate continental breakfast.

All in all, we would definitely return to Stella Maris.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaPeregrinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My wife and I decided at the last minute to stay the night in Newport at the tail end of a weeklong trip. We went to the visitor center and gave our price range/desires, and they recommended the Stella Maris. It was perfect for our needs...and one of the few available lodging options for a Friday night at 5:30pm.

The Inn is within walking distance of downtown Newport (a few minutes). We were out late and walked back to Inn, and though the streets were quiet, it felt incredibly safe. Breakfast was very good...homemade muffins, granola, yogurt, fruit, etc.

The inn keepers are delightful. Ed gave us the scoup on what to do during our short stay and how to get around. He was very helpful and a great host. The Inn also has free onsite parking, which is very helpful.

The Inn itself is very cozy. Ed mentioned that when they turned the property into an Inn they tried to keep as much of the history as possible. So the furniture and decor are eclectic and a little worn. We found this charming, some may find it less desireable. This is not your place if you want new and modern. It IS your place if you want historic and comfortable. We stayed in the James Joyce room which has a water view. There were faint foghorns throughout the night (or in early morning maybe) which we found soothing. A big plus for a home like this are the private bathrooms in each room. They were small but adequate. The bed was extremely comfortable. The mattresses are certainly not antique...firm but not too firm.

I don't believe they have a credit card machine so you will have to pay in cash. But at the decent rate and prime location, it is hardly an inconvenience. We didn't research other Inns in the area (there are many) but we felt very happy to have landed at the Stella Maris for our 1 day in Rockport.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ogradyjere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Gracious hosts who are happy to give you helpful hint on directions ect. Delicious home made breakfast, fantastic views, I would come for the porch alone. And a sustained pleasant dialogue with the the host who have a multitude of experience.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMadN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

The Stella Maris Inn is an excellent place to stay while visiting Newport. Ed and Dorothy are wonderful hosts and the house is in a very convenient spot with wonderful sea views. The rooms are very comfortable. If you want dinner while there we discovered an excellent restaurant, within walking distance, called The Rhumbline at 62 bridge st, (recommended by Ed). Chef/Patron I think. Great food and service and lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank mtmdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

I stayed at the Stella Maris over 4th of July weekend. Dorothy and Ed were very kind and ran a beautiful B&B. The Stella Maris is a large renovated old house from the 1800s with an interesting history. The decor gives the house a sense of both class and coziness. The breakfast was homemade (in response to another post, I saw Dorothy baking) and delicious. Dorothy and Ed were wonderful hosts who were always willing to offer advice as to where to visit while staying in Newport. Everything was clean and neat. My only complaint would be that there is no air conditioning (at least there wasn't in my room). Though it wasn't a problem in the rest of the house because of the cross-breeze between windows, our room was rather warm and we did have the ceiling and floor fans on throughout the night. Besides that, everything was great. Our hosts made us feel at home, the price was reasonable, especially on a holiday weekend and it is a very short walk to the main section of Newport. I would definitely go back again.

I am also adding plenty of pictures because I know how that helps with decisions like this.

  • Liked — Cozy accomodations, beautiful atmosphere, close proximity to Downtown Newport
  • Disliked — no air conditioning in our room, thin towels
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuvCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.0 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
598 reviews
0.2 km away
Sanford-Covell Villa Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sarah Kendall House
Sarah Kendall House
#8 of 95 in Newport
262 reviews
0.7 km away
Ocean Romance LLC
Ocean Romance LLC
#25 of 95 in Newport
67 reviews
1.2 km away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#6 of 95 in Newport
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stella Maris Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stella Maris Inn

Property: Stella Maris Inn
Address: 91 Washington St., Newport, RI 02840
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Stella Maris Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing