We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #92 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The location is great and rooms are nice although smaller than they appear in photos. The front desk and valet service is terrible. I'm used to being treated very well at any hotel we stay in. Not so, here, even by the "managers". Part of why we chose the Indigo was for the parking/valet service included in the price. We were in San Antonio for our son's graduation from BMT and had to leave early for events everyday. Despite following their directions and calling 1/2 hour ahead, our car was not there and we were almost late for our first chance to see our son. The desk manager actually argued with us and did not apologize as he should have. The valet service was terrible all weekend (long waits, don't open doors) and the front desk doesn't seem to care about customer satisfaction. They also cut off our free wifi early. There are too many other amazing hotels in the area to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alamoindigo, General Manager at Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Ann C.,

I wanted to take a moment and apologize the lack of customer service you experienced here at the Hotel Indigo at the Alamo. I take all guest feedback seriously and will follow up with both Valet and the Front Desk staff. I hope you will stay here in the future and give us another chance to show you the level of service we are capable and you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (731)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

502 - 506 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was our first time staying at a Hotel Indigo. There is one in my hometown, and it seems to be "the place" to stay. So, when I saw there were two convenient locations in downtown San Antonio, it seemed like a good choice. We arrived early for our 2-night stay, and were allowed to check in immediately & the staff were friendly & helpful. The hotel was not very full, and I would have preferred to be given another room with a better view...after all, why not if there is plenty of availability. We were told that the hotel was less than 25% full. We were on the 2nd floor, and the view was limited...we essentially had a full frontal view of a large government building across the street. The hotel itself is located in a renovated historical building that might have been an office building or bank. It was lovely & interesting, but some parts were tight quarters. Trying to manuever a luggage cart to the elevator was a challenge. The room was nice, not overly big, but ample. Everything was clean & new, and they made every attempt to keep as much of the original building as possible, but still providing those upgrades one needs & expects. Everything worked & the room was properly stocked (loved the Aveda) , and there were no issues in that department. The restaurant, however, was a huge disappointment. Restaurant is a bit of a stretch, as their kitchen may be only a notch above what you would find in those hotels that offer free lobby breakfast. Selection was minimal, due to their inability to prepare a variety, of appetizing food. We only ate breakfast there, so that is the only thing I can comment on, but it was not very good. Also, be prepared to pay extra for parking of any kind, but if you use the valet parking it is $25/day. The good part...we were right across the street from the Alamo, and within walking distance of most everything else. For the very few other attractions that were not within walking distance, we used the trolley. All-in-all, Hotel Indigo was a good experiencebut if I ever come back to San Antonio, I will try to stay on the Riverwalk just for the experience and the ambiance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mimi615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alamoindigo, General Manager at Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Mimi615,

I wanted to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Hotel Indigo at the Alamo. We appreciate the positive comments you made about your stay. We are very proud of the historical elements the building has to offer. I am glad that the desk staff met your expectations for service. We pride ourselves on providing top notch service. I apologize that your Bistro experience was less than expected. I will follow up with our staff to ensure that we fix any issues. Please come and stay with us again when you are in San Antonio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel has lots of character and Charm and dates back to 1900's and we love this hotel ! It is
Diagonally across from the Alamo love that too! The service is awesome from the front desk staff Ben ,Veronica,Alexandria to Valet service they "Rock" they took very good care of us ! Our room was suit facing the Alamo on 6th floor great view ! Bed was so confortable !!!!! In this suit you have a spacious walk in shower w/ slide glass doors fell in love with bathroom ! Sitting area has sofa w/ 32" flat screen tv & French door connecting to bedroom w/ 32" flat screen tv ! This best location for going downtown area & river walk . And in the evening we walked to the river walk very short distance and it was well lite all the way . If you like dueling piano' bar you are close to "Howl at the Moon " 111 Crockett Street West ( rock n roll dueling piano's ) we love it ! We ate breakfast there restaurant it was very good & service great thank you enjoyed talking with you both Carlos & Cruz ! Thanks to everyone for making our stay an enjoyable one ! Looking forward to our next trip to San Antonio & to Hotel Indigo At The Alamo !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socialbutterfly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alamoindigo, General Manager at Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear socialbutterfly55,

Wow what a great review! I am so excited that we were able to “rock your stay"! We are very proud of our associates mentioned in the review. We pride ourselves on giving the best service possible. I hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Melissa Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We went for 3 nights for Valentines day 2012 specifically for the Alamo and River walk. The hotel was a treat since it is catty corner from the Alamo itself and a short walk to a River Walk entrance. we stayed in room 704 a corner room.. The hotel is an old 1900 Bank building and is soooo cool if you love something different. The rooms were spotless and very nicely done with a great view. The rate was very good at $126 a night for this area this was great. If you want to be right on the River Walk be prepared to pay much much more. They have a little restaurant only sells beer and wine and is only open at certain hours of the day.. it was clean and contemporary, we only had breakfast there 1day and it was fine, buffet style 13 bucks and nice service. We walked to the Alamo to River Walk since we did not have a car and chose to fly in from Los Angeles and a short 20min ride maybe at the most by taxi from the airport in San Antonio. It was fine and we got exercise and was fun to see everything easily by walking.
We wanted a dog friendly hotel since we bring our little mini dachsund with us where ever we can..This hotel is dog friendly for a very small extra fee. I believe it was a flat rate of $35 compared to others more elite at 100 dollars a day more! Well worth it, nice staff also. If you do bring a small dog be sure to take a kennel for them while you are away from your room. My baby flies in the cabin with us for a fee in her soft kennel but I also check a hard type kennel bigger for her to use when she is alone in the room. Im glad we did this. She walked everywhere with us and when she got pooped out she was very happy to return to her kennel and nap so we could go out. REALLY enjoyed this Hotel, the Alamo and San Antonio.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irish1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alamoindigo, General Manager at Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear Irish1953,

I am so glad to hear that you and your pup had a great stay at the Hotel Indigo at the Alamo! We pride ourselves on our great service and historical value of our hotel. We truly appreciate your positive feedback and hoe you will visit us in the future should you return to San Antonio.

Melissa Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I found this hotel to be charming. It's a renovated bank office building from the early 1900's and while the rooms have been updated, they have left much of the charm from the original building. When you walk down the hall, it looks like it would have looked 100 years ago with linoleum floor and tall office doors with transom windows above, there's even a walk-in safe on the fifth floor.The rooms all have the original wood floors which is nice. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The first morning we were there, they seemed to be a bit overwhelmed by the crowd. There were a lot of Groupon guests, us included, but by the next morning, they seemed better prepared. The brunch buffet was very good; the chef is a very sweet man! The location could not be better. We had a car but didn't need it at all. The hotel is literally across the street from the Alamo and a short walk to the Riverwalk. San Antonio is such a friendly town; we had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Every room is different but they are all nice. Our daughter's room had a noisy HVAC unit, ours w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jswstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alamoindigo, General Manager at Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2012

Dear jswstl,

I wanted to thank you for your awesome review of your stay at the Hotel Indigo at the Alamo in March. We are very proud of the historical aspects of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the history as much as I do! I hope that you will choose to stay with us the next time you are in San Antonio.

Melissa Thomas
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Crockett Hotel
#18 of 357 in San Antonio
2,061 reviews
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hotel Indigo San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
East Side
Best Western Premier Historic Travelers Hotel Alamo/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 105 N Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78205-1922 (Formerly Hotel Gibbs)
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range: €77 - €196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Hotel Gibbs downtown San Antonio Riverwalk is located across the street from the Alamo and next to the famous San Antonio River Walk. Within the historic Gibbs building (once the home of the local Sheriff’s poker night and a tattoo parlor), our hotel is the perfect blend of historic preservation and modern design and amenities. All rooms are geared toward business or leisure travelers and feature large windows for an abundance of natural light, plush bedding, and free high-speed WiFi. Work out in the 24-hour gym, or enjoy dinner and drinks with friends and colleagues in the 1909 Bar & Bistro while enjoying clear views of the Alamo. Each morning you'll wake up refreshed with our spa like showers and energized after enjoying a complimentary breakfast. Our convenient location puts you in the heart of the city and just minutes from the airport and all downtown San Antonio attractions including the convention center. Welcome to Hotel Gibbs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing