We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique, historic hotel centrally located with views of the Alamo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #25 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We booked a corner suite overlooking the Alamo and we were pleased with how large the room was. The view was terrific looking down onto the Alamo, especially at night. It is an older building; however, the Doubletree has done an excellent job in updating the facility. Staff was extremely friendly. Parking costs are slightly on the high side, especially when you find that your vehicle will be placed in an outside lot and asked to sign a waiver acknowledging that the hotel is not responsible for damage to your car. For the amount they charge, cars should be parked in a secured location. Buffet breakfast was included with our reservation because of Hilton status. Access to the Riverwalk is just a few blocks away. Tower of America is about a 10 minute walk. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Jr Ste on high floor worth the extra money
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ZIPPY87ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

We are delighted that you were pleasantly surprised! Our location next to the Alamo is the best in San Antonio, and as you noted, is especially beautiful at night. Our mission is blending historic charm with modern convenience, and we are glad that you found our updates to be to your taste. We are, however, sorry that our parking was not to your preference, and we hope that other aspects of your experience more than made up for the inconvenience. We also hope that your breakfast was a great start to the day's adventures! We look forward to your next visit to The Emily Morgan Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,560)
There are newer reviews for The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 1,560 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017

The hotel is beautiful, the room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were amazing. The only complaint I had and it's just a teeny little one is that there was a fire alarm that went off at 3:30am waking me and my children (including a 7 month old infant). We had to evacuate the building. I think it would have been nice if there had been some sort of monetary apology for the inconvenience such as a night of free parking or a small credit. Other than that teensy little thing the stay was wonderful and we would definitely consider staying there on our next trip. We have already recommended the Emily Morgan to friends and family who are considering a trip to San Antonio soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank F8364JSkimberlyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Kimberly,

Your recommendation is such an honor to us! We're delighted that for the most part, you had a wonderful time with us at The Emily Morgan Hotel. However, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused by the fire alarm. Our fire safety procedures are in place to ensure the safety of our guests, which is our top priority. In the highly unlikely event of a fire alarm or emergency, our staff is always eager to assist our guests with any problems or concerns they may have. Thank you for your encouraging and helpful review, and we would love to host you again the next time you're in San Antonio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

I liked the idea of it being haunted, because that was one of the reasons why I picked that hotel. The history of it being a medical facility. Made the trip more interesting. I have been researching hotels with the most activity.


  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank 825lorid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Lori,
We're delighted by your outstanding rating of The Emily Morgan Hotel! It's wonderful to know you have such a deep appreciation for the history of our property and surrounding area. We're glad it made your stay more interesting. We also trust that your accommodations met your expectations. Many thanks for your kind compliments and we'd be honored to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We were in town for a concert. Our last visit to the Riverwalk/Alamo was in March of this year. We stayed at the Menger and it was a terrible hotel. The restaurant was horrible and the staff acted like we were doing them a favor for being their. They seemed annoyed to be helping the guests. The room was stinky and outdated.

Totally different experience at the Emily Morgan. Our first experience was the Valet. Jose was friendly and really made is feel welcomed. Second experience was just walking into the Emily Morgan. Beautiful and smelled great! Third experience was at check-in. I felt welcomed and was thanked several times for choosing the EM. I wish I could remember her name. Super sweet girl. Friendly and polite goes a long way with me. Fourth experience was our room. Spacious, clean, smelled good, and was cozy and my extra towels were already in the bathroom. Our final experience was the restaurant. We ordered breakfast from the menu. It was great!!! Our server, Kristin was sweet and so nice. She was very attentive.

Overall, the Emily Morgan is our new go-to hotel when we visit the Riverwalk/Alamo area!!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Wendy,
We are honored to be your new hotel of choice at the Alamo! It is fantastic to hear that you had wonderful experiences with our staff from check-in to the following day's breakfast! Jose and Kristin are sure to appreciate your commendations! We are also delighted that you found your accommodations comfortable and cozy and with the extra touches you needed. Your kind words mean a lot to us and we look forward to the pleasure of having you in our care again at The Emily Morgan Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

This hotel is in an excellent location, its right across the street from the Alamo and one block away from a B cycle rental kiosk where you can rent a bike for the Mission trail. The staff is very friendly and helpful for choosing how to spend your time in the city.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Christopher,
It's exciting to receive your outstanding rating of The Emily Morgan Hotel! Our staff delights in sharing their in-depth knowledge of the area with our guests. They'll be happy to know their suggestions were so helpful. We're also glad our location near the Alamo and cycle kiosk were convenient. We hope you enjoyed the Mission Trail as well as the Alamo! Many thanks for your warm compliments and we'd be honored to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#17 of 358 in San Antonio
1,978 reviews
Menger Hotel
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
2,486 reviews
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,221 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
3,115 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: €133 - €233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The official hotel of the Alamo and recipient of the AAA four diamond Award, the Emily Morgan Hotel offers guests luxurious accommodations and unbeatable service. Our location puts you steps away from the famous Alamo and walking distance to many more San Antonio attractions including the River Walk. While at the hotel make sure to enjoy a delicious experience at the award winning ORO Restaurant. Take a dip in our outdoor pool or keep fit at our fitness center. And best of all, our hotel is pet-friendly so there's no need to leave man's best friend at home. Our hotel offers valet parking for $39/night, and our one-time pet deposit fee is $50. Check-in is at 4:00PM, and checkout is at noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel - a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing