We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$223
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Expedia.com
US$226
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Vio.com
US$174
View deal
PricelineUS$223
travelup.comUS$211
HurbUS$227
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,942)
Filter reviews
3,942 results
Traveller rating
2,101
1,044
419
205
173
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,101
1,044
419
205
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviews menger bar teddy roosevelt colonial room mango ice cream colonial restaurant ghost tour historical hotel the river walk lots of history alamo plaza valet parking the location is perfect love this hotel riders lobby riverwalk conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 3,942 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2022 via mobile

Outstanding service and professionalism by the valet staff. The valet were very friendly and kind to my Daughter and I. When you use a third party travel site…BEWARE…the desk and hotel staff treat you as that…pitiful, especially since they are still making money off those travel sites. They can’t market the rooms…so they rely on these sites for their business…then when they see you used the site…they don’t give you the same service. So mad props to Taylor and his remarkable, welcoming valet team members. We would say you saved the day!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank B3612CVmichaelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 September 2022

First, the good. We reserved rooms for parents' 65 anniversary. The hotel was very nice to upgrade the parents' room to a suite (but we did have a group and booked 7 rooms). The hotel has a lot of charm and history.

The bad. Rooms were reserved for a Saturday night and the hotel booked 2 weddings with DJ music at did not end until 11 pm. The problem is the hotel never advised potential guests of the issue and is obviously more concerned about the money to be made off the weddings than the comfort of the guests. The music was so loud that the bass rattled the furnishing inside the room. When I spoke to a manager to express concern and to find out when the music ended, and she assured me the music would end by 10 pm. Another manager called back and advised music would end at 11 pm. Not really sure what changed or why the manager was not informed. Based on a comment by another hotel employee, it appears other guests.

The property manager, Javad Zarsang, did offer to move some of the rooms to another part of the hotel, but that was not an option given the late hour and parents with mobility issues. When asked why inconsistent information was given, Zarsang became defensive and asked if I thought he was lying. He also explained that it was common in the hotel industry for music to end at 11 pm (which it is not).
Next, he reminded me that we booked rooms through a third-party (inappropriate). Two issues - (1) the hotel ought to disclose late night music on the hotel website and in marketing the property and that the walls and floors and impacted by the music, and also to guests checking in, and (2) this is historic older hotel and never designed for loud bass-driven music. So either do not offer rooms near the DJ venues at check in or make a disclosure to allow guests to make an informed decision.

Last, the breakfast in the Colonial Room is very poor and over-priced buffet offering and similar to what is offered free in less expensive hotels.

Room tip: Make sure to ask about weddings and late-night music because the hotel does not make appropriate disclosures.
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P5257OYscottt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 September 2022 via mobile

Very nice and fast valet. Stephan was awesome! When we arrived we were greeted with smiles and our doors opened for us. They handled our luggage and helped us get our bags checked so we could go explore San Antonio.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jaimehH3596DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

I always love staying at the Menger Hotel. The staff if great, from our valet Stephan, to the front desk and the housekeepers. Being able to be so close to history is something to see. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank katyt957
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

Stephan was very friendly, prompt and professional! We called down for the car as we were leaving the room and he pulled up as we got to the valet took our bags and had us on our way in no time. Great customer service!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank N2903FJheatherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews