We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect venue for a Bachelorette weekend!”
Review of Chart House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chart House Inn
Ranked #36 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2011

We had a group of 13 girls that stayed at the Chart House Inn this past weekend and we had a blast! The Inn is the perfect venue for large groups/bachelorette weekends in Newport - several bedrooms and 8 bathrooms!. The house is very clean and cozy. The innkeeper, Allison is so nice and accomodating, she cleaned the entire house while we were out at the bars! She also prepared all of us breakfast in the morning which was absolutely delicious. I definitely plan on returning to the Chart House Inn again for another large group getaway soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MSM1685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Chart House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2010

I was a guest at the Chart House Inn for a girls-bachelorette weekend in September. The Inn was perfect! The Inn keeper was very friendly. The rooms were all very clean as well as the bathrooms, living room, dining area. I would definetly go back! It was a perfect house for a large group....

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oceanescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We went to The Chart House with 16 ppl for my daughters bachorlette party weekend. The Chart House is quaint, charming and just what we all had hoped for. Alison, the Innkeeper couldnt have been more accomodating to all of us, even making many trips to and from the beach for us (she drove groups there and back) Who does that?? She is a wonderful cook, as the breakfast each day was sumptuous, I think we all gained a few lbs! The rooms were lovely and spacious and clean. We all had our own bathrooms as well. The location was perfect, stores and restaurants all in a short walking distance from the inn. We have already decided to go back again next summer..........I highly recommend staying at the Chart House Inn........thanks Alison for making my daughters weekend so wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susielousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Where do I start? The love of my life and I needed to get away for a long 4th of July weekend. We picked Newport at the very last minute, and magically Allison answered our call and made it happen! What a sweetheart she is, and what a great place the Chart House is. We stayed on the top floor in a suite, and it was perfect for the two of us. Air conditioned bedroom, which came in very handy this hot weekend. Very clean. Spacious. Little fridge for food and drink. Within walking distance to nearly everywhere. Walk one block over and one down and you're at the harbor. Safe location, and like another review I read, we felt very safe with the locked doors. It's bright, very comfortable, and CLEAN. Great parking. Nice spread for breakfast, but not over the top. Great baked goods, fruits, yogurt, bagels, coffee, juice: just right. But Allison is what made it all perfect for us. She is so gracious, personable, down to earth and informed. She's a darling. We will DEFINITELY be back to the Chart House.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bossborn2run
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

I wanted to make a reservation, but my boyfriend did not. Thank God we didn't, or we wouldn't have stumbled upon The Chart House Inn!
Allison was the perfect hostess. She seemed like someone we would be friends with. We checked out some surrounding Inns & hotels. MANY smelled like MILDEW & some didn't seem as safe.
One place boasted comfortable beds...... I actually sank in the mattress when I sat on it, (maybe the mattress was historical too LOL) We went right back to Allison whose only response was a gracious smile. I was very pleased by the price. $ is tight as we were both laid off, but this place was perfect. The front door locks automatically which made us feel safer. We were walking back from a bar at 2 AM & some inns had the front doors propped open! Just another reason to pick The Chart House Inn! The location; perfect. Just one block into town, so close enough to have wine with dinner but far enough to have a quiet night. The room had air conditioning & this was one of the few places without squeaky floors. I also liked the sun room upstairs.
My only complaint............ I wish that we could have stayed longer.
Allison is happy to answer any questions that you may have about the area. The rooms were immaculate & Allison left the sweetest note & flowers for us as we were there for our anniversary. Isn't that just what you want when sharing a roof? A thoughtful, approachable, charismatic host? The Chart House Inn is the only place to stay in Newport. Thank you Allison for making us feel so at ease. The Chart House Inn is fortunate to have you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ProIceSkater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.4 km away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#28 of 95 in Newport
170 reviews
1.0 km away
Admiral Sims' House
Admiral Sims' House
#41 of 95 in Newport
25 reviews
0.0 km away
The Clarkeston
The Clarkeston
#46 of 95 in Newport
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#24 of 95 in Newport
112 reviews
0.6 km away
Fair Street Guest House
Fair Street Guest House
#30 of 95 in Newport
194 reviews
0.1 km away
Spring Seasons Inn & Tea Room
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chart House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chart House Inn

Address: 16 Clarke St, Newport, RI 02840-3024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: €163 - €283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chart House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chart House Inn is a nautically inspired, Queen Anne inn built in 1880 as a men's boarding house. The inn is surrounded by historic homes, churches, parks and museums and is just a few blocks from Thames Street and the waterfront. The Inn's eight uniquly appointed bedrooms with private baths accommodate up to sixteen guests. All guest rooms and Suites are furnished with air conditioner and have private bathrooms en suite, or across the hall, for your comfort. Our Suites include a sitting area with cable TV and fully stocked kitchenettes with mini-frig and coffee maker. The Chart House specializes in whole house rentals for families, weddings, boat crews, reunions and business retreats. Single night and extended stay reservations are welcome. Guests relax in our gracious Living Room with leather sofa, club chairs and cable TV, our charming parlor room with gas fireplace, our two front porches overlooking scenic Clarke Street, or in our outdoor grill area. A Continental breakfast is offered to all guests each morning in our spacious dining room. Free Wi-Fi, free parking, pet-friendly and smoke free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chart House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing