We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy but wonderful.”
Review of Jambo Cafe

Jambo Cafe
Ranked #5 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: African, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: African and Caribbean dishes and specialties from award-winning Chef Ahmed Obo. Jambo Cafe specializes in new combinations of traditional dishes with a decidedly spicy flair. Winner of many awards, "Best Soup" for the Souperbowl 4 years running and "Best International Cuisine" in the Santa Fe Reporter for 5 years. We serve vegetarian and seafood options alongside our chicken, beef, lamb, and goat dishes. Locating in College Plaza near corner of St. Michaels Drive and Cerrillos Road. Plenty of parking.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not fancy but wonderful.”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Wonderful food , great staff. Sometimes there is a wait for a table, but worth it. 

Helpful?
1 Thank LJGD48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    253
    56
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Our 2nd visit...food, flavors and service outstanding!! It was our server's first day and she was a delight. All of the staff is attentive and very good. The food is outstanding, presentation remarkable, and each dish is distinct and delicious! When in Santa Fe this is a must for dinner or lunch!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BearSedona_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting little restaurant”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Food was really good. Service was ok. Would return. Give it a try, it will surprise you.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ss45956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abilene, Texas
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Went here based on the past reviews and we were NOT disappointed. The jerk chicken was FANTASTIC. Just the right amount of spicy and delicious. I am craving it now. Definitely don't miss this place!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank mskip871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 458 helpful votes
“Service was poor, food was great”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Based on the TA reviews we decided to try this restaurant out. There were 7 of us with 3 adults, 3 teenagers, and 1 child. Food was outstanding. We all ordered different food and everyone loved their food... From goat stew, lamb stew, lamb sandwich, crab cakes, chicken stew, and chicken kabobs.
However, the Server was in a hurry. He wanted us to order immediately. When I asked for some suggestions he said a few names of dishes out loud without explaining what they were. He offered no menu tour or descriptions... Mind you, this is exotic food... It would be helpful to know what we're are ordering. He never asked about appetizers and wanted to get our drink orders at the same time as our dinner orders. Felt very impersonal and rushed.
The owner was roaming around and very friendly. The restaurant is very small.
If you want to keep your #1 status on TA, you need to teach your Servers how to be a Server: Welcome guests, take drink orders, give menu tour, recommend favorites, take order, update us on our order, compliment us on our choices, serve food, check back after 2 bites or 2 minutes on satisfaction...and pre-bus the table and offer dessert.
If you did this, your restaurant will succeed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stevetanyaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jambo Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Jambo Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing