We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Emma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Emma
Ranked #1 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Reviewed 20 October 2017

We went for a special occasion and everything about it was great. We were made to feel at home from the beginning. The arrival beverage in the library was really welcome; the turndown service was special. We stayed in a terrace room which I cannot recommend more.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank joshua531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 264 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Converted "Pearl" beer brewery into comfortable hotel. Keeps the old industrial charm and adds modern amenities. On the new section of the Riverwalk away from noise and crowds. Easy walk along the river to the touristy section of the Riverwalk if desired. Great service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank FlightRisk107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We had a one night stay celebrating our 60th birthdays and a quick honeymoon. We happened to be in San Antonio for the weekend after watching grandchildren the night before, and decided to stay a night. We had eaten at Cured in the area about a year and half ago, and had said we wanted to go back and stay at the Hotel Emma and explore the area. What better celebration than our birthdays and a honeymoon (We had married the weekend before.)? For me, this was one of the more expensive hotels I've stayed at, but it was a special treat and didn't disappoint. Our room was in the older section with the original concrete floors and brick walls, but that is what we requested. The amenities were excellent, the bathroom was beautiful and the Waterworks fixtures were perfect with the decor. We were offered a choice between two welcome cocktalsl upon arrival and they were handcrafted in the Library, not a mass produced tray of generic cocktails. We then wandered outside to one of the bars in order to watch the UT-Oklahoma football game. Unfortunately my Horns lost. Next year!! For dinner we headed back to Cured since we enjoyed it so much before. The area offers a variety of places to visit all within walking distance. We had a nightcap at the hotel when we returned and then had breakfast at Supper the next morning. We sat outside and it was marvelous. Food was excellent with fresh, unique choices. That Sunday morning there was a Farmer's Market on the green behind the hotel which was another pleasant surprise. Lots of families and fun tents to visit. If you plan to stay at the Hotel Emma, I'd highly recommend scheduling when the Farmer's Market will be operating. The whole industrial decor of the hotel is unique and interesting. Service was impeccable and I'd highly recommend the Hotel Emma for a stay. Oh, they also have a River Walk stop just outside if you want to experience the San Antonio River Walk, too. We didn't have enough time to enjoy all the activities, but will the next time we go.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chaille H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

With experience at other fine hotels, the Hotel Emma does not take second place to any of them! Everything, from check-in, to the excellently appointment room, to breakfast the next morning was simple extraordinary!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017 via mobile

I lived in San Antonio for 8 years in the mid 1990's and it's great to finally see a visionary non cookie cutter concept for a hotel and surrounding area to get executed. Hotel located in old Pearl Brewery is high funk. Rooms are great. Bathrooms are exceptional as are TV's. Location is ideal with lots of artisan shops within walking distance. Food and service are outstanding. The only negative is that is hard to find using google maps. GPS will take you to parking lot that is not directly across from the hotel. So just be aware. I'm not a huge Riverwalk fan so this new clustered concept is perfect. Check out culinary institute next door and visit the food hall as well. You can get a bite and sip a pint outside on the courtyard. Flawless execution of all the small details with the hotel esp the lobby. So very cool and unique. Complimentary cocktail in the lobby before 9PM and coffee in the AM starting at 6AM. It's very expensive but they deliver a first class experience. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank gyfto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,591 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,190 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emma

Address: 136 E Grayson St, San Antonio, TX 78215-1397
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: €311 - €561 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Emma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History-rich, authentic and welcoming, Hotel Emma was once a 19th century Brewhouse. Welcome to Hotel Emma, a gathering place for people who are passionate about food and eager to experience the authentic spirit of San Antonio. Comfortable and unconventional, the hotel's historical ambiance enhances a new standard of South Texas luxury and geniality. Immerse yourself in rich social experiences that showcase culinary wonders and the nuances of local San Antonio culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Emma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing