We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean, shiny, and very welcoming!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #51 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The new Springhill Suites Alamo Plaza is a stone's throw, literally, from the Alamo and Riverwalk areas. The decor was so cool - beautiful, new, so well done! The staff were well-trained, responsive, and kind.
I asked for a room on an upper floor, away from the elevator, which was done with a smile - the next day, I had to change rooms because of the traffic noise, and this, too, was done with a smile. The room and bathroom were immaculate; there's an iPod docking station for your alarm clock, too - sweet!
Breakfast was excellent, with very good variety, but the coffee was not great - that's the only negative about this, but you can brew coffee in your room, which is marginally better, or have a nice walk and go buy one elsewhere.
I loved the look of this hotel - it was like walking into a mermaid's house, lots of greens, blues, and shimmer. Sounds goofy, but after a few days of heavy walking, coming back here was very refreshing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway - lots of traffic noise, although the HVAC will drown some out.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MlleJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (367)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

343 - 347 of 367 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed in this hotel with my husband, and two girls (age 6 and 5). We had a fabulous experience!

They offer Valet parking ($21/night + tax). Or, you can choose to park on the street, or in a lot, although I'm not exactly sure where one would do that. Very convenient, and the valet lot was right behind the hotel.

Check in was a breeze. Staff all incredibly friendly. The hotel is a relatively new property, but it is by far the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. (We are typical Hilton family property patrons). Our room had 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. Small kitchen area with refrigerator and microwave, and single cup coffee maker. Bathroom is well designed with the sink outside the toilet/shower area. This allows for privacy, while someone else is getting themselves together for the day. This is NO hairdryer in this room. Bring your own if you need one!

The desk area was well equipped with a variety of lights and outlets for charging all of our gadgets. We used the hotel's wi-fi on our smartphones with ease.

The room has one large flat panel tv - with some HD channels. The TV swivels to face sleeping area, or working/relaxing area of the room. This was a nice touch - while the girls were sleeping, my husband and I could watch TV without disturbing them.

Breakfast the next morning was plentiful, fresh, and filling. A variety of cereals, hot oatmeal, bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, bagels, english muffins, muffins, other patries, individual made waffles (including a Texas shaped waffle iron), and apple, cranberry, and orange juices. Fruit cups, yogurts, cheese sticks, also available. And, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate of course. If you leave hungry, it's your own fault.

The hotel itself was an easy walk to the Alamo, down town, the famous River Walk, and other downtown attractions. An easy 20 minute drive to Sea World and Six Flags Fiesta Texas as well. We've stayed in other downtown hotels. This is our new go-to hotel when we stay in San Antonio.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank growinggirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed here on a recent trip to San Antonio. I was here for only two nights, but my stay here was very nice. The lobby is very impressive and they have a great selection for their free breakfast! Valet parking was somewhat pricey ($21 a day) but I understand that it's fairly typical. Very nice gym and great location if you're walking downtown. 2 blocks from the Alamo.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mztlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

This hotel stay was decent.
Pros:
Room large enough to accommodate 5 people.
Full breakfast available complete with sausage and eggs.
Good water pressure.
Clean, Clean, Clean, but it is new. Only open for about 2 weeks at the time of our visit.
Beds were very comfortable.
Check-in time was listed as 3:00 pm, however we arrived at 2:00 pm and were checked-in without additional charges.
Convenient location to local attractions.

Cons:
This hotel only has valet parking available, which was not listed on the reservation page.
You must actually search the Marriott page to find that you that parking is an additional $21.00 per night. (Thankfully, we only stayed 1 night.)

Although the room has a pull-out sofa, there is no bedding readily available in the room for the sofa bed. You must request these from the front desk.

We encountered on issue with check-out. We were billed for valet parking twice. The front desk staff handled the issue quickly without hassle.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jacks0n5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
epenasales, Manager at SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2011

Thank you for staying with us at the new Springhill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown Alamo Plaza. We apologize that the bedding for the sofabed was not in your room closet. At Marriott, we work hard towards providing the best quality and service for all of our guests and hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Suite doble muy recomendable
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mino_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Crockett Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
1,976 reviews
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Address: 411 Bowie St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2040
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: €97 - €189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springhill Suites by Marriott San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza hotel is right next to the historic Alamo and is within walking distance to the famous San Antonio Riverwalk. It is a 6-story building, offering 118 new designed suites that delivers space, style and inspiring spaces that will enrich every guests travel. The SpringHill Suites by Marriott offers complimentary new hot breakfast daily, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, business center, 24/7 Market, on-site fitness center and outdoor heated pool. Valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing