We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
239
99
28
13
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
239
99
28
13
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quarryman hall lime kiln cafe roche harbor historic hotel flag ceremony tennis courts sculpture garden village homes formal gardens uneven floors bedroom condo the cottages double sinks shared bathroom san juan islands gorgeous views grocery store
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Dinner at the Roche Harbor Resort was a great experience. While the outdoor eating space was pretty full, we got a table for two immediately right by the marina. I've never had such speedy service anywhere. The wait staff was the best! It was fun to go and peak inside the resort after dinner too. Very elegant.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carrol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

For our family vacation, we booked one of the gorgeous homes on the Village Green for four nights. Unfortunately, no one at the resort gave us fair warning when we booked that directly across the way from our four bedroom house (at $1200 per night) was an active construction site. No less than four homes are under construction on the property, and from the sound of it, they are doing the mill work on site which means a great deal of constant noise during construction hours from 9 am to 5 pm (technically they start at 8 am, but that first hour seemed to be set-up). If you plan to be out and about on San Juan Island starting at 9 am, then it shouldn't be a bother. If you would like to relax, have lunch at home etc., then it becomes much less pleasant. After the third night, we skedaddled out to a much quieter and gorgeous overnight stay on Orcas Island. Our kids did love the tennis courts, ping pong table and pool at Roche Harbor and we had a couple of nice meals at the grill restaurant. Despite the beautiful setting, I wouldn't return anytime soon to Cobblestone Cottage as they seem to be in full on real estate development mode at Roche Harbor Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roche_Harbor_Resort, Manager at Roche Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

There are several privately owned homes under construction in Roche Harbor Village. Construction hours are Monday through Friday 9 am - 5 pm, construction hours may be shortened in consideration of resort events and weddings. Many of our summer guests are engaged in outdoor activities during the day, and for these guests the construction noise is not a problem. We have additional lodging options for Village Homes, Condos and Hotel Suites that are located in other areas of the resort that are not affected by construction projects. Please contact us directly to assist with appropriate room reservations 360-378-2155

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

What a beautiful location, looking out onto the harbor, at yachts and boats and the gorgeous san juan islands. It had been over 30 yrs since I was in the san juan islands. They are absolutely beautiful. But lets get back to the resort. Location is everything and they have that. So lets review the suite. We stayed at what is suppose to be their best room/suite. MacMillan Suite 261 upstairs wrap-around deck. The best thing about this room is the view. After that it goes downhill. The room is in desperate need of updating, needs new paint, its a dark room that if painted white it could help, uncomfortable furniture, actually horrible furniture and too much of it, dirty, terrible lighting which adds to the darkness in this second story room, they have a small old refer but don't supply a plate, napkins or utensils for the snacks that we bought. Same thing at the coffee pot, not one spoon or even a stir stick....how the heck are you suppose to mix the cream in your coffee, I used my toothbrush! This place needs a whole lot of help, if I showed you the furniture you would just shake your head. It reminded me of a college crash pad, all mixed up furniture donated by various friends and family. When your in a very small space you need to lighten the walls, have excellent lighting and minimize the furniture. They should look at some rooms in NYC to get ideas on how to make a small space look larger and be efficient. There wasn't even a chest for your clothes. But your kind of stuck at the resort if you want to be at roche harbor. So you just grin and bear it and probably have to return to this place if you want to be here.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roche_Harbor_Resort, Manager at Roche Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Roche Harbor is a historic property built in the 1800's, although we also have the new spa inspired suites in the Quarryman Hall and modern Village Homes in our rental pool. As new structures are being slowly added, we also invest in necessary care and upkeep of our historic structures. Our historic McMillin Suites are scheduled for interior upgrades this winter. We do have some physical restrictions with our historic rooms, but we intend to address many of the concerns you outlined including fresh paint, better lighting new furniture and décor. We are glad you enjoyed the amazing views from the private balcony and we do hope to see you on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Due to a temporary physical impairment, I am on a cane. There are no elevators in this facility. Granted, it is an old hotel and putting a lift in would ruin its historic flavor. Otherwise, friendly staff, clean rooms and a shared bathroom set up. They do provide bathrobes for walking back and forth from the shower.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janmonahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Our family of 12 rented 2 of the "Historic Cabins" up the hill near the airport.

It was our 1st time there since 1981 and a lot has changed. The Cabins were recently renovated, What an Improvement!

Most Cabins sleep 6, have a Kitchenette, a modern bathroom. Outside is a grill and a firepit with firewood delivered every day.

We had full use of the Swimming Pool, Tennis Courts, Ping Pong Table, etc. Not sure about the boats

The Staff is very attentive bringing us things we needed, like fire starters, immediately.

One suggestion, they could provide more Recycle containers.

We had such a great time, we reserved the same Cabins for the same time next year.

Room Tip: The Old School House has a bigger Living Area than the other Cabins. That's where our friends stayed and wished for a Cabin with more shade
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Spence333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews