We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Emily Morgan Hotel
Ranked #26 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the Emily Morgan. Our room was at the end of the 11th floor hallway complete with refrigerator, jacuzzi tub, bookshelf full of books, and picturesque views of San Antonio and the Alamo. The bed was comfy, pillows soft, and the room smelled of citrus when we checked in. Two days later, you could still smell it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amber8339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

amber8339,

Thank you for staying with us! We truly appreciate your feedback, and your insight into our hotel and team. I do agree that the new beds are fantastic, as are the views of San Antonio, and the Alamo grounds.

We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,629 - 1,633 of 1,659 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2013

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Emily Morgan. It has just rebranded as a Doubletree. I travel frequently and enjoy staying at the boutique hotels that are being added to Doubletree. There was a bit of remodeling going on, but all in all we had a great experience. It is a great location for all things Alamo Bowl. Our room on the 12th floor looked right down onto the Alamo itself! All of or encounters with the staff were great. We received especially great service each morning from the same waiter for breakfast. The workout facilities are ok, not great. Perhaps that will be upgraded. Our room was very quiet, no complaints there. Great food abounds nearby, either the Riverwalk or just off it. My son tells me the burger we had at Oro may well be the best he has ever had!

It was our first trip to San Antonio and I hope it is not our last. With the exception of the game (we are Oregon State fans) everything was just about as well as it could (although it would have been nice to have warmer days....). I hope to get to the Emily Morgan again.

I absolutely love the architecture of the place and it is really easy to find either from the skyline, or being right next to the Alamo.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank GeoPeg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJohnsonGM, General Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

GeoPeg14,

Thank you for staying with us, and sorry about the game. We are actually putting the finishing touches on our fitness center this week, and I think the result looks amazing. We hope to have you back as our guest, and thank you for taking the tme to share you experience.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Our trip to the Emily Morgan was fun but there are a lot of things that you need to know before visiting. First off, valet is $30 and there is no where else to park.. Its the only option really. The people we nice, the room was pretty. Walls are THIN, you can hear everything. When we left I checked my account and had RANDOM CHARGES. I called 5-6 times to speak with the manager and went to voicemail. I never got a call back. Finally I got ahold of a worked who tried to help me and she couldnt even explain what the charges were for. We sat on the phone and added up everything and it still didnt come out right. She said she would let the manager know and he would call me first thing in the morning. The next morning I never got that call. I called again and FINALLY he picked up. I checked my account again and all of the charges were fixed. hmm...it was a little odd. Honestly that was such a mess and I was so disappointed in the service that I will never go back to this hotel again. The only great thing about this hotel is the fact that its so close to the Alamo...but get out your checkbooks..its going to cost you a pretty penny!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS201313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

MS201313,

I am terribly sorry about the lack of follow up, and the billing error in the first place. With the excitement of converting to DoubleTree by Hilton, comes new systems and technologies. I apologize you were negatively impacted by our learning curve, and most importantly not followed up with by my team.

I take full responsibility for our shortcomings, and have reviewed your comments with our entire operations team. I hope to have the opportunity to have you back as our guest.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Amazing room! Great view -so close to everything happening downtown. Staff couldn't have possibly been nicer, from the concierge to the cleaning staff. We didn't participate in their New Year's Eve party, but the band was great & it looked really nice & fun. May have to go back next NYE. Regardless, I will be back!!!

Room Tip: The "Emily Suites" have the most amazing tubs I've ever seen in a hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmrmora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

bmrmora,

Thank you for staying with us, and we wish you a safe and prosperous new year! We are looking foreward to having you back as our guest, and be sure to take advantage our our HHonors program, it's the best in the business.

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Pros: Amazing staff, big beautiful room, overall cleanliness, great luxurious toiletries, comfy bed and pillows, gorgeous shower, amazing alamo view, great food at the restaurant, across from the Alamo and main attractions.

Cons: crappy parking options (park at street meter instead), fee for wifi (seriously, that ought to be free!)

We took this trip for our daughter's birthday and she was just over the moon at how awesome the hotel was!

Room Tip: You can upgrade to an Alamo facing room, which is kinda fun to have. Google San Antonio's parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinneGQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJohnsonGM, Manager at The Emily Morgan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2013

LinneGQ ,

First we all hope your daughter had a fantastic birthday, and with all the hotel choices in San Antonio, thank you for staying with us!

We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to having you back as our guest!

Hospitably,

Chris Johnson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#19 of 358 in San Antonio
2,721 reviews
Crockett Hotel
#16 of 358 in San Antonio
2,122 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#8 of 358 in San Antonio
3,215 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emily Morgan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emily Morgan Hotel

Address: 705 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2023 (Formerly Emily Morgan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#20 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: €131 - €298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emily Morgan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Revel in an atmosphere of history, sophistication, and style when you step foot in the Emily Morgan Hotel. Since its construction 1924, the building that now houses our hotel has been an iconic Texas landmark, hovering majestically over the world-famous Alamo. Take a look at our offerings including upscale guest rooms and suites, an outdoor pool, fitness center, Oro Restaurant and Bar, a Library and Banquet facilities. Our hotel is ideally located just steps from the Alamo and a short walk to the River Walk, River Center Mall, Entertainment Venues many other Downtown offerings. Built in 1924 by famous architect Ralph Cameron, our hotel was originally constructed to be the Medical Arts Building on the Alamo Plaza. The thirteen-story tower features pieces of cast iron, unique ornamentation, and a copper roof with wood ribs. Perhaps the most interesting architectural feature of the building is the array of gargoyles that line the building, each portraying a medical ailment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emily Morgan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Morgan San Antonio
Hotel Emily Morgan
Emily Morgan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing