We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
7 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$206
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Expedia.com
US$226
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
Vio.com
US$174
View deal
PricelineUS$223
travelup.comUS$267
Hotels.comUS$226
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,942)
Filter reviews
3,942 results
Traveller rating
2,101
1,044
419
205
173
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,101
1,044
419
205
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviews menger bar teddy roosevelt colonial room mango ice cream colonial restaurant ghost tour historical hotel the river walk lots of history alamo plaza valet parking the location is perfect love this hotel riders lobby riverwalk conference
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 3,942 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2022 via mobile

Stayed at the Menger Hotel for Labor Day weekend. We used valet parking for ease of getting around San Antonio to sight see and had consistently fantastic service. Stephan and his crew were quick, professional, and courteous! Definitely worth it if you brought a vehicle!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 212anastasiay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 5 September 2022 via mobile

Taylor, he was awesome, so polite, and so respectful. When we called for our vehicle, it was ready for us. So prompt. We will definitely stay at the Menger once again when we visit San Antonio. Beautiful hotel and the BEST service, especially getting our vehicle to promptly. Thank you for making our 35th Anniversary visit FABULOUS…!!!

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sandiea244
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 August 2022

Old hotels that have a deep history are always worth a visit, but staying at them can be hit or miss. It's a great place to visit, grab some drinks, and have some mango ice cream, but staying here leaves a lot to be desired. Our room was clean, but the room/bed is not exactly comfortable. The temperature was difficult to control and keep at an ideal temperature, but I can see where this would be very unpleasant in mid-summer (we stayed here in March). Our tub also didn't drain well and it's never fun splashing around while trying to take a shower. We were also hopeful for some paranormal activity given it's haunted history, but the most we got was some flickering lights that was probably more indicative of old bulbs/wiring (anything else would have been a bonus!) The Menger is in a great location as it's right near the Alamo and the Riverwalk is right there as well, but given that it's not a comfortable place to stay, I would stay somewhere else and just visit the Menger when you're in the area.

Date of stay: March 2022
Thank Python574
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sarah Guerra, Guest Services / Front Office at Menger Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2022

Dear Python574,
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay in March. I was disappointed to read of the shortcomings of the guestroom you were assigned. You deserved better and, on behalf of all of us, please accept my most sincere apologies.
It is our overriding goal to provide excellence in both accommodations and service in San Antonio. While we normally perform much better, we dropped the ball with the condition of your guest room. Please know that I shared your comments with our Housekeeping and Engineering managers and stressed the need to ensure all rooms are running properly before they are rented.
I also noted your lack of paranormal encounters. While I wouldn't discount the flickering lights in that regard, please know that we cannot predict any interaction with what we call, "unregistered guests."
Thank you again for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Sincere regards,
Garvin O'Neil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2022 via mobile

Ghost free, perfect location, and loaded with intrinsic interest and history. Immediate access to Alamo Plaza. Feels like a place built when people still believed in things. Good valet service made vehicle management worry free

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank superstarcrasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 August 2022 via mobile

We had a beautiful stay at the Menger Hotel. It’s a stunning building and the service, staff, and atmosphere matches. Had to mention the valet services- super quick and super friendly! Stephan specifically was a highlight- quickly got our car- loaded our bags, and was so kind at 8:30am! Will be back.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JessinTexas2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews