We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic Harbour and hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roche Harbor Resort
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Hotel is set in picture perfect surroundings. We stayed in hotel's king room, sharing bathroom with other guests, always available for use. The hotel was completely renovated in 2016, so disregard any bad review from past. Many of the cottages are also undertaking renovations, Hotel rooms have quality furniture, comfortable beds, immaculate linens, sinks in room and bathrooms were also tastefully renovated. I particularly loved the fact that Theodor Roosevelt once upon time stayed in room suite just few steps from our room, what a special treat. Roche Harbor is one of top harbors I have seen in my life, people working and living there take a lot of pride in keeping it in great shape. Every morning the harbor's flags are taking down with a ceremony. In the morning their beautiful church plays music, able to be heard over the whole bay...it was so romantic. I totally recommend to visit and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: every room has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alena006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roche_Harbor_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Roche Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Alena - Thank you for your review. There's lots of unique traditions at Roche Harbor, the flag ceremony being one of the favorites and we're glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

Dinner at the Roche Harbor Resort was a great experience. While the outdoor eating space was pretty full, we got a table for two immediately right by the marina. I've never had such speedy service anywhere. The wait staff was the best! It was fun to go and peak inside the resort after dinner too. Very elegant.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carrol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

For our family vacation, we booked one of the gorgeous homes on the Village Green for four nights. Unfortunately, no one at the resort gave us fair warning when we booked that directly across the way from our four bedroom house (at $1200 per night) was an active construction site. No less than four homes are under construction on the property, and from the sound of it, they are doing the mill work on site which means a great deal of constant noise during construction hours from 9 am to 5 pm (technically they start at 8 am, but that first hour seemed to be set-up). If you plan to be out and about on San Juan Island starting at 9 am, then it shouldn't be a bother. If you would like to relax, have lunch at home etc., then it becomes much less pleasant. After the third night, we skedaddled out to a much quieter and gorgeous overnight stay on Orcas Island. Our kids did love the tennis courts, ping pong table and pool at Roche Harbor and we had a couple of nice meals at the grill restaurant. Despite the beautiful setting, I wouldn't return anytime soon to Cobblestone Cottage as they seem to be in full on real estate development mode at Roche Harbor Resort.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Joli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roche_Harbor_Resort, Manager at Roche Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

There are several privately owned homes under construction in Roche Harbor Village. Construction hours are Monday through Friday 9 am - 5 pm, construction hours may be shortened in consideration of resort events and weddings. Many of our summer guests are engaged in outdoor activities during the day, and for these guests the construction noise is not a problem. We have additional lodging options for Village Homes, Condos and Hotel Suites that are located in other areas of the resort that are not affected by construction projects. Please contact us directly to assist with appropriate room reservations 360-378-2155

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

What a beautiful location, looking out onto the harbor, at yachts and boats and the gorgeous san juan islands. It had been over 30 yrs since I was in the san juan islands. They are absolutely beautiful. But lets get back to the resort. Location is everything and they have that. So lets review the suite. We stayed at what is suppose to be their best room/suite. MacMillan Suite 261 upstairs wrap-around deck. The best thing about this room is the view. After that it goes downhill. The room is in desperate need of updating, needs new paint, its a dark room that if painted white it could help, uncomfortable furniture, actually horrible furniture and too much of it, dirty, terrible lighting which adds to the darkness in this second story room, they have a small old refer but don't supply a plate, napkins or utensils for the snacks that we bought. Same thing at the coffee pot, not one spoon or even a stir stick....how the heck are you suppose to mix the cream in your coffee, I used my toothbrush! This place needs a whole lot of help, if I showed you the furniture you would just shake your head. It reminded me of a college crash pad, all mixed up furniture donated by various friends and family. When your in a very small space you need to lighten the walls, have excellent lighting and minimize the furniture. They should look at some rooms in NYC to get ideas on how to make a small space look larger and be efficient. There wasn't even a chest for your clothes. But your kind of stuck at the resort if you want to be at roche harbor. So you just grin and bear it and probably have to return to this place if you want to be here.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank debbied433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roche_Harbor_Resort, Manager at Roche Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Roche Harbor is a historic property built in the 1800's, although we also have the new spa inspired suites in the Quarryman Hall and modern Village Homes in our rental pool. As new structures are being slowly added, we also invest in necessary care and upkeep of our historic structures. Our historic McMillin Suites are scheduled for interior upgrades this winter. We do have some physical restrictions with our historic rooms, but we intend to address many of the concerns you outlined including fresh paint, better lighting new furniture and décor. We are glad you enjoyed the amazing views from the private balcony and we do hope to see you on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Due to a temporary physical impairment, I am on a cane. There are no elevators in this facility. Granted, it is an old hotel and putting a lift in would ruin its historic flavor. Otherwise, friendly staff, clean rooms and a shared bathroom set up. They do provide bathrobes for walking back and forth from the shower.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janmonahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
12.9 km away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
536 reviews
13.2 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
531 reviews
12 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 11 in Friday Harbor
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
367 reviews
20.3 km away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
12.7 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roche Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roche Harbor Resort

Address: 248 Reuben Memorial Dr, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8171
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Price Range: €93 - €342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roche Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Juan Island historic resort nestled along the shoreline. Guest amenities include marina, three restaurants, kayaking, whale watching, full service spa, pool, playground, bocce ball, tennis courts, and nature trails. Resort center has complimentary wireless internet for all resort guests. Some (not all) of our rooms have microwave, coffee service, refrigerator, and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Roche Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roche Harbor Hotel Roche Harbor Village
Roche Harbor Village Hotel
Roche Harbor Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing