We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Suite 301” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn and Spa at Loretto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Suite 301”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Suite 301 is over $500 a night, so you'd expect a certain level of excellence for that investment. To be quite honest, it's very, very disappointing. The room is old and dirty. The vent in the master bath has enough dust and soot to make a winter coat. The front desk people don't know enough about their own property to provide accurate descriptions of the rooms and suites. The carpet in this 1 bedroom suite is stained and disgusting, and there wasn't even shampoo or soap provided in the master bath. Come on AAA, this NOWHERE NEAR a 4 diamond property. This was a monumental disappointment that I spent nearly $550 dollars on. Sure, the location is close to the town square, but for this amount and AAA 4 Diamonds, one should expect something much better than what's provided. I feel cheated in a big way!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank edwardaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
I terribly regret that the suite product did not meet your expectations during your stay. Our most recent renovation in 2008 regrettably did not include some of the suites, instead the entire balance of the hotel was remodeled. This included guestrooms, corridors, meeting space, public space, and the restaurant – hence our AAA 4-diamond rating. We had intended to take care of the few remaining changes later, but could not do so due to the economic downturn. We recently announced restoration for the suite product to take place at the beginning of this coming year. We are excited for these changes and hope you come visit after the renovations are complete.

Please contact me if you’d like to discuss this issue further.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    480
    210
    120
    51
See reviews for
341
684
76
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

We just got took a really last minute trip from Denver to Santa Fe and the highlight of the weekend was the awesome live music that was in the bar at the Inn and Spa at Loretto. We had such a great time, this hotel is in the BEST location to everything you want to do and see when visiting such a neat place like Santa Fe. Not to mention the hotel staff was so nice, it seemed like everyone went out of their way to say hi to us, the concierge even got us a coveted dinner reservation at a place we had already been told was booked for the night by the restaurant themselves!

In all, great service and location with a fun atmosphere, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We recently booked the Inn and Spa at Loretto for our wedding. We stayed in a junior suite for over a week, and had our reception in the Zuni ballroom.

We took advantage of all amenities in the hotel, including room service, the spa, valet, bell service, etc. Total, we spent approximately $12,000 with the room and the hotel.

Room was clean, bed was very comfortable, the reception went off without one hitch, and the service staff was excellent. Almost everything was great, and definitely deserving of all the accolades this hotel receives, with one glaring exception.

The booking staff was downright rude. They also neglected to block off enough rooms for our wedding party, which caused us a huge amount of stress. They didn't attempt to fix the situation, and instead said they would put our guests on a wait list. Thanks for nothing. Due to this, our wedding party (including immediate family) was scattered all over downtown Santa Fe instead of in one centralized location. When others in my family tried to check in that Saturday, there was another snafu that had my sister on the phone for over an hour. What a nightmare.

With the initial mess up in blocking the rooms, I emailed several key hotel staff members expressing my displeasure, and got absolutely no follow up. Considering we spent five figures at the hotel, I would expect at least a cursory apology.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ilsun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

We picked this hotel because of its location and its reputation, and could not have been happier. We were just a short block or two from the plaza, but in a relatively quiet and peaceful location.

We had upgraded to a room with a private balcony, and ended up in #301, which used to be the apartment of the hotel owner's mother. It had a bedroom, separate living room, full kitchen, small dining room, two bathrooms and a huge covered balcony with a view of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains to the east of Santa Fe.

The hotel was very relaxed in feel, not pretentious or formal, and decorated in the very typical Southwestern style.

The valet was usually prompt to get the car, food and beverage service in the Living Room (casual, all-day dining) was good. I assume the bedding is Frette sheets, and if so, now I know what the fuss is about... they are the softest sheets I've even encountered. The bed had a good pillow-top, but was firm underneath and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Room 301 is a one-bedroom apartment with bedroom, living room, 2 bathrooms, kitchen and dining room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SFSusanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shuber, General Manager at Inn and Spa at Loretto, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
We appreciate the time you took to review the Inn and Spa at Loretto and the Living Room. Everything we do is based around providing our guests with superior service. It is always rewarding to hear the specifics of a guests experience and is very helpful for other travelers to read. Yes, we receive comments daily about our amazing sheets. So much so, in fact, we’ll soon be selling them in our spa!

We look forward to sharing your comments with our team and your next visit to Santa Fe.

Sincerely,

Stefan Huber
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

You would think that an upscale hotel with great facilities ideally positioned between The Plaza and Canyon Road with a great kitchen would be the obvious choice for any top-end traveler going to Santa Fe. But in my opinion there are a few things holding it back from being the best hotel in town. On the plus side, great location, overall good ambiance, attentive and helpful staff, good spa, great food and drink and a smooth car valet operation. But a few things bugged us and we hope in time the hotel can move up to full glory.

(1) The front desk was perfunctory but not overwhelmingly warm when we checked in (for a week's stay) we had been entitled to an upgrade "if available" and is wasn't and when we got fussy about the alternative room, they got a bit frosty and for some reason at no point in the week did a better room become available. (2) The rooms--or our room,anyway-- are just a tad small, and fifty shades of brown; sure, it's the southwest motif, but the restaurant manages to do "southwest" in a more cheerful and modern decor than the rooms. Additionally, for some weird reason the wardrobe was in the bathroom three feet away from the plumbing. Yuk. (3) The hotel was somewhat sparing on amenities. At 7000 feet of altitude, water should be free and at arm's reach everywhere. What's with the $5 pints of Fiji Water? The bowl of mints and chocolates in reception and the fruit basket kept vanishing anytime there were more than a few people in the lobby! The bar had a hard time putting little nibbles out on the table with the drinks orders. All of these are little things, but that's what makes the difference between 4 and 5 stars to us. (4) The widely hyped spa was fine...maybe better than average...but nothing like the mind-blowingly great spa at MiAmo in Sedona. Why not reach higher? (5) We enjoyed breakfasts and the one fancy dinner we had in the restaurant but they were pricey. Fortunately our breakfasts were included in our price. [Restaurant staff was top-notch]

Beyond all that, the hotel lacked "buzz" compared to La Fonda on the next block which always had stuff going on, live music, happy people, super drinks and a really authentic NM restaurant. Our hotel seemed to be catering to business convention groups and although the overall atmosphere was nice, it was a bit on the dull side.

Bottom line: good place, but for the money I expected even more; I'd stay there again but I wouldn't be excited by it and might still want to try La Fonda. As I said, it wouldn't take much to turn this place into the 5 star hotel it could be... and I hope they try.

Room Tip: My Asian friends will want to avoid Room 444!! And since the closets are in the loo, don't forg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globofox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,036 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn and Spa at Loretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn and Spa at Loretto

Property: Inn and Spa at Loretto
Address: 211 Old Santa Fe Trl, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#19 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn and Spa at Loretto 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exquisite Santa Fe, New Mexico hotel reflecting the culture and sophistication of its historic setting, the Inn and Spa at Loretto features 134 guestrooms, a full-service spa, casual fine dining, art galleries and a tranquil garden. The Inn is ideally located in the heart of Santa Fe, near the Palace of the Governors and just one block from historic Santa Fe Plaza's galleries, museums, restaurants and boutiques. Effortlessly blending old-world charm with world-class splendor, this Santa Fe luxury hotel is one of the state's most photographed buildings. Built at the end of the historic Old Santa Fe Trail high in the spectacular Sangre de Cristo Mountains, the Inn and Spa at Loretto is an architectural recreation of the Taos Pueblo, a national historic landmark. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Inn and Spa at Loretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn And Spa At Loretto Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel At Loretto
At Loretto Hotel
Inn At Loretto
Inn And Spa At Loretto Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing