We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“No complaints” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highland Country Inn
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
143 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“No complaints”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

The day of, I called to confirm my reservation I’d made months ago. The phone conversation was very confusing – she was nice but seemed distracted. Our experience checking in went more smoothly. It’s a small two-story motel near Route 66 and the lovely downtown Flagstaff. The room was big, the bed was big, and all was clean. There was a fridge and microwave – the wireless internet worked very well. The décor was standard cheap-motel gear – I think we saw the picture on the wall earlier in our trip at another motel. No complaints, but overall, we wished hard that we had stayed at the slightly more expensive but infinitely more interesting Hotel Monte Vista.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlyHighways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    244
    129
    14
    7
See reviews for
113
199
50
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SGF, MO
Level Contributor
237 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I had seen very positive reviews on Tripadvisor on this old school motel and seen prices advertised online for less than $50 per nite. Since our trip was in flux, we didn't make advance reservations but rolled the dice that it would be available if we needed it.
The very accommodating owners honored the internet rate instead of sticking us with some obscene rack rate typical of walk-ups. We were promptly processed and in our cozy double room in less than 5 minutes. While about a half mile walk to downtown Flagstaff, the motel was still convenient to nightlife and restaurants without engaging our vehicle.
Despite being at a main intersection of town near the university, even the room near the front office was surprisingly quiet. Basic ammenities were provided, the room was spotless and the ventilation system worked smoothly and quietly. The bedding was comfortable and bathroom clean with excellent hot water & pressure, and good drainage at the fixtures.
Our brief stay was very pleasant and enjoyable. I would recommend this motel for a quick, affordable night or two while passing through or attending a special event downtown or at the nearby university.

Room Tip: Though we found the rooms near the front office and busy intersection surprisingly quiet, a room tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShowMeVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is an OK property. Stayed here for 1 night, rooms were clean (enough). Can be a bit noisy from the street and because of the fact that your room window is 2 feet away from the motel parking lot.. but I guess thats what happens with a lot of these places. Wifi was working properly, but very slow at times.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Why stay anywhere else?

This is a clean, neat, no-frills hotel close to Routes 40 and 66. Plenty of diners and restaurants around. Beds and pillows were comfortable enough but not luxurious. Rooms have fridge and microwaves, but not coffee-makers.

For coffee in the wee hours, when the lobby is not open, I went about .7 miles down the street to McDonald's which is open 24 hours.

There are plenty of restaurants around so dining is no problem.

This is a great value. The owners deserve a lot of credit for their effort. It really shows!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceQ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is a very good no-frills motel that does what it does simply but very well. Rooms initially seem pretty spartan with their minimal decoration, but they have what you really need: very large, comfortable beds, effective heating/AC, large TV, fridge, microwave (at least, in the one we had, they did), good shower, hair dryer etc.

Everything is very clean, and the whole place is very well-maintained. Good parking, with excellent access to main roads. Surprisingly quiet considering location.

Family who run it are v helpful and friendly, and the location is good for seeing Flagstaff's old town.

All told, one of those places you think twice about reviewing, lest other people make it so popular you can't get in anymore at these bargain prices...

Room Tip: Rooms near the metal stairs can be disturbed by people clanking up them late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerbilator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
0.2 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
0.6 km away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
0.6 km away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#23 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
2.9 km away
Days Hotel Flagstaff
Days Hotel Flagstaff
#16 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
2.1 km away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#5 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Country Inn

Property: Highland Country Inn
Address: 223 S. Milton Rd., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Flagstaff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Highland Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Country Hotel Flagstaff
Highland Country Flagstaff
Country Inn Flagstaff
Flagstaff Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing