We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveller rating
260
126
86
96
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
126
86
96
70
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 638 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2016

In August 2016, I arranged for a 2-hour trail ride for 5 individuals at Bishop’s Lodge Stables. For 3 of the 5 riders the experience was good. However, one of the horses was very old and was not trail-worthy. He walked very slowly at first and then refused to move at all. The rider followed all the guide’s instructions but nothing worked. She did not deserve to be stuck with an unresponsive horse that was too old for the trail. The horse ultimately had to be led by a rope behind the guide’s horse. This was a very disappointing ride for her. Of course, the stable staff KNEW this horse was a problem in the first place. The guide even admitted he was old but still “deserved a chance”. Once the horse refused to move at all, the guide should have shuffled the horses and riders to ensure that everyone would have the experience of actually riding a horse, instead of having one rider sitting on a horse being led by a rope.

Another horse on the ride was unmanageable, constantly stopping to eat grass. The guide did not help the rider with this until well over half the ride was over.

When I brought this disappointment to the attention of the stable head, he passed it off to rider inexperience and said “have a good day”, adding insult to injury.

The trail itself was beautiful but the quality of horses provided was disappointing and the guide failed to do enough to make the ride enjoyable for everyone. If you go there, be sure to ask for a trail-worthy horse and if you have problems, insist on resolution right away.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank WesternSojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great time on their trail. Our guide was awesome and the horses were very well trained . We really enjoyed the mountain views and would definitely go back again! We didn't stay at the resort, but when the renovationa are don't I would love to go back

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
13  Thank kelli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

The resort is closed right now [July 20216] and they plan to reopen in late Spring of 2017. The site is spectacular - wooded, peaceful, with a wonderful 'historic' feel to it. When the Resort re-opens, it is going to be amazing - so just keep that in mind when you are planning a trip to Santa Fe next year.

Room Tip: I would hope that travelers will re-visit the site next year. I believe this will be an authentic "Santa Fe" experience!
Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
15  Thank jean t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Bishops Lodge will reopen in the spring of 2017. It is a gorgeous property and the old hotel is no more so disregard my previous revue. This is not a renovation. I'm sure it will be wonderful but disregard all price quotes I or any one else gave you.

Room Tip: Don't know until it's built. Opening Spring 2017
Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
9  Thank singertraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Fabulous mountain trails winding along the wooded hillsides go on for miles. The horses are smart sure footed quarter horses that are sure to please. I recommend taking the longest ride available as this is riding you won't forget.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Service
5  Thank pec757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews