We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Standard, passable accomdations for a small town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Luray Shenandoah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Standard, passable accomdations for a small town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Stayed here during a trip to Shenandoah National Park this spring. Check in was quick and painless; the clerk was neither friendly nor unfriendly.

The room had seen some heavy use. The carpet was worn and dirty in a few spots, the bathroom vent was very dirty and the shower tub was dingy and faded. However, this may have been just due to age and heavy seasonal use instead of a lack of effort on the cleaning staff.

Beds were average, but comfortable enough after a day of hiking. For the price, it is about what one should expect.

I'd recommend stopping at the Wal-Mart nearby to get some breakfast foods because most rooms had refridgerators. The free breakfast was lackluster and consisted of coffee, toast, and some prepackaged danish/mini muffins. Since the only reason to visit Luray is for hiking/backpacking nearby, I'd recommend starting out with a healthier, heartier breakfast before that. There are a couple of decent breakfast places in town too, but get an early start to beat the crowds.

The highlight of the place is the awesome view of Shenandoah you have from the rear of the property. Amazing. Also, it is right on the crossroad that leads into the park--only about a 7-10 minute drive from the ~30 mile marker entran

Overall, for the purpose and price, not a bad place to stay, but they could attract repeat visitors if they improved the breakfast and repainted/touched up a few of the rooms and improved some fixtures. THis may sound odd, but the lighting in the rooms is dingy and depressing, I found it hard to wake up in the morning since it was so dim in the room.

--Final note, since I went in May, it was still rainy and cool, so we did not get a chance to use the pool.

FInal verdict, recommended for short stays and in the summer months for their AC and proximity to the park.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wraiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    159
    226
    153
    109
See reviews for
318
220
36
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northeast Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

My husband, teenage son and I stayed here on a stopover to the Outer Banks, we wanted to see the Luray Caverns which were right nearby. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful people at the front desk, they gave us a map and directions to the town of Luray and places to eat. This hotel is just a little bit out of town but in a very beautiful scenic area, nice views of the mountains. The accommodations are basic but all we needed was a place to sleep and an internet connection, so it fit the bill. The beds were pretty firm, but it was for just one night. I don't take much notice of the decor at most places, so I can't comment. The free breakfast was the usual but once again, it's all we needed. There was a pool, but we didn't use it. It was a standard outside access motel, but more than sufficient for our overnight needs.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcat725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We decided to stay here because of the continental breakfast and the outward appearance. We should have looked at our room first because we chose a "Victorian" and found it to be a disappointment. The room was overcrowded with mismatched beat-up (antique?) furniture that looked like it came from a garage sale or flea market. The chairs were filthy and the mattress worn out. The pool looked like it had not been cleaned in days. The water was murky and was pretty much being used as a public bath. The staff was very friendly but we wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't know how the rest of the place is but don't get a "Victorian" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyAEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luray hotels

Bucks County, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Days Inn. We usually stay at B and Bs or hotels, but owing to the scarcity of options in the Shenandoah NP area we booked a room at the Days Inn. We had made reservations online, but when we got to the area we found an advertisement for a lower rate. The front desk employee was happy to give us the lower rate even though the ad said it was for walk-in guests only.

The room itself was very clean and larger than I had expected it to be. It had a refrigerator and microwave. The pool on site was great. It was large, very clean, with a gorgeous view of the mountains. The exercise room was a former inn room with three pieces of excercise equipment in it, but my daughter loved it and it was a highlight for her.

The location is outstanding. It was very close to Shenandoah National Park (our main purpose for visiting the area) as well as Luray Caverns. The town of Luray is lovely and very friendly, with a very nice biking/walking path along a stream, and we saw the most amazing 4th of July fireworks ever there.

The continental breakfast was pretty bad, but about what we expected it to be considering the very low price of the room--basically white flour/sugar products. However, coffee, tea, juices, apples, and oranges were available as well.

The staff were courteous and helpful overall.

We were very pleased with our stay and would recommend the inn to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stella_luna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

My stay here was very quiet and I had no complaints. I arrived after an afternoon at Luray Caverns and the gentleman at the front desk who first greeted me was very friendly. I had selected this particular hotel after reading reviews on several other comparable places in Luray. When I booked this hotel, it was a little more than I wanted to pay, but did NOT have any complaints of bedbugs like my second choice (and cheaper) hotel. I was pleasantly surprised when the woman who checked me in said that the online price was not the correct price and she then charged me the best price amount, which was cheaper. I felt that this showed they were being honest. (Perhaps it would be better to call to make a reservation to make sure you are getting the correct price.) The location was close to the caverns and in a quiet, rural setting. They had an adult pool, kids' pool, and mini golf (which I did not try), though the kids' pool was closed for repair. I did have some trouble with my cell service, since Luray in general is such a rural area, so I was glad I had brought my laptop (they had free internet.) All in all, it was a pleasant, quiet stay. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shadamai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
4.1 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
2.0 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
23.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
22.0 km away
Quality Inn Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Luray Shenandoah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Luray Shenandoah

Property: Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Address: 138 Whispering Hill Road, Luray, VA 22835
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Luray Shenandoah 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn-Luray is located 7 miles west of Shenandoah National Park and 3 miles east of Luray Caverns. We have beautiful mountain views from most rooms. We have Standard rooms, Jetted Tub rooms and Suites available. We are pet friendly (standard rooms only) $15.80 per pet per night extra (maximum 2 pets). Our front desk is open 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Luray Shenandoah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah Hotel Luray
Luray Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing