We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Flagstaff
Reviewed 3 July 2017

We just stayed overnight. This hotel is a gem of a place. Nice and clean. Rooms had a Japanese feel with the sliding bathroom door. They have a lovely breakfast area in a separate building, so take your coat to breakfast as that short walk can be quite chilly. All staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly. I marked 'service' lower as they did not have a laundry facility onsite. After 20 days travelling around America, getting in the car and finding the local laundry was not doing it for me.

Room Tip: Parking is round the back for easier access to the disabled facilities rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nerrel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for the good descriptions of the hotel and complimentary breakfast we offer. I’m so pleased you experienced the comfort and friendly service we’re known for!
We hope to welcome you again soon!

Best,
Scott, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 133 of 1,385 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

The hotel was great. The air conditioning went out, we were facing the sun and it was a heat wave. The front desk staff refunded the pet fee and sent maintenance down right away to check it out, they needed to replace a part and since we were checking out within the hour we asked that they do so after we left. The staff was very friendly and helpful.The room was cozy and well put together. My fiancee's parents joined us and had a suite; they LOVED the room and said the breakfast was amazing. The pet area was PERFECT with the shade from a tree & bench. We plan to come again. The only advice I have is to have title in your pet friendly rooms rather than carpet.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jessicatC8115EH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Glad to know that everyone enjoyed their stay with us - including your furry family members. We sincerely appreciate you taking time to share your impressions with those planning travel here.

Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me personally if I can ever be of assistance with anything. Thanks and we’ll see you again soon!

Best,
Scott, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

The Pony Soldier is an older hotel, so there's some good and some not so good. The reception desk staff were very helpful and friendly throughout our stay. We travel with a ROKU and the staff immediately got us a special tv remote so it worked.
Breakfast was copious and typical, meaning ok but hardly exciting.
The rooms are small but clean and comfortable, as was the bed. There's a washing area separate from the toilet, which we prefer. Two negatives: There is no closet, just a hanging area near the sink. One real negative is that the toilet was about 2" off the ground. OK, I'm exaggerating, but it really is very low, which is a problem for those of us with back issues.
There's a fridge in the room, but the microwave is in the lobby with the coffee/tea (although there's a coffee machine also in the room)
The hotel is near enough to some restaurants so one isn't forced to fight with downtown/old town traffic.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LadyJLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thank you for your loyalty to Pony Soldier Inn. Your impressions are helpful and we’ll take the suggestions you added into considerations. We strive to provide ‘effortless comfort’ to guests! I’m please to know you felt cared for by the team during your entire visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Best,
Scott, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

Extra charge on credit card, charged and refunded, no one could tell me why. TERRIBLE BREAKFAST! Same thing offered every day, cold food, very watery weak coffee. Did not start until 0630. to late for working people

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank denniskW1401KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Please feel free to contact a member of our leadership team through the front desk if we can assist you further. While we’re appreciative of your stay, it sounds like there were a couple things that added confusion.

We hope after cleaning up your questions, you’ll give us another try. Enjoy the summer!

Best,
Scott, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

This was the 2nd night of a 9 day trip and was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed in (BW in Durango was a close 2nd though). First the hotel layout is horrible. You walk down the main hallway, then turn into an entryway that leads to your door and your nextdoor neighbor's door. Once you finally get into the room, it is so tiny there's barely enough room for the one queen bed. The floor was tile throughout, which we realized later was probably because they put us in the pet section even though we didn't have any pets. However, all our neighbors did and we heard them throughout the night. Because the room was so small, we sat on the bed and leaned against the headboard to watch TV. This was a problem because the bed kept sliding away from the headboard on the tile floors. Twice, it slid away and our pillows fell down between the bed and the headboard. When I picked them up, there were dust bunnies and what I'm sure was probably pet hair on the pillows. GROSS. The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it had a good breakfast the next morning. It is actually in a separate building that was apparently a restaurant previously. They had a good variety of foods including eggs, bacon, freshly made pancakes, as well as the usual pastries and drinks. I know this is a tourist area and therefore the prices for hotels and everything else is inflated, but this hotel is highly over priced for the accommodations.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank 876kathiew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgramsaz, General Manager at Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay with us. While it sounds like there were some positive aspects to your stay such as our delicious complimentary breakfast, it sounds like there were a few areas with room for improvement as well. I wish we had been made aware of your dissatisfaction with your room, as it’s something we would have been happy to either dispatch housekeeping or seek an alternate room. For those needing a little extra space, we do offer suites. We could have looked into a room that might have been better suited to your needs. Nevertheless, I hope this will not deter you from staying with us in the future as I’m certain we can find a way to turn this around. Please give our front desk a call directly when booking next time so that we can discuss all room options and insure that you’re being placed in the one best for your specific needs while traveling. We look forward to seeing you again, and until then-- happy travels!

Best,
Scott, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.9 km away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
6.4 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
2.5 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
6.5 km away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#7 of 66 in Flagstaff
1,031 reviews
2.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites

Address: 3030 E Route 66, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-3936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#14 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range: €59 - €130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pony Soldier Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pony Soldier Hotel Flagstaff
Best Western Flagstaff
Best Western Hotel Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing