We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings”
Review of Conifer House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Conifer House Inn
Reviewed 9 September 2016

When we got there we were very pleased with the room and the location and setting of the house. The location was close to the university and the house was lovely and tranquil. Perfect for a get away! The room was nicely appointed and the bathroom was a good size and had a jacuzzi tub. It was decorated with more of a color theme to go with its name, rather than chotchkies. We were disappointed that there was no homemade breakfast but rather a few bagels or muffins, danish, a bit of fresh fruit, and one or two breakfast burritos in the fridge (store bought). There were coffees and teas. We ran into the owners twice but never had that chat that we love. I've never stayed at an AIRBandB, but I think it might be a wee bit like that....with a really, really nice room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ponderosa room and it was lovely....thick towels, snacks, and small tv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D, Owner at Conifer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2016

I hope that potential guests will take a moment to read reviews and responses, AND visit the website. There really should be no surprises if you do just that little bit of research before booking your room! The breakfast is EXACTLY as described and pictured on the website. (However, there is no promise that you will have a long, heart to heart talk with the owners.) What you are guaranteed to receive is a beautiful, comfortable and luxurious guest room located in a quiet neighborhood just 1.5 miles from downtown. Conifer House Inn is secure, tranquil, and an easy, hassle-free lodging with FREE breakfast. The price is nothing short of a bargain, given the cost of budget hotels in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2016

We stayed at the Conifer House for the Labor Day Weekend. Although Flagstaff was somewhat crowded with vacationers and new college students, this location was far enough away to escape the crowd; but close enough to restaurants and shops. The Conifer House was quaint and cozy!! The surroundings were fantastic!! The breakfast was really good, especially the homemade granola. The mascot of the place was a cute little 4 legged friend named Lucy, who kept us entertained! I highly recommend this location for a great get away!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D, Owner at Conifer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Thank you Linda! Your observations about the location and specialness of Conifer House Inn are right on point! You get it :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

The Conifer House was a great choice for us. The room (Chelsea Garden) was cheerfully decorated, airy, and bright. The bed was comfortable with great side-lighting for reading, and the bathroom with shower and jacuzzi spacious. The room and public spaces that we saw were perfectly maintained. The courtyard was ideal for evening snacks, and the gathering room and breakfast room provided additional space for being together or spreading out. We especially enjoyed the hammock in the backyard –– a perfect place for stargazing. For us, the balance between a B&B and more private accommodations was very appealing. We don't enjoy group breakfasts and hovering (albeit lovely) hosts. At the Conifer House, fruit, pastries, nuts, breads, etc. were there daily along with boiled eggs, yogurt, and juice from the fridge. Throughout the day snacks and drinks were also available. The organic fruit was superb if a little too portion controlled. Guests (2 other couples during our stay) came in, got what they wanted, and usually took it to their room or the courtyard to eat. As others have mentioned, there was no wine service in the evening. Although we were quite happy with this arrangement, it is understandable that guests who have stayed there under different management would find it troubling. The manager was available and helpful by phone when we needed her, so we didn't feel the need to have her always present. The property is located on the outskirts of town, and we did not find it comfortably walkable, especially because we were there in very hot weather. The trail described as being at the back of the property is actually several streets away. Overall, for those who enjoy lovely, private accommodations in a B&B-type setting, this is an excellent choice. For those who prefer a B&B experience with lots of group interaction, fancy breakfasts, and wine in the evening, this would be a disappointment.

Room Tip: Chelsea Garden was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paradocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D, Owner at Conifer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thank you Paradocs, for pointing out the unique and lovely features of Conifer House Inn. It is indeed a comfortable, quiet, safe, and convenient place to stay while in Flagstaff, literally a 5 minute drive to downtown. I hope you will come back and visit, it was my pleasure to speak with you and share life stories :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016

We have stayed at the Conifer House at least 5 times. If you scroll far enough down, you'll see our previous wonderful reviews. I thought it was strange that when I book only a couple days in advance, there was availability. It was always busy this time of year! This should have been my red flag. We were the only people staying there. Prior to arriving, I told Mary that it was my husband's 50th bday...which is kind of a big deal. We always come up in Aug to celebrate our bdays. In the past, there was always some sort of sweet gesture - bottle of champagne, card, coffee mugs, something. She responded by saying he could go for a hike or do the adventure course then soak in the tub. She also told me about new management & the change in breakfast...boy, wish I would have listened. When we arrived, Mary was there, said hi and that was the last we saw her over the next 3 days. Actually, it was the last time we saw anyone. We went to breakfast which is now in the little room where the DVD's, fridge and games are kept instead of in the main room where there was usually nice music playing, fresh orange juice, coffee, newspapers, etc. It was a very warm and friendly environment. Not now. Although the breakfast foods might be "Organic", they are no where near the quality that should be offered for the price. Past breakfasts were hot, fresh and gourmet...& one of the biggest reasons we kept coming back. In the fridge there were 2 yogurts, cheese, 3 eggs, 2 store bought breakfast burritos, single cartons of milk. On the counter there were some bread items, fruit, nuts & granola. She did make coffee. I was so disappointed for my husband's 50th birthday breakfast that the next morning after seeing the same items placed back on the counter, we opted to eat out. So, as far as the "breakfast" part of the B&B, huge thumbs down!! There used to be a welcoming happy hour every night as well with fresh baked cookies & such, wine, beer, snacks. Now, 2-3 single serving bags of chips, cashews & peanuts. As far as the room goes, we had stayed there enough to know what to expect ...but, we had showered the 1st night and hung up the towels. The next morning, they were still VERY wet, including the bath mats so I tossed them in the tub prior to leaving to make sure we'd have fresh towels upon our return from hiking. We get back around 4pm on Saturday, go to get in the shower, grab a towel off the shelf and it's the SAME towel, VERY damp...same thing for both bath mats. They had refolded everything and put them back on the shelf! I thought, OK, no problem & grabbed a fresh one & noticed that there was only 1 fresh towel! Who provides 3 towels for 2 people for 3 days? My husband went to find someone..anyone to talk to but nope, no one was around & there was no number to call so my husband had to use a bathrobe to dry off! Also, our trash was never emptied, the fake candle by the tub for ambiance didn't work & the mattress needs to be replaced as it sinks in the center. Had we never experienced the former Conifer House, we may not have been so disappointed but it's the little things that make a huge difference. If the food doesn't change, the price should. Please let me know if these things get worked out as we do love the property but can't justify the cost w/o a better quality breakfast...& the housekeeping issues must be addressed.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D, Owner at Conifer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Change is hard! But I challenge you to find a lodging in Flagstaff which offers everything you mention for the price point - Conifer House Inn remains a tremendous value and unique property for guests who seek serenity, natural beauty and a location which cannot be beat! That's why I tell guests the breakfast is free - you can feel good about exploring other eateries around town if you like, and pick up a beverage of your choice to enjoy anywhere on the property. Stars, aspens, spruce, meadows, seasonal creek - all just 5 minutes from downtown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed in the Nantucket room. It was nice and quiet with a door to the patio. The bed was very comfortable. The Jacuzzi tub was an excellent feature after a long day. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank richgidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary D, Owner at Conifer House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

I so appreciate you taking time to post comments about your experience! Thank you for visiting - we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
5.1 km away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
36.8 km away
Twin Arrows Navajo Casino Resort
4.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Flagstaff
7.6 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
4.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conifer House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conifer House Inn

Address: 1701 W Stevanna Way, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-1157
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Flagstaff
Price Range: €97 - €154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Conifer House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conifer House Inn has 4 unique guest rooms which open onto a central courtyard. Each room has a sophisticated decorating scheme with luxurious amenities, linens and furnishings. En-suite bathroom has separate shower and whirlpool tub. A fireplace and views of the surrounding natural beauty allow guests to unwind and relax from their busy lives. Conifer House Inn is ideally located to access downtown Flagstaff, local trails and outdoor activities, and the Grand Canyon via Hwy 180. We hope you'll become a guest at Conifer House Inn, and promise you'll want to come back! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing