We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what was expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld
Ranked #153 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Vilonia, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not what was expected!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Upon checking in there was a group of rowdy people at the pool all drinking, I have two small children so that meant no swimming for us. The room was what i expected. It appeared clean and was a good size. This all changed when entering the bathroom there were still dirty towels hanging on the shower rod. So that lead me to believe the shower had not been cleaned. When traveling i always pull covers down and check everything, the sheets were clean but had stains on them. We stayed several days and the pool was always occupied by people drinking, or having a party i should say. The laundry facilities were nice. It was close to Sea World and eating establishments. The only other complaint is that we paid for the room using points, so our stay was free (so I wont complain too much) but then they also charged us full price for the room to our credit card. Had to dispute with credit card company to get it resolved. Which it finally did. If just a little care was given to the hotel it would be a great place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank armommyoftwoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    17
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
33
5
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

My husband and I moved in on April 25 and are still here in July. When we got here the pool was closed due to uncleaned broken glass. Trash was not picked up which I did myself. The pool was closed at 10:00 pm but never enforced. The elevator was constantly out of order and the rooms were supposedly cleaned once a week but had to be reminded every week.
The staff was very nice but ineffectual. We went without hot water once for 12 hours. Some things were very nice but there were many problems. I often cleaned the patio area myself and actually emptied the patio trash myself since it was overflowing.
I believe some of the problems occured because the owners were opening a Holiday Inn Express next door and that is where their concerns lie. In the mean time, we at the Candlewood Suites were the "poor relatives".

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiedoescoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

stayed here with family on trip to San Antonio with Sea World as the main attraction. Staff at check in was super friendly. When I got to the room I thought it was smaller than the ones I saw pictures of on the website. I went down to discover the picture is of a different Candlewood. The only suite with a separate room is the single King. We needed the dual Queens. The kitchen and bbq grill by the pool were used and worked well. Shishkabobs on the grill were a treat that made some of the other tenants jealous and then I saw them do it the next night. The bathroom counter is unusually high and I had to rig a stool for the kids to be able to brush teeth. Pool was a hit with the kids and we ate dinner out there by it twice. The wife used the laundry and work-out facilities and was happy with both. All of the staff is so friendly and helpful - it makes you wonder why other places are not so nice. I would definitely recommend this place. Especially if you are in a group or family visiting SWSA and the sites. About 20min drive to park at the riverwalk and about 10min to Sea World. Holiday Inn Express and Sonic share the Lot and some of the parking.

Room Tip: have them fax a floorplan brochure to you 1st
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rccola_texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Close to Six Flags, a mall, and tons of restaurnats. The extra space in the room from the kitchen is always a plus. Room was clean and comfortable. The pool area is at a high point in the area, so it gets pretty windy, but in San Antonio, a breeze is always welcome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeOhGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Oh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

I chose this Candlewood instead of the ones closer to downtown because of all of the vehicle break in reports (much $$$ in tools in my work truck). I didn't have any problems with that here and didn't notice any broken glass in the parking lot.The staff here are awesome and will bend over backwards to make sure your happy (unless you're a jerk). My only complaints were the doors seem thin, and have a large gap underneeth. I was woken up several times by a lady yelling at her dog every day, and just about every morning by screaming kids running down the hall. I imagine the hotel being close to Sea World doesn't help. If you need to use the internet for anything more than browsing the web it is SLOW. I had to go elsewhere to upload some paperwork because of the extremely slow connection. Overall it wasn't too bad. it's a Candlewood so free laundry, a cupboard to purchase snacks, fitness center, and an outdoor pool. Not much dining within walking distance, just a bar, and Sonic.

Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank neverhome75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northwest Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Northwest
Northwest Side
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#201 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Northwest Side
Quality Inn & Suites SeaWorld North
Quality Inn & Suites SeaWorld No...
#220 of 354 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham San Antonio by Seaworld
Northwest Side
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
Comfort Suites Near Seaworld
#160 of 354 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld

Property: Candlewood Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld
Address: 9502 Amelia Pass, San Antonio, TX 78254
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites San Antonio NW Near Seaworld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites San Antonio Nw Near Seaworld Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing