We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I was travelling with my two sisters so I wanted a 3 bed room. I misinterpreted the description on the web sit and we had a two room suite with 3 beds not a 2 bedroom suite with a sofa bed. That would not have been so bad but the configuration was of the "long & skinny" form. The interior (2 beds) room had no windows and the heat/ac unit was in the other (king-bed )room. The only fresh air,in the form of a sliding door was in that room also. Luckily the weather was neither too hot or cold or it would have been a disaster.

The room was clean and the beds reasonably comfortable. My sisters took advantage of the jacuzzi/swimming pool & loved it. The breakfast was of the standard bland, starchy, over processed chain hotel variety. In addition it was picked over and offered little choice.

Not a terrible choice -- reasonably priced particularly for three people. Luckily we were just spending the one night and the following nights were spent in spectacular fashion at Adobe & Pines B&B in Ranchos de Taos.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melemelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    327
    131
    62
    22
See reviews for
303
449
44
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowley, TX
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and our 33-year-old daughter recently spent 2 nights this past week at the Best Western Plus Inn. The room (suite) we stayed in was nice --it had 3 beds (two in one room; and a King in the separate room.) However, there a door was not there to "divide" the two rooms - it was all "open". I would recommend to Best Western to put at least a "folding" type door between the two to really separate the rooms. There was a balcony off the King room.. The fan - a/c-heater was in the room with the king bed in it (so it was hard to get air into the room with 2 beds in it and was uncomfortable for the person in the King room for the setting to try to heat each room..) The bathroom was rather small, but manageable. There was a separate sink, microwave/frig area - which was nice to have. It was pretty clean, although one fo the pillows did have what appeared to be a "fresh" stain of some sort on it; and the coverlet on my bed had what appeared to be a small blood stain on it (it was covered by the decorative blanket so may not have been noticed by the cleaning staff.) Quite a bit of light shone underneath the door and through the blinds on the sliding glass/balcony door. The biggest complaint though was that the guests above us had young children (which sounded like a herd of elephants running above us at times and they were actually vibrating our room.) I didn't bother calling the front desk though - as it was generally past 8:00 a.m. when the noise was the worst (we were just trying to sleep in). I requested the top floor (for that very reason), but our type of room with 3 beds must not have been available on the 3rd floor. You could also hear doors slamming on our floor; and the elevators, ice machine, etc. The price was decent though; and the staff was wonderful. Overall, I would recommend the Best Western (although I will not stay again unless they can definitely put me on the top floor). The breakfast was adequate (cereals, juices, bagels, pastries, toast, etc.) - although I recommend that you get there as early as possible for decent selections.

Room Tip: ask for the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXLuv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We really enjoyed this hotel. Both the room and the lobby were very comfortable, extremely clean and nicely decorated. Front desk staff were friendly and very helpful, especially in terms of assisting us with planning our visit to the Santa Fe Plaza district. Breakfast was good. We didn't get a chance to use the pool but it looked very nice. The location was very convenient as we could easily walk to either restaurants or shopping. I definitely plan to stay here again on my next trip to Santa Fe.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Hotel was just okay--we expected more of a Best Western Plus. We didn't realize how far away we'd be from the parts of Santa Fe that we planned to visit--our fault for not checking things out better. Breakfast was below average. Not a very memorable stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janneykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We haven't stayed at many Best Western hotels in our travels the last few years because the properties have been kind of hit and miss. As we were choosing our room for the night this property's sign stating "Pets Stay Free" and the fact that it was a Best Western "Plus" led us to try it for the night. It was about $18 less than the room at our preferred chain next door. No problem on check-in with one large dog and a smaller one (admittedly both better behaved than most humans). The clerk was friendly and gave us a "quiet" top-floor room away from any road noise as requested. The room was spacious and seemed clean. The king bed was reasonably new and comfortable enough, there was a functional little "wet bar" with small microwave and fridge and a decent size desk. Our only minor complaint was the bathroom was small with no counter space to put your toiletries, and the shower head was kind of funky. There was really no great area to take your dogs to relieve themselves except a small strip of mulch & dirt between the property and some commercial buildings next door, but it was adequate for the job. For a hotel that advertises itself as pet-friendly it might be a nice touch to designate an area and put some poop bags there. The other thing that struck us as odd was they still had incandescent bulbs everywhere, and high wattage ones at that. 400 watts above the sink in the little bathroom as not only bright as heck but hot! And despite the upgrades to the decor and furniture they still had a big tube TV in the room. But back to the positive... Breakfast was typical and went from 6-10am and they didn't have Fox News on in the breakfast area. Check-out was again friendly and quick. We would stay here again. Good to see Best Western upgrading their properties and competing with the other chains.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tx834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
0.6 km away
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
Comfort Suites Santa Fe
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
875 reviews
1.7 km away
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
764 reviews
6.5 km away
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Santa Fe
24.1 km away
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
23.9 km away
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
Homewood Suites Santa Fe
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe

Property: Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
Address: 3650 Cerrillos Rd, Santa Fe, NM 87507-3088
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#22 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BW Inn of Santa Fe has completed a $1.5 million dollar renovation of it's exterior, public areas, and all 95 rooms. Our new decor has a southwestern flair w/ all three floors rooms having a different color scheme. We are also a 100% non-smoking facility. We have 16 suites including 2 family suites and some with balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Inn Of Santa Fe Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe Best Western
Best Western Plus Inn Of Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing