We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Pinon”
Review of Alexander's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alexander's Inn
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 December 2015

I have stayed at The Pinon house on several occasions and look forward to staying there again. The location, accommodations and amenities are first rate. The surrounding neighborhood is beautiful, quiet, and allows for a genuine experience of Santa Fe and all that its rich culture has to offer. High recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2015

My wife and I spent three nights in the Pinyon vacation rental, the pictures do not do it justice. From the pictures, I imagined that it might be a little tight, but there were only two of us, so it shouldn't be a big deal. It was NOT small. It's so hard to put into words how nice and comfortable it was for us. Lots of light given to the main living area from lots of south-facing windows and a very nice (but narrow) deck out back with a great view. The Pinyon is attached to the Juniper, so if both sets of guests have large vehicles or any set has more than one vehicle, parking will be difficult. We needed to be careful setting the heat (it was early December), certainly in the bedroom, because it would quickly become stuffy. The kitchen (more than) suited our needs, although we ate out during all of our stay, but it was nice that it was available. The furniture was extremely comfortable. All-in-all, it was an excellent place to stay, and we would be glad to stay here again.

Room Tip: recommend the vacation rental
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank asacan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We just loved our stay at Alexander's Inn...so authentic and quiet. The perfect calm.

Carolyn and the whole staff are welcoming and accommodating. It felt more like staying with friends than anything else. And the breakfasts and happy hours are an absolute treat.

Sante Fe is a gorgeous city with so much to offer and we will definitely be back! Since we did the summer visit this time, perhaps it is time for a winter visit...?

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2015

I spent a heavenly week in the Casita, located an easy walk or drive from Hacienda Nicholas, where a sumptuous included breakfast is served every morning, and wine & cheese every evening. Breakfast was different every day & always delicious. Carolyn the owner was present every morning, greeting guests by name and offering her assistance in helping them enjoy their stay in Santa Fe. Any little issues that arose were met with her immediate concern and attention. Carolyn is one-of-a-kind, and made everyone feel special. So did every other member of the staff.

The Casita - what a wonderful place to spend the week! Located on a very quiet little road in a residential area, it was the epitome of Santa Fe bliss. It has a small patio behind a tall coyote fence with 2 chairs & a table, where I enjoyed dinner a couple of nights. Downstairs, the living room was well appointed with 2 comfortable leather arm chairs, a leather ottoman, armoire with TV inside, & 2 tables. I used one for dining, the other for my laptop while I worked on photo editing. It's not a desk, but it worked fine for me. There's also a working kiva fireplace with hearth, and 2 windows that open. The kitchenette along one wall was so nice to have; there's a microwave & cooktop. The refrigerator is larger than the type you find in hotels, so I could chill wine, bottled drinks, cheese, fruit, a couple of meals from Whole Foods, & ice cream in the freezer. There were utensils, knives, dishes, a few basic pots & pans. Best of all, a coffee maker, grinder, and a jar full of fresh high-quality coffee beans!

The bathroom was great, little cubbies in the wall for your stuff, nice shower & tub, fluffy towels & robes. There's also a closet downstairs to hang your jackets or other outer clothing, in case you don't want to keep it all upstairs. And don't let the spiral stairs freak you out! They're sturdy and fun!

Upstairs is a big bedroom with 4 windows that open into the trees. I left them open at night and woke to fresh air and bird song in the morning! The king bed was delicious, there's a big armoire, desk & dresser ample enough to hold anything you might want to store there. Good lighting throughout the unit. What else can I say? I'll be back!

Room Tip: Choose the Casita for the ultimate in privacy, easy access to the Plaza, cozy comfort and true Santa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisbsquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

We really liked that our allergies were not effected by our stay! The eco-friendly accommodation at the Casita was just what we desired. The location was peaceful, quiet and restful, allowing for time to read and write. We were very close to the Plaza and Canyon Road for access to Santa Fe's best restaurants and galleries. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful! The courtyard at Hacienda Nicholas was charming and comfortable. Carolyn and her staff made us feel welcome from the very beginning to the very end.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#14 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,710 reviews
Hyatt Place Santa Fe
#17 of 61 in Santa Fe
836 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 61 in Santa Fe
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander's Inn

Address: 529 E Palace Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2200
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Santa Fe
Price Range: €61 - €123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alexander's Inn has recently evolved from a Bed & Breakfast to a unique and much smaller operation. We cater to the guest who seeks more than a vacation rental yet prefers the autonomy and privacy not found at other inns. Our traditional Santa Fe casitas, featuring New Mexican furnishings and decor, full kitchens and patios, are perfectly suited for family vacations or romantic holidays. Member: The Green Hotels Association. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexander's Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing