We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Triple Crown doesn't cut corners”
Review of Triple Crown BBQ

Triple Crown BBQ
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Triple Crown doesn't cut corners”
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Everything is great at this Luray roadside culinary attraction. We are especially fond of the ribs, chicken, and baked beans with apples. Too bad Triple Crown is closed from Thanksgiving until Spring but we hear they cater...

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank irina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    48
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious pulled pork sandwiches & ribs!”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We frequent this barbeque place at least 3 times a month or more. Every time we have been thoroughly pleased with our food and the service we received from the owners, who are a husband and wife team. The pulled pork sandwiches are out of this world - the sandwich is tasty and there is an abundance of pulled pork in it. The sides are equally delicious - the potato salad, cole slaw and baked beans are perfect. The baked beans have a surprise ingredient - apples! Various kinds of barbeque sauces are available to add to your purchase. The ribs are slow cooked with a dry rub and spicey, which we like. Unfortunately they will be closing for the seaon on Nov. 18th - so that is the last day to stock up.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luraydj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back and try more selections from their enticing menu!!”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I stopped at Triple Crown shortly before closing one Saturday. I was in the mood for a pork barbeque sandwich, and was dissappointed to find they had run out! =,( The very friendly servers behind the counter readily offered some helpful suggestions. Fortunately, they have a solid menu with lots of tempting options. Settling for my second choice, I got a barbeque chicken quarter. Let me tell you, it was delectable! Richly seasoned meat cooked to perfection, served with an ample helping of sides! I added several sauces from the variety they had available, just to sample them, and each one was a flavorful delight! The chicken was tender and juicy, so the homeade sauces merely added to the experience.
I give Triple Crown Barbeque 2 thumbs up.......and I can't wait to get the opportunity to visit again!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pbandjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ Ever!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stopped in Luray after our attempts to visit the Skyline Drive were thwarted by poor weather. After asking around for good BBQ in the area, we were directed to this unassuming stand on the side of Highway 211. It may not look like much, but this is some of the best barbecue I've ever had. They use a combination of hickory, apple, and cherry smoke that is irresistible, and everything was cooked to perfection. The chicken is intensely flavorful and falls right off the bone, and the pulled pork is incredibly succulent and smoky. We also had the potato salad and baked beans, both of which were above average (although the beans were maybe a bit too heavy on the cloves), and the sausage, which was great but not essential. The corn muffins are superb, very rich and flaky. But it's really the smoked meats that are the draw here. The owners are very friendly and great at what they do; thanks again, Joanne!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Triple Crown BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing