We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Visited dec 5, 2010. Very nice area. Black sand.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument

Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
US$741.39*
and up
Private Grand Canyon Tour with Ancient Ruins and Lava Field from Flagstaff
Ranked #5 of 101 things to do in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located north of Flagstaff, this crater was created by a volcanic eruption 900 years ago.
Tuovilanlahti, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Visited dec 5, 2010. Very nice area. Black sand.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

On the way to Grand Canyon and Wupatki & Wukoki ruins, we saw this area. Very different compared to surroundings. Strange volcanic gravel. It was quiet at the time. Thanks to the dude who took a picture for us.
Come prepared, good shoes and drinking water.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank JuhaJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    485
    120
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Visit when going north to Grand Canyon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We are in a volcanic region and Sunset crater was one of the more recent eruptions - in the 1200s or about, I think. It probably destroyed the Anasazi/pre-Hopi culture as a result. It's now a National Monument and has good roads that go thru the park plus scenic views and lookouts to check out the resulting landscape. North of Flagstaff on the 180 Route to the Grand Canyon with nearby Wupatki Indian ruins, it makes a good stop or day-time attraction in good weather - do NOT go in summer as it is very hot!

Helpful?
Thank Arizona-Senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't expect to get to actually visit the volcano”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

It was a beautiful drive, but we weren't allowed to visit the volcano. We wished we would have known that before we drove and walked all the way there. Still a nice visit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very unique volcanic phenomenon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

To my opinion this park gives a most impressive demonstration of a volcanic eruption. You can hike up one of the hills to see the surrounding area which looks apocalyptic. A paved path takes you on a volcanic tour with signs explaining about the different lava structures.
I think this is a must if you're in Flagstuff area.

Helpful?
Thank erezn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“fun in the snow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We went when there was quite a bit of snow and really enjoyed hiking the trail with the kids. We couldn't see everything because some areas were closed off, but we spent about an hour or so there. It's an easy drive down to the next national park, Wupatki.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank hollandays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Sunset Crater Volcano National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing