We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely spot for nature lovers who appreciate...”
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Full-size hot tub Living room with leather furniture and gas fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Full-size hot tub
Living room with leather furniture and gas fire
Living room with sofa bed
Brand new fully equipped kitchen
Solid rustic dining room furniture
King size master bed
Master bath vanity
Master bath jacuzzi tub
2nd BR with queen and twin beds
2nd BR with queen and twin beds
Satellite HDTV/DVDs in all rooms
2nd bathroom
2nd bathroom
Stone firepit with unlimited wood provided free
Full free laundry facilities provided
Two canoes and accessories provided
The beautiful Shenandoah River (you cannot see the river from the house)
Lovely grassy riverbank
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
482Steve
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor management with a complete lack over oversight by the owner.”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Bear Timbers for the second weekend in October for one reason, the hot tub on the deck. Realizing the weather at this time of year could be cold and wet we thought we could relax on the deck in the hot tub after hiking or biking.

Pre-arrival communication was good and the GPS in our car took us right to the door. Lock box was where we had been told it would be and the code was correct to get in. Once inside our initial thought was we had made the correct choice. The kitchen was clean and had everything one would require. Some prior reviews had stated that it looked as if it could use a deep cleaning and it appeared as if this had been done.

Our problems started Friday night, it was cool and raining so we went out and turned on the hot tub. The water temp was 76 even though the instruction for your stay say that it is always set at 95. We tried to get in and use it but it never got above 86. There was an error message on the tubs display panel stating that the filters needed to be cleaned and there was a problem with the low flow water system. Being cold from this my wife decided to use the jacuzzi tub in the master bath. Upon filling and turning on the jets we were appalled by the scum that came out! It was truly disgusting. That's when we decided to look closer at the cleaning of the bathrooms. We found urine running down the front of both toilets and the amount of dust, hair and dirt on the top of the shower wall surround looked as if it had never been touched.

It was to late Friday evening to call the management company so we waited until Saturday morning. Our call was answered immediately and we were told that by flipping the breaker for the hot tub the heating problem would correct itself. We tried this and left to tour the area. When we returned that afternoon the tub was still not hot so we called again. The property manager came out quite quickly and after looking at the tub stated there was nothing she could do. She also offered to clean the tub in the master bath, but we declined. What was most troublesome about her visit is she told us that the cleaners had been having problems with the hot tub too, yet nothing was done about it prior to our arrival. She stated she would contact the service person and see if he could come out Sunday.

An electrician did come Sunday morning and tried to troubleshoot the problem, with no success. He found that the motor that circulates the hot water had burned out and needed to be replaced. Of course the motor needed to be ordered and we were out of luck. Frustrated to say the least.

We rent several homes a year throughout the country and in doing so always try to deal with the owner not a property manager. We have found that the owners are much more responsive to problems like the one we had at Bear Timbers. This owner apparently has several of these rentals throughout the area so my advice is renter beware!

Our only communication after the rental was the canned response asking us to write a review so here it is. Had you bothered to contact us and offer us some kind of compensation we would have appreciated it but you chose not to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
This review is the result of a guest who got irritated by the SOLE problem of a hot tub motor going out and it colored her perspective of everything else. This is her lashing out at great cabin/ownership/communication because of a single accident. She was perfectly happy until that happened, everything else was great. As soon as the hot tub motor went out, we responded IMMEDIATELY. Our housekeeper was onsite in minutes. We had a master electrician there on a SUNDAY to diagnose the problem so that it could be fixed during their stay. Try getting that from anyone else. At any rate, a part had to e ordered so they were out of luck. There is nothing we can do in situations like this - nothing whatsoever - except wait for the part to come in. What's funny is that the person immediately after this lady left GLOWING reviews talking about the very same hot tub and things this lady complained about. It's understandable that the hot tub was irritating, but there's no reason to lash out half a dozen other things that are flatly false. "Scum"? Please. And no, for the record, we do not compensate guests so that they'll leave better reviews. Our cabins and history speaks for itself. We don't need to buy off people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee J
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely spot for nature lovers who appreciate peace and quiet.”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My boyfriend (who actually proposed while vacationing here) and I rented this cabin for our anniversary. While it was in a neighborhood, it was a very quiet neighborhood, so it still had that country quiet feel to it. This is perfect for those of you who love to be outdoors and don't mind the short, scenic walk through the woods to the river for fishing and canoeing, or surprise evening critters (deer, etc.) in your yard. The management staff did a great job keeping us informed of an issue with the hot tub that got fixed right before we were to start our weekend there and the woman who maintains the house came out to look at the fireplace right away for us. (It just needed new batteries) She was very nice and helpful. Great place to get away from city life and it's conveniently located very close to the Shenandoah National Park and Luray Caverns. We would definitely rent from this company again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cfpetry
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“We loved our trip to Bear Timbers!!”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was the best idea ever for my husband and me plus our dog ... A weekend away from DC (but not too far away for a quick trip) to a cabin with everything we could imagine wanting - fireplace, heat/ac, wifi, tv, grill, hot tub, great kitchen, comfy bed, washer/dryer, bath/shower, with access to a wooded area, canoes and bikes included with life jackets and vests, and a fire pit with free firewood. We enjoyed every aspect of this cabin. We and our dog loved access to the river. It was clean, well decorated, with easy to follow instructions on how to work everything like the grill and hot tub. Id been a little concerned after seeing a review about the neighbors being close, but we didn't really see or hear anyone, so for us the neighbors were definitely a non-issue. It's a normal street with cabins/homes but they aren't right on top of each other. Overall it was a pricier cabin option for the area but for what it offers, it's truly more than a fair price. It was the perfect end to summer.

Only two complaints which were minor and didn't hamper our good time : 1- the grill needed cleaning.
2- there were a lot of dead bugs in the porched in area so we didn't enjoy that space. Both issues can and I'm sure will be quickly resolved.

One tip is that there isn't cell phone service in the area and the cabin is off of a gravel road, so getting in when it's dark at night was doable but tricky - make sure you have the directions saved and don't need the Internet to access them when you get close to the cabin. We did a day trip to Skyline Drive which was about 25 minutes away for the entrance we picked and the rest of the time just relaxed at and around the cabin. Note- there is a drip coffee machine and filters- just bring the coffee!

I found the managers to be extremely responsive and on top of things- and they were kind enough to give us a late check out since no one was coming the following day.

We really loved our visit to the cabin and highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bgksmith
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
“Restful Retreat”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My wife, daughter, dog and I stayed at Bear Timbers from June 26 to July 2, 2016. The cabin was well maintained and had all we needed for a restful wee. The cabin was clean and comfortable and the back porch was a nice place to rest. The hot tub was well maintained and a great place to unwind. The cabin was next to another house but there was nobody in it so it was very quiet and peaceful. It was about a 100 yard walk to the river but it was a nice and peaceful walk. Luray was only about a 10 minute ride.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet
Liked least: River was a bit of a walk and you had to drive on a gravel road (well maintained) to get to the cabin
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romanakol
PA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend!”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Amazing, beautiful cabin! Very cozy and clean and had everything we needed. Loved the porch and hot tub! Cannot say enough good things about it. Will definitely be coming back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing