We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay for large groups”
The front entrances to Westcott House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The front entrances to Westcott House
The great hall, over 1500 sq. ft. in size on its own Other views of the great hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
The front entrances to Westcott House
The great hall, over 1500 sq. ft. in size on its own
Other views of the great hall
Living room/nook areas like this are everywhere
One side of a large master bedroom, of which there are three
A bunkroom, of which there are 4
Another master BR - notice the TV, high ceilings & sitting area behind the camer
Downstairs private bedroom
Beautiful full bathrooms with high quality fixtures - this is 1 of 5 such baths
Dining for 12 with dining for 15 more in the next rooms. Overflow dining elsewhe
Huge beautiful main kitchen with two ovens, gas cooktop and two dishwashers
Sunroom leading out to decks on both sides
Nooks
Lounge areas
Large event/game room over 1500 sq. ft. in size on its own
Another view of event/game room
Lower kitchen - fully furnished with fridge, dishwasher, disposal, gas stove, et
Dedicated nursery room with changing table, glider and toys
Large hot tub for 8 adults
Privacy and nature all around
Large playground area
Playable piano
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 40
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Aaron S
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Great place to stay for large groups”
Reviewed 5 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My group loved this cabin. We had a large group of guys for a bachelor party and and it was perfect. Tons of space and great amenities. The owner was very responsive and always accommodating. I will definitely look to stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alcfay
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a gathering of friends around food and fireplace”
Reviewed 8 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had an excellent stay at the Westcott House with a group of late-20s/early-30s friends who gather for a reunion each year over the New Year's holiday. Our gathering revolves around food, and the Westcott House was perfect--the kitchen is incredible, with a double oven, large range, two dishwashers, and lots of counter space for prep work. The second kitchen downstairs provided helpful spillover space for baking while meals were prepared upstairs. There was also a great, huge table for serving meals that our entire group fit around. The fireplaces are cozy and allow space for relaxing and reading. Bedrooms are all spacious, and there were enough bedrooms that each couple in our group had their own space--difficult to find in many rentals. The house is quite new, so nearly all fixtures and appliances are in great shape. And the house is clean and well cared-for. Management is prompt to answer emails, and the nearby caretaker was helpful.

Note that the house often caters to large groups and possibly retreats, so there are signs posted with rules and dos and don'ts everywhere, and the thermostats and piano are kept locked to prevent misuse. We understood that this is necessary with large youth groups, but it felt a bit over the top with a smaller group of adults. That made it feel a bit more like we were renting a retreat center, rather than a house. Overall, the space was really great for our needs--spacious, clean, modern, great kitchen--but did not feel as home-y as other rentals might due to the signs and things kept locked up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen, spaciousness, hot tub, quality of bedding, piano, fireplaces
Liked least: Signs posted all over, thermostat locked up
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TamaraRya...
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We really enjoy the house each time we visit...”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our company uses the house for leadership training a few times each year. It is perfect for our sessions. Our only complaint is the bugs. I would say that they should use a long hose vacuum to dispose of them over the windows and cobwebs in different areas. Other than that, the management is very responsive to our needs, the wifi works great for a large group, the layout of the home is perfect, and everyone loves the "homey" feeling. We truly enjoy the house and plan to continue to use it in the future. Everyone looks forward to being there.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thanks, Tamara, for your kind words and for taking a minute to tell others about your time! The bugs are something that we battle during different times of the year. The late Fall is when the problem is, and trust me - we DO vacuum them up several times per week. It's a mountainous environment so they come right back. But thank you for reminding us to keep trying new ideas. Tell me - what other types of things can we do in the future to make Westcott House get a 5 star from you? Our goal is to get a 5 star review from everyone who stays at Westcott House and all other Cardigan Cabins properties. We love feedback from guests. Call or email at any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sfarrish
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It has everything you'll need”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We used the house for a small family reunion. The kitchens were fully stocked. The beds were comfortable. Everything was clean. There were a few items that needed repair but they still worked - for example, a wheel was missing on the bottom rack of one of the dishwashers. One of the issues we had was temperature control. The day we arrived was warm but given it was fall, the heat was on; because of previous problems with prior tenants, the thermostats were locked so we had to call the rental office to get the a/c turned on. We would of opened the doors but bugs were an issue.
Overall - for the price the place was great. I would definitely stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and space
Liked least: Lack of temperature control
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thanks, Susand, for your kind words and for taking a minute to tell others about your time! The dishwasher wheel and a few other small things are already being worked on - thanks for the feedback earlier on that. Tell me - what other types of things can we do in the future to make Westcott House get a 5 star from you? We love feedback from guests. Call or email at any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czbrown
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent last Thanksgiving there with our family. It was amazing and the kitchen had all the amenities we needed to cook Thanksgiving. The open floor plan, along with the private sitting areas made for lots of personal and family time. We had such a great time we tried to book for this year but it Wes already taken. We are still goingback to Luray, just a different cabin. Would be a perfect place for a great girls get away weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2015
Thanks, czbrown, for your kind words and telling others about your time! Tell me - what types of things can we do in the future to make Westcott House get a 5 star from you? We love feedback from guests. Call or email at any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing