We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alexander's Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Santa Fe
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
77
12
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
12
2
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshacienda nicholascanyon roadfew blocksb bhome from homeliving roomlight filledabsolute nirvana spaevery morningkiva fireplaceother guestsjacuzzi tubreturn to santa fewine and cheese houran easy walkclose to townlocation was perfect
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We stayed for 6 days at the Juniper Casita of the Alexander Inn. A delightful, quirky, light filled cottage. It was a southwest styled place, that gave a taste of what it would be like to live in Santa Fe.
The common living room/kitchen has a raised dining area. Off the dining areas is a narrow outdoor terrace that stretches the length of the cottage and is all windows. The morning light would flood into this space and into the living/kitchen area. The view is out to the hills. We watched the sky flood with amazing color at sunrise and sunset. Relaxed with drinks on the terrace after a hard day having fun.
The kitchen is equipped enough to do some proper cooking. Particularly if you take advantage of the Farmer's Market in the Railyard. Very nice to have a coffee on the terrace, watching the sun come up. You don't get the B&B breakfast, you are on your own which is nice when you want to stay in your robe through breakfast. The Washer/Dryer is also in the 'kitchen', nice to have it, but the washer is noisy. Plan ahead when you wash. I wish there was a rack or clothes line provided. Clothes will dry overnight.
This unit has a lot of steps. Enter on the kitchen level, and go down 2 steps to the living room. Go up 4 steps to the dining area. Go up 2 steps to the bathroom. Go down 5 steps to the bedroom and then up 7 to the bathroom. But you get used to it.
The bathroom is spacious with plentiful hot water. It has a shutter window that opens to the living area. Throw open that shutter and light floods the bathroom and all the humidity escapes to the living area. The soaps are all bergamot scented. Nice, if you don't mind bergamot. If the scent had stayed on my skin I would have bought my own non-bergamot scented soap. The house was cleaned daily.
The bedroom is rather dark and could use a lamp on the chest of drawers. Bed is comfy and quite tall. I had to use a wood step to get into bed at night.
It is an easy 15 minutes walk to downtown Santa Fe from Juniper. A 10 minute walk to Canyon Road. It is a quiet 'real' residential neighborhood, with close access to a main roadway circling downtown.
The one caution is the drive up to the house. It is a narrow, quite steep, dirt lane, poorly lit, about 50 yards long. No problem in a car and they provide very clear directions. You can easily walk it, but I wouldn't do it after dark.
There is a yappy neighbor dog - who limited his barking to 5 min intervals. An adjacent neighbor has a bright gate light that thwarted star gazing.
If you want some independence and a home from home then stay in the Juniper. You will enjoy this Casita as much as we did. If we come back to Santa Fe, we will stay at the Juniper again.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KRBSilverSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

We were originally booked to stay in one of the rooms in the Madeleine but after an extra guest joining us we moved to one of their "vacation rentals", Casa Pinon further up the street. We were able to amend our booking by emailing the inn. Our casa for the 3 nights was lovely and secluded. Warning though the house is on a steep unpaved road. However it was nice to stay in a house after being in hotels for the past couple weeks. The casa has two king bedrooms, a bathroom, kitchen, a lounge/dining area. On arrival we were welcomed with a basket filled with water, fruit and of course chips and salsa. An innkeeper came everyday and made the beds, changed the towels etc... The wifi worked great, the tv reception was fuzzy. And lastly the bedrooms got quite warm at night.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Alexander's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

I am glad we were able to change your reservation to one of our larger vacation rentals, though regret that you were not aware of the fact that Pinon is located at the top of a rather steep dirt road. I will modify our website so that information is more prominently placed.

Thank you for letting me know about the TV, though it seems to be working fine now, Perhaps it was a temporary Comcast problem. I am happy to hear the new router has resulted in extra fast connectivity!

I wish we had known you were uncomfortably warm in the bedrooms. I would have come over in a jiffy to point out the evaporative cooler controls, which have settings for "low cool" and "high cool".

It is truly our aim that guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay, and I regret were unaware of your discomfort, especially as it could have been rectified so quickly.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

The entire facility and staff were fantastic, very cozy and hospitable. The Casita was exactly as advertised, cozy, spiral staircase, small kitchen, fireplace and wifi. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The breakfast and happy hours were outstanding. The food and staff were excellent. We had the most contact with Carolyn, she was very friendly and provided us with great information. Carolyn even allowed us to enjoy her garden/yard. We enjoyed the few blocks walks between our casita and the main property, as well as the town square. Santa Fe has a lot to offer and is rich in history and sights. We sincerely appreciate this experience.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank georgeeboy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Alexander's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your recent stay with us. I am tickled pink that you so thoroughly enjoyed being in the Casita, had time to relax in the gardens, and were so pleased with our food service.

Even though it is a couple of blocks from the main inns, the Casita is still a short walk to the Plaza, allowing for easy access to the historic areas of Santa Fe.

Hopefully you will get to return one day, and we can show you even more fabulous sights and historical settings.

All the best to you,
Carolyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

The same B&B company owns The Madeleine, the Hacienda Nicholas, and Alexander's Inn. While the first two are literally next door to each other, Alexander's Inn is a few blocks further out from the town center from the other two. We had stayed at the Hacienda Nicholas before, but were taken with the online photos of The Casita, the unit at Alexander's where we ended up staying, so we opted to try something different. I'm giving it four out of five stars not because of anything the management could do to improve it, but because of some aspects of it that worked less well for us; depending on what you are looking for and who you are, it might be perfect for you.

Pros:

The unit is clean, charming, and has all the amenities you would expect, plus more: comfy bathrobes, an iron and ironing board, a working wood fireplace, a wrought iron coat rack, an umbrella, and other thoughtful touches. It is decorated in antique southwest style, with tiled floors, old wooden wardrobes and chests of drawers, and tasteful works of art. There is a full kitchenette, with small but functional fridge, microwave, sink, and stovetop, along with all the items you would want to go with it (knife set, dishes, kettle, coffeemaker, etc.). It would be perfect if you were planning to eat in and stay for more than a few nights. The shower is hot and vigorous, towels are thick and fluffy. The bed is comfortable, though the pillows are on the large and firm side, so much so that my companion was waking up with a neck-ache. The unit is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, and we were unaware of any intrusive noise during the night, though we do use a sleep app and portable speaker to drown out background noise. If you are planning on exploring the galleries on Canyon Road, it is a three block walk away. There is a dedicated parking spot for each unit. The breakfasts, served at Hacienda Nicholas, are simple but delicious, with a combination of fruit and cereal along with a hot dish that changes daily. The proprietors are gracious, friendly and helpful.

Cons:

The first thing that gave us pause when we were attempting to find the unit after checking in at the Madeleine is how much further out from the town center it is than the Madeleine or the Hacienda Nicholas. It is about the equivalent of 3-4 blocks further out, which means you have a bit of a walk to get breakfast, which is served at the Hacienda Nicholas, and you are that much further out from the center of town and the main attractions. We ended up driving or using Uber more often than we normally would on a Santa Fe vacation. If you value quiet and privacy over being close to the center of things, or will be driving most places, this may not be an issue for you.

The second thing to give us pause was the spiral staircase. The unit is divided between two floors: on the first floor is the sitting room with the fireplace, kitchenette and bathroom, and on the upper floor is the bedroom. The iron and wood spiral staircase feels sturdy but is steep and tightly curved, and requires great focus to navigate. At the top of the staircase is a sunken first step, just inches from the edge of the bed. All this adds up to a bit of a fraught element if you are someone who is prone to get up frequently at night to use the bathroom, and/or are someone who tends to get disoriented in the dark in strange rooms. It would also pose a major challenge for someone with mobility or balance issues. On a more trivial level, it seemed like no matter which level we were on, we would realize we had forgotten something we needed on the other level, and would have to navigate the staircase yet again.

A more minor gripe: there is free wifi, but it was so inconsistent that we ended up using our mobile phones as hotspots much of the time.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtAndFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyninnkeeper, Owner at Alexander's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2016

Thank you for choosing to come back and stay with us once again, and thank you for writing such a comprehensive review of your stay in The Casita.

Please know that we do our best to convey the specifics of our vacation rentals, particularly in terms of their location and any quirks (i.e. spiral stairs). This information is in writing on the website description of the unit, and we give it verbally when guests call to book. You are correct in pointing out that the Casita is three blocks further east from the Plaza, making for a six block walk to the Plaza, though only three blocks to Canyon Road. I regret that this came as a surprise to you when you checked in. We also do our best to let guests know of the spiral stairs before booking. Their existence is noted in the website description, there is a photo of the stairs on the room description, and it is noted in the confirmation. We have tried to cover all the bases, as we never want to book out a room that is not suitable for a guest, for any reason.

I am so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed many aspects of the Casita, from the cleanliness to the amenities, the comfortable bed to the quiet of the neighborhood, the fabulous staff and the delicious breakfasts. Thank you for noting that the pillows are all large and firm. Our protocol regarding pillows it to have two king foam pillows and two queen feather pillows. Had I known there was a pillow problem during your stay, I would have switched out the pillows right away, as we always have back-up available. I will make sure that change occurs immediately so as to ensure the comfort of future guests.

Again, thank you for your most thoughtful and thorough review. We do hope to see you once again in the future, whether at Hacienda Nicholas or The Madeleine Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We have been staying at Alexander's Inn for many years now, and won't consider staying anywhere else in Santa Fe. Although we have stayed in almost every room at the Hacienda Nicholas and the La Madeline (including our honeymoon in 1993), we are drawn to the Pinion and Juniper rental apartments. Located in a residential area, these units make us feel like we live in Santa Fe. We love the privacy, dog friendly policy and fact that children are welcome. The rentals are always clean, well equipped in the kitchen, exceptional linens and mattresses, and wonderful bathroom products. Fresh coffee beans and grinder are provided, as well as teabags, fresh half & half, and a goodie basket. Washer and dryer are nice to have for dirty hiking clothes. Housekeeping will come in to tidy up every day. Our preference is to just let the housekeeper know what we need (light bulb, more forks, more coffee, etc.) On our last trip, we had a problem with the heater pilot light. After a phone call, help arrived within 10 minutes. This is our home away from home.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews