We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2017

This place has it all! My husband and my children, ages 13, 13 and 4 enjoy all the amenities this resort has to offer. From the adult welcoming beverages (with your resort fee) to the water slides, there's plenty of entertainment for the whole family. The entire hotel staff is very friendly too!

Room Tip: If you are going to frequent the pools, make sure you specify a room in that area, otherwise you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRFowler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 2,640 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017

Overall: Great!
Food: The food is really good!.
Price: Stay is expensive but worth every penny!
Staff: Great, very friendly.
Location: Good, it's about 20-30 minutes from the airport depending traffic.

Room Tip: Room 8156 was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my husband and 7yr old daughter.
Check in was very friendly and the lobby of the hotel is impressive we had high expectations.
Our room was comfortable and the balcony overlooking the golf course was worth the extra charge.
The hotel is also a conference hotel and the first evening after arrival we went down to use the pool, and relax the pool bar/restaurant was full of business men and it was impossible to relax or get a drink.
Dinner was great and the waiter gave our daughter a blanket to keep her warm.
Breakfast ordered to the room for the first morning never arrived so we got pastries from the hotel Starbucks. This was disappointing.
The hairdryer was old with a wobbly switch and when I switched it on it sparked and gave me an electric shock. Standing in a bathroom this was slightly worrying! A tricky hour on our first morning.
I phoned down to advise what had happened and to ask for another hairdryer , the guy I spoke to offered no apology surprise or reaction other than to tell me another would be sent to my room. I repeated that I had been shocked and he repeated that another would be sent up. We found this very odd indeed. Hopefully he listened and the other hairdryer was binned rather than put in another room.
The pools were empty of people and a little cold ,we really loved the lazy river and especially the beach. Lunch at the pool bar was tasty and the staff were very very good.
We tried to have pre dinner drinks but again too many business men at the bar for us to access it easily so came back later.
On arrival at the restaurant with out 7yr old we found out it was closed. Just a sign apologizing, advance warning would have been good. We then found out the other restaurant was full until 9.30 which was too late for our daughter to eat and in 2.5 hrs time so were directed to the sports bar by a very kind concierge.
There was a baseball match on in the bar and it was very noisy and not really the place for a 7yr old, the food was good and so was the service but not the kind of evening we were hoping for on our last night.
Thankfully our breakfast to the room did arrive.
I did not understand the charging system for breakfast we ordered two $18 breakfasts and there did not seem to be a price next to the teas and coffees. We are from the UK where the price for this is included, with taxes and extra charges the price for breakfast was nearer $75. This was fine but it’s not very transparent.
There’s a tax to pay on just about anything and a large proportion of our checkout bill was taxes. We understand this is usual but worth mentioning in a review as it is not mentioned on check in and so we had to Google it all.
Check out was quick and efficient but the guy did not ask how our stay was which is usual in good hotels, I would have liked the opportunity to advise him of our issues, and really would have saved the hotel this review as I feel the need to let them know on here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank barney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caressa R, Front Office Manager at JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2017

Dear barney78,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, both pleasant and disappointing. On behalf of our entire resort team, I would like to apologize for the issues that you encountered throughout your stay. We certainly should have made more of an effort to address these concerns while you and your family were still here in an effort to make your stay an amazing experience. I will be addressing your concerns with our teams throughout the resort in hopes that we can correct these issues moving forward and to discuss with our team how we can learn from your feedback. I hope that we might have another opportunity to better serve you again in the future. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us.

Warm Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Our company has used this particular JW Marriott location several times for large sales conferences and it's always been great.

The food at the restaurants is great, the sports bar is a great socializing spot, the rooms are extremely clean and the golf is fun.

I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

The resort is a distance from San Antonio though it's reasonable to go into the city. The surrounding area did not seem to have too much to offer from what we experienced so go for the resort itself and plan to stay in property. The resort is large with three restaurants a steak house, Latin and sports bar. The conference facilities are ample and well appointed though the sound quality in some rooms wasn't the best. There are many places to sit and spend the afternoon or evening. We did not use the spa or pool but they looked great. If visiting for relaxation I would check to see if there are large group events going on during your stay before booking.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,130 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,301 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Northwest Side
Eilan Hotel & Spa, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa

Address: 23808 Resort Parkway, San Antonio, TX 78261
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: €268 - €1,306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 395
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa has firmly established itself as the city's premier luxury destination and the renowned resort in Texas' Hill Country. Rated 4-Diamonds by AAA, and just 12 miles from San Antonio International Airport (SAT), our luxury resort in San Antonio, Texas features the 36-hole TPC San Antonio golf course, home to the Valero Texas Open, Lantana Spa, a six acre water park and seven restaurants. Our rooms offer cozy beds, scenic views, soft robes & large bathrooms. Guests will also enjoy the open lobby with free Wi-Fi. Whether you're seeking a peaceful respite, productive conference or fun-filled family vacation, our luxurious Hill Country resort will not only exceed your expectations but redefine them altogether. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Jw Marriott San Antonio Hill Country Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing