We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
133
12
3
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
12
3
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We stayed at the Conifer House for the Labor Day Weekend. Although Flagstaff was somewhat crowded with vacationers and new college students, this location was far enough away to escape the crowd; but close enough to restaurants and shops. The Conifer House was quaint and cozy!! The surroundings were fantastic!! The breakfast was really good, especially the homemade granola. The mascot of the place was a cute little 4 legged friend named Lucy, who kept us entertained! I highly recommend this location for a great get away!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D, Owner at Conifer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Thank you Linda! Your observations about the location and specialness of Conifer House Inn are right on point! You get it :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The Conifer House was a great choice for us. The room (Chelsea Garden) was cheerfully decorated, airy, and bright. The bed was comfortable with great side-lighting for reading, and the bathroom with shower and jacuzzi spacious. The room and public spaces that we saw were perfectly maintained. The courtyard was ideal for evening snacks, and the gathering room and breakfast room provided additional space for being together or spreading out. We especially enjoyed the hammock in the backyard –– a perfect place for stargazing. For us, the balance between a B&B and more private accommodations was very appealing. We don't enjoy group breakfasts and hovering (albeit lovely) hosts. At the Conifer House, fruit, pastries, nuts, breads, etc. were there daily along with boiled eggs, yogurt, and juice from the fridge. Throughout the day snacks and drinks were also available. The organic fruit was superb if a little too portion controlled. Guests (2 other couples during our stay) came in, got what they wanted, and usually took it to their room or the courtyard to eat. As others have mentioned, there was no wine service in the evening. Although we were quite happy with this arrangement, it is understandable that guests who have stayed there under different management would find it troubling. The manager was available and helpful by phone when we needed her, so we didn't feel the need to have her always present. The property is located on the outskirts of town, and we did not find it comfortably walkable, especially because we were there in very hot weather. The trail described as being at the back of the property is actually several streets away. Overall, for those who enjoy lovely, private accommodations in a B&B-type setting, this is an excellent choice. For those who prefer a B&B experience with lots of group interaction, fancy breakfasts, and wine in the evening, this would be a disappointment.

Room Tip: Chelsea Garden was lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paradocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D, Owner at Conifer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thank you Paradocs, for pointing out the unique and lovely features of Conifer House Inn. It is indeed a comfortable, quiet, safe, and convenient place to stay while in Flagstaff, literally a 5 minute drive to downtown. I hope you will come back and visit, it was my pleasure to speak with you and share life stories :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We have stayed at the Conifer House at least 5 times. If you scroll far enough down, you'll see our previous wonderful reviews. I thought it was strange that when I book only a couple days in advance, there was availability. It was always busy this time of year! This should have been my red flag. We were the only people staying there. Prior to arriving, I told Mary that it was my husband's 50th bday...which is kind of a big deal. We always come up in Aug to celebrate our bdays. In the past, there was always some sort of sweet gesture - bottle of champagne, card, coffee mugs, something. She responded by saying he could go for a hike or do the adventure course then soak in the tub. She also told me about new management & the change in breakfast...boy, wish I would have listened. When we arrived, Mary was there, said hi and that was the last we saw her over the next 3 days. Actually, it was the last time we saw anyone. We went to breakfast which is now in the little room where the DVD's, fridge and games are kept instead of in the main room where there was usually nice music playing, fresh orange juice, coffee, newspapers, etc. It was a very warm and friendly environment. Not now. Although the breakfast foods might be "Organic", they are no where near the quality that should be offered for the price. Past breakfasts were hot, fresh and gourmet...& one of the biggest reasons we kept coming back. In the fridge there were 2 yogurts, cheese, 3 eggs, 2 store bought breakfast burritos, single cartons of milk. On the counter there were some bread items, fruit, nuts & granola. She did make coffee. I was so disappointed for my husband's 50th birthday breakfast that the next morning after seeing the same items placed back on the counter, we opted to eat out. So, as far as the "breakfast" part of the B&B, huge thumbs down!! There used to be a welcoming happy hour every night as well with fresh baked cookies & such, wine, beer, snacks. Now, 2-3 single serving bags of chips, cashews & peanuts. As far as the room goes, we had stayed there enough to know what to expect ...but, we had showered the 1st night and hung up the towels. The next morning, they were still VERY wet, including the bath mats so I tossed them in the tub prior to leaving to make sure we'd have fresh towels upon our return from hiking. We get back around 4pm on Saturday, go to get in the shower, grab a towel off the shelf and it's the SAME towel, VERY damp...same thing for both bath mats. They had refolded everything and put them back on the shelf! I thought, OK, no problem & grabbed a fresh one & noticed that there was only 1 fresh towel! Who provides 3 towels for 2 people for 3 days? My husband went to find someone..anyone to talk to but nope, no one was around & there was no number to call so my husband had to use a bathrobe to dry off! Also, our trash was never emptied, the fake candle by the tub for ambiance didn't work & the mattress needs to be replaced as it sinks in the center. Had we never experienced the former Conifer House, we may not have been so disappointed but it's the little things that make a huge difference. If the food doesn't change, the price should. Please let me know if these things get worked out as we do love the property but can't justify the cost w/o a better quality breakfast...& the housekeeping issues must be addressed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice!
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D, Owner at Conifer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Change is hard! But I challenge you to find a lodging in Flagstaff which offers everything you mention for the price point - Conifer House Inn remains a tremendous value and unique property for guests who seek serenity, natural beauty and a location which cannot be beat! That's why I tell guests the breakfast is free - you can feel good about exploring other eateries around town if you like, and pick up a beverage of your choice to enjoy anywhere on the property. Stars, aspens, spruce, meadows, seasonal creek - all just 5 minutes from downtown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed in the Nantucket room. It was nice and quiet with a door to the patio. The bed was very comfortable. The Jacuzzi tub was an excellent feature after a long day. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richgidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D, Owner at Conifer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

I so appreciate you taking time to post comments about your experience! Thank you for visiting - we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We visited Conifer House for our 26th wedding anniversary, an annual B & B tradition since we became Mr. and Mrs. Our room was nice, Mary and Lucy were welcoming and friendly however, we soon came to see this B & B visit wouldn't rank among all those who have set the bar for an excellent B & B experience prior to Conifer House.
The web site mentions a "daily" wine happy hour 4-7pm which didn't happen the two days we were there. The "serve yourself breakfast" left us feeling we could have stayed in a high end Hotel and had a nicer "continental" breakfast for far less money.
Our $364 dollar investment for this B & B left us feeling grateful for past experiences that were higher quality yet far less expensive.
Conifer House could possibly have gotten away with a 5 star review from first time B & B visitors but this seasoned B & B couple says "average" and had this been our first B & B experience, rest assured it probably would have been our last based on what we received for the price.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D, Owner at Conifer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2016

I appreciate your feedback and honest assessment of your experience, and am sorry that it didn't meet your expectations. Compared to most lodging options in Flagstaff, Conifer House is always a good value, even without the breakfast. I know many travelers associate "B & B" with an elaborate (and often unhealthy) breakfast but Conifer House offers an alternative approach - and on your own schedule rather than dining with other guests at a pre-determined time. What truly sets Conifer House apart is the location! Ideally situated to venture into town or onto one of the adjacent trails for a hike, bike ride, snowshoe, or stroll.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews