We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay on the riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Ranked #15 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

great location, excellent rooms, great breakfast buffet, and good fitness center

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msfromgptx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,940 - 1,944 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2012

Overall, hotel is good. Rooms are clean and modern. Do not plan on a full kitchen though. You only get a undercounter refrigrator, microwave and a bar sink. Try and get a room on the riverwalk side for the view and balcony. Hotel has a great free breakfast, as well as a "Manager's" evening get together with free drinks and munchies. However, even though rates reach near $200/night, parking and interest are extra.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

You can't go wrong with an Embassy Suites. I stayed here while attending a training class. My husband was able to come with me and we were lucky to be able to stay on the Riverwalk. The hotel is right on the river, you can walk out and enjoy San Antonio's famous River Walk. The rooms were large, and beds were very soft. Free breakfast in the morning is great! Parking attendants were very helpful in telling you how to get places. Free managers reception in the evening is a huge plus. Highly recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biscuitandhanksmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed at the Embassy Suites Riverwalk for 3 nights and would definitely stay there again if returning to San Antonio. The room was huge, clean and quiet. I was at the very end of the hall on the 14th floor and couldn't hear any of my neighbors. There was a large living room area that included: the sink, microwave, fridge, table, couch, and flat screen TV. It was such a nicely laid out space that made you feel at home and gave you some room to work and sit and not feel like you are constantly in your bedroom. Plus, I never heard the refrigerator making noise during the night because I was able to close the bedroom door. The bedroom was very large and had a small desk and another flat screen TV and ample drawer/closet space. The bathroom was clean, well lit and had a great walk in shower. The free breakfast at the hotel is wonderful. They have an excellent selection of hot, made to order food as well as cereals, bagels and fruit. Plus they have really good coffee which is rare at most complimentary breakfasts.

The front desk staff were extremely friendly and were very enthusiastic about helping with directions. A staff member even walked out of the hotel with me to show me where to pick up the trolley. After a few days in San Antonio, you may get tired of tex mex and BBQ so think about eating at Luke's, the restaurant attached to the hotel. It serves amazing German food. I had one of the best meals of my entire trip there. Wonderful spatzle and schnitzel.

The hotel is very convenient to all things San Antonio. The Riverwalk is right outside, Houston street has lovely shops and restaurants and leads you straight to the Alamo or to the Mercado depending in which way you go. Plus, you can hop on one of the city trolleys right outside of the hotel if you are tired from walking. Parking is the only downside to the hotel. Parking is always a bit pricey the closer you get to the Riverwalk, but you only have the option to valet park at the Embassy Suites. You do get in and out privileges and my car was always ready when I needed it and in great condition so no complaints there.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay. It was comfortable, convenient, clean and relaxing. I would definitely suggest it to anyone headed to San Antonio.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank metrochica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Only got to stay here one night. Wanted to come back a few days later on business but they were sold out. This is truly one of the nicest hotels anywhere. Rooms are beautiful and very quiet. This is a nearly new hotel. Service was excellent.

About the only drawback, and it is very minor, is that it's at the "end" of the Riverwalk. Would be a fairly long trek to the convention center. But for the quality, it would be worth it. Parking, like most all downtown San Antonio hotels, is expensive. Valet only in the garage. Surface parking across the street.

Also, try Luke restaurant next door. Excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayDee3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,094 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,106 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,217 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown

Address: 125 E. Houston St., San Antonio, TX 78205-2247
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: €161 - €280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites San Antonio Riverwalk – Downtown hotel is set on the banks of the San Antonio River in the vibrant heart of San Antonio, Texas. Grab a bargain at the Mexican Market or discover the rides and attractions of Six Flags® Fiesta Texas or SeaWorld® San Antonio. All guest suites at this beautiful San Antonio Riverwalk hotel offer more space and flexibility, with separate sleeping and living areas, and a wide range of thoughtful amenities. Relax with the two flat screen 32-inch TVs, or keep up with work at the flexible work space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing