We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Big Rooms & Great Location, but Poor WiFi and Huge Pillows”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Ranked #33 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We were in 808. Nice big suite with all amenities and very clean. Shower worked great. Not much of a view and street was a bit noisy at night. No noise from hallway or neighbors though. Bring earplugs, or they have them at desk. However, it has nice blackout shades so you can sleep late.

The bed was firm and very comfortable, but the pillows were not! Way too big and hard - kept me tossing all night with a neck ache. AC fan in ceiling vibrated with a large noise but you got used to it. Again, ear plugs + Sound machine always helps. TV was a good plasma but didn't use much.

The WiFi was terrible. Could not even stay connected on a tablet and phone was soooo slow, It took hours to upload a couple of pictures. Had them comp us for the faster speed ($4.95) but it did not help. Basically 3 to 6Mbs was best I could accomplish. Using ATT or Hilton Rewards connection. The front desk could not help much.

Breakfast was the usual - make yourself type with many microwaves to choose from to make prepackaged eggs, etc. Cereal with all the toppings,and the standard waffle iron (which I love!). Coffee always available.

A block or so to a River Walk entrance and good restaurants in the area. Especially one right across the street as my friends swore by.

Room Tip: Get a high floor away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HT_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 1,146 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017

This hotel is in the heart of the city which made it the obvious choice for me since I had business in the city. The staff was friendly and they got me in the room quickly...that is the end of my good experience with the hotel. The room was disgusting and looked like it wasn't prepped for my stay. I found chips and bottle caps behind the couch and through out my stay I noticed that the floor seemed to never be vacuumed. One evening I pulled up the sheets to see a dark brownish red stain on the mattress. I have never been more disgusted by a hotel in my life. I would suggest you find somewhere else to stay, because cleanliness is not a priority for this hotel. Again the front desk and the valet staff was extremely nice. I more disappointed with the cleanliness of the hotel. I won't ever stay at the brand ever again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton
Thank Haywood G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback for the hotel. I am sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience at the hotel. This is not standard of the hotel as noted on most of the hotels reviews and again, I am sorry this happened.

I will follow up on the items mentioned to ensure no future guest will have these issues in the future.

Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Entirely enjoyable experience. Location was great. Close to Riverwalk and across the street from Majestic Theater. Will stay again. Very clean and large rooms. Staff was courteous and helpful. Full range of kitchen appliances and utensils if extended stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

We love this review! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Very good location. Near Riverwalk, Walgreen at the corner, cute bakery across from the hotel. walk distance to convention center in cultural area. Neat room with full kitchen. Very quiet. I would like to come back.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton
Thank chiz707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Nice, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

I spent a Saturday night here using points prior to a business trip in San Antonio. The hotel is generally as expected for a mid range hotel. I had a small suite, which was clean and functional (bathroom sink was not draining well, that is the only complaint about the room). Firm bed with decent sheets and comfortable pillows (I like feather pillows). Only a little wear and tear was showing in the room and other facilities. The lobby had a slight smell to it (not sure what). I used the valet parking (no self parking). My limited interaction with hotel staff was good. I did not eat the free breakfast but instead went directly across the street to La Panaderia, which has fantastic food and coffee. Free wifi was sufficiently fast for my needs. A block and a half from the riverwalk.
Overall, it was a good experience, and I would recommend it, though there are a lot of options in downtown San Antonio. I would certainly suggest shopping around.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gruiz1, General Manager at Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk

Address: 603 Navarro St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1837
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#44 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#61 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: €107 - €282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in San Antonio, the Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk, TX hotel features an environmentally friendly renovation with a contemporary loft design. Nestled in a vibrant, urban neighborhood, our downtown San Antonio hotel is within walking distance of the Alamo, the River Walk, Hemisfair Park and the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center. Six Flags Fiesta Texas, SeaWorld and San Antonio Zoo are a short drive away. Plan an extended stay at our San Antonio Riverwalk hotel when visiting the HEB Corporate Headquarters, AT&T, Deloitte and other San Antonio companies. Feel at home in a studio or one-bedroom suite with a living area, fully equipped kitchen and movable furniture. Connect to free WiFi and an iHome clock radio with iPod and MP3 docks, or watch a movie on the 42-inch HDTV. Hang out at the Oasis, enjoy a free Inspired Table™ breakfast, watch television, or surf the web on your laptop or a business center computer. Swim in our indoor saline pool or multitask at Spin2 Cycle, where you can run on a treadmill while you run a load of wash. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home2 Suites By Hilton San Antonio-Downtown/Near The River Walk Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing