We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything were were lookin for!”
The side of the cabin that faces the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The side of the cabin that faces the river
Modern hot tub, with lots of jets and bubbles, overlooking the lawn and river Canoes ready to go in the water
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
121 reviews
The side of the cabin that faces the river
Modern hot tub, with lots of jets and bubbles, overlooking the lawn and river
Canoes ready to go in the water
Large campfire pit and picnic table by river
Beautiful shoreline to fish from or push the canoes out!
Living room w/ Gas Log Fireplace and full sleeper
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Master Bdrm. w/ 26 in. Flat Plasma Sat. TV/DVD/VCR
Bdrm. #2 Pyramid bed (Twin over full) w/ 26 in. Fl
Hallway bathroom
Water Purification system w/ Washer and Dryer
Porch swing on the deck
Experience all Bear Valley has to offer!
Stacked firewood for you to use
Canoe down the mighty Shenandoah River! This is what it looks like from above the river
Beautiful shoreline to fish from or push the canoes out!
You'll never want to leave!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 121 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dafco
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Everything were were lookin for!”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Bear Valley River Cabin was the perfect place for our family of five stay for the night on the Shenandoah River. We needed to find a place for just one night before heading home from a backpacking trip that accommodated at least five people and a dog and had a hot tub and canoes available to use on the river. It was just right! The cabin was super clean and organized and was located in a beautiful setting. I would definitely recommend this cabin. I do think it would be difficult to sleep seven people (more like six comfortably ) unless at least 2 are preteen kids. And although it was fine for us for our shirt stay, I'm not sure how comfortable it would be if we were to stay a whole week with our 3 boys and only one bathroom!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluzier1
New Freedom, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Very enjoyable adventurous weekend!”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect weekend! We toured Luray Caverns, canoed and tubed 9 miles, enjoyed fishing and biking during the day and had bonfires and relaxed in the hot tub in the evenings. Plenty of interesting activities to keep teenagers happy, will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having the canoes, tubes and bikes available for use.
Liked least: Having to walk through swampy wet lands
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT!”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I were looking for a get away from our hometown in NO.VA. which was a last minute thing.. we were pleasantly surprised when we came across Bear Valley. The cabin was very clean, very well kept, and very cozy. They provided everything you could possibly need. (Towels, blankets, pillows, cookware, games, movies, wifi, TV, ect.) The cabin has a BEAUTIFUL scenery, even when it rained the whole time we were there, it was still beautiful. The hot tub was a perfect night cap as well. The only thing, the slightest thing, that we didnt like, was there were neighbors that are very close, close enough to hear a conversation if they were on the porch or something. I wasnt expecting that, but was able to look past it considering how much we loved it. Would HIGHLY recommend, for a romantic get away, or even for a family. We plan on making this a tradition for years to come, to come back to Bear Valley Cabin at least 2x a year, 1x for just us, and 1x for a famiky getaway for our kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esmeralda...
Springfield, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice cabin”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying at the Bear Valley Cabin. Being this our third time in Luray, we appreciated the following: Non-smelly water out of the pipes, a clean and fully equipped kitchen, comfy beds with linens and extra blankets. Having the bikes in the shed was also a plus. The star gazing comes with the package. Something we did not enjoy was the presence of lots and lots of lady bugs. It was hard to keep them away the cabin along with some scary wasps. I don't want to sound like a "city girl" but this was an issue the first day. The following day, wasps were visiting less frequently; maybe is a good idea to remove the nest that is hanging over the main entrance. We drove to Skyline, a must when you are in Luray to get beautiful views and fresh air and a great hike. The cabin felt a bit small for a family of 5 but it is a wonderful choice for families with younger kids. The booking process was so easy and smooth so I highly recommend staying at this cabin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the kitchen.
Liked least: Infestation of lady bugs and some wasps nests.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecbtravel
ellicott city md
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very relaxing and fun time, lots of amenities, charming cabin”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for only 2 days, but enjoyed it! We made use of all of the amenities, the bikes, the canoes, the tubes, both firepits and the hot tub. The hot tub was wonderful, the kids loved it and it was nice on a cool morning. We made s'mores both nights over the firepits. The firepit by the river was especially relaxing. The canoes were lots of fun. The cabin itself is impeccably kept. The kitchens is super equipped, the furniture comfy and plenty of instructions on everything that you want to do there. The decor in the cabin is very cute and it is very comfortable. I could see coming here in the fall and making use of the hot tub and fireplace. Having the wifi was great, as we spent 2 days before that in the mountains and our son was missing the wifi.
There is about 1/4 of a acre of yard leading up to the river. There is a road in the front and there were a lot of buses and trucks coming back and forth from the Outfitter's tubing business (drop offs and pick ups along the river), but if you go biking on the road early in the morning you can avoid that. Other than the biking, the traffic didn't bother us at all b/c the property is so big and the road is far away from the cabin. The property is not completely isolated, there are neighbor cabins, each with plenty of space so you get the privacy, but be aware that it's not completely isolated. The place is dog friendly and we appreciated that, we brought out little guy with us. The neighbor cabins also had dogs. The river was beautiful, the view from the cabin also beautiful. Walking on the river bed is very tricky, it's slick slabs of rock, so best to just canoe in the river. Stock up on groceries before you come, you won't want to have to leave this relaxing place to go shopping! Overall we were verrry relaxed, had one of the summer best days we've had as a family there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities like hot tub and canoes and firepits
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing