We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Secluded enough to see fireflies and hear the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Sheandoah river front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sheandoah river front
Mountain views cabin 087
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Sheandoah river front
Mountain views
cabin 087
futon double bed in living room with 32' flat screen TV, with dish and dvd
kitchenette with stove top, coffee maker and microwave
The view on the way.
private boat launch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BonnieGla...
Mechanicsville
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This cabin is situated along the Shenandoah River and comes with a canoe to use. Cabin is small and even though it can sleep 6 people you would need to be very good friends. Previous comments stated that the cabin was clean, however, we found this not to be the case. The steps and deck were full of cobwebs and dead bugs - even someone's red painted fingernail - ugh! The windows were dirty and the light fixture over the sink was full of dead bugs. The mattress was comfortable but every time one of us shifted position it squeaked loudly. The hot tub was very nice - we would suggest adding some operating instructions to the notebook for guests. Some towel hooks in the bathroom and the hot tub area would also be nice. We would recommend this rental with some reservation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
sorry you had a bad experience, we were away on a family trip and maybe the outside of the cabin lacked some attention.I am not sure what you meant about the towel hooks, there are 4 hooks in the shower,and the hot cover lift has 6 towel pins on it.The hot tub does not require any instructions,it is really quite self -explanatory, no one has ever needed instructions. We are diligent about our cabin and that is why we get such great reviews.I will look into the deck being buggy.
Thank you,Lisa Gander
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Secluded enough to see fireflies and hear the music of the river, but Walmart is only minutes away!”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Quaint, efficient and clean. Perfect for a family of 3 and 2 small dogs. We loved the ability to grill and build a fire in the fire pit. There is also plenty of space between the cabins.

The location is great for exploring the many local caverns, the Shenandoah National Park, and hopping onto I-81 to visit Harrisonburg, Staunton and Lexington.

We had a great time here and we hope to come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the solitude and the space between cabins
Liked least: limited kitchen counter space
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Boyfriend and I spent months looking for the perfect place and we found it! It is beautiful and so relaxing with the river at our doorstep. We couldn't have asked for a better location. The hot tub was beautifully kept and nice and warm on a cold night. We did not use the fire pit or grill, but definitely would have pending warmer nights and a longer stay. The cabin was very well maintained and super clean! The kitchen had all of your basic essentials. The water pressure was a little low for me and shower never got very hot, but it is a cabin after all!

We loved our stay. It is also conveniently located to many things.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hot tub and fireplace
Liked least: Shower (size, water pressure and water temp)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for your outstanding review. Our great response from the public is our best thanks!
Please come stay with us again,
Lisa and David Gander
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quiet location with easy access to activities, warm, clean & cute cabin, hot tub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
caros33
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable and relaxing stay at the Goose and Gander!”
Reviewed 19 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I love this place! There is so much to say about it. I have been coming here almost every year for the past 5 years. I love it here. There are two cabins (you do not have to rent both at one time). Each cabin sleeps about 6-8 people comfortably. Each cabin has a fire pit, a grill, a hot tub, and a wonderful deck to drink your morning coffee and listen to the creek. It is so relaxing. There are a lot of attractions close to the cabins: Luray Caverns, a great farmers market, and a Walmart! But all you need are some great friends, great food and drinks, and some firewood- it is the perfect weekend getaway. I highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing