We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Ranked #117 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed here while visiting san antonio for 3 nights. Upon arrival the hotel staff were very friendly and check us in quite fast. Our room was actually really big! and has all the essentials you need including hairdryer, fridge, freezer, microwave, coffee maker and a tv with a decent picture and a good selection of channels. The beds were very comfy and the bathroom was probably one of the biggest ive had in a hotel it was great. The property was the old "Bexar county Jailhouse" which i didnt find out til i arrived but i found it quite interesting and you would never now it was ever a jailhouse by the interior decorations. The hotel lobby was small but everywhere in the hotel was very cleaned, the pool was very very small but we didnt mind. The area itself i thought was alright and we felt safe walking around day and night. You are about 5 Minutes away from the riverwalk and you can walk to the Alamo in about 20 Minutes. The free breakfast includes Bagels, muffins, warm cinamon rolls, scrambled eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, freshly made pancakes along with cereals and juices, this was great except i have to eat gluten free foods and the only thing i could eat was bacon. Although we didnt have a car we were informed the parking charge was $10 a day just thought id mention that and the internet was really slow! Overall we enjoyed our stay and slept great

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Day_tripper1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our Holiday Inn Express hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that the room had everything you needed. One of our main priorities is to make our guests feel at home and to provide them with excellent customer service. We also take pride in the history our hotel and it's downtown location. Hopefully you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to San Antonio and we look forward to serving you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    115
    56
    32
    18
See reviews for
109
87
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

My fiance and I got into town about 10 p.m on a Friday. Parking lot was full. But when we got in the front desk personnel was very polite and accommodating. He assured us there was parking even though we had just driven around the parking lot 3 times. We ended up parking next door.
The rooms are nice and were clean.
But if your expecting to be down the street from the Riverwalk, you definitely are, but you are another 10 to 15 minute walk from the restaurants and be prepared to be stopped by homeless people on the way.
I would not recommend taking this walk alone or with children at night. SCARY.
All in all the hotel was nice but I would not recommend it if you plan on going to the Riverwalk more than once.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CasVacays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 17 June 2011
Thank you for your response regarding the Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate all feedback. Downtown San Antonio can be very busy, especially this time of year. Although you had an issue with the parking, we are glad that you were able to find something close by. We take pride in our customer service and the cleaninless of the property, so we appreciate that you noticed that. We hope you will consider us on your next visit to San Antonio and that we can turn your "ok" experience into a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

I always have had good experiences with Holiday Inn Express. That is one reason why I choose this hotel, and I am a member to get points when I stay at Holiday Inns. The front desk was very nice when I arrived at 10am & told them I needed a parking pass for my car, even though check-in wasn't until the afternoon. With a smile, they gladly gave me one to keep my car on their registered guests lot, and I then ventured off to the Riverwalk. I arrived back at 5:30pm and my room key was waiting for me. This is defiantely a cool place to stay. From the outside you can see, by the windows, it was once a jail...LOL. Inside was very clean and i loved my room. Since the building was once a gov't building, and a jail, the ceilings are high in the rooms and gives it an airy catheral ceiling feel. My room was very clean and beds very comfortable. The original historic windows from when the building was built, are still there and they are long and go right up to the ceiling. It gives it a bed & breakfast feel. The TV is not a flat screen, but who cares. The building is old, but they do well with the decor to keep it looking updated. Free Internet ! But, a $10 parking charge, so that is why I only gave 4 stars for the value . It is a few blocks to walk to the Riverwalk, but an easy walk. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyHorseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 27 April 2011
Thank you for taking time to write a review of our Holiday Inn Express hotel. All feedback is appreciated. The history of the hotel is a source of pride for us and is something we feel that that sets us apart from other hotel properties. We are glad that you appreciated that and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

I personnaly love the Holiday Inn Hotels. The staff was truly outstanding and the room was ok. I was in San Antonio on business, however my family went along for spring break. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the center of downtown, but the walk was great. My confrence was at the Grand Hyatt and I walked each morning which was truly refreashing. If I had a complaint, it would be that the curtains would not close all the way which allowed the outside light to shine through the room. The pool was pretty small and the carpet needs a refresher. Other than that, for $85 a night and we stayed for 7 days it was an ok stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lajasimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding our Holiday Inn Express hotel. Customer service is very important to us and we strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay despite having a few issues. We are looking into the problem and finding ways to improve ourselves. We hope that you will consider us for your next visit to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2011

This hotel was not in my top 10 of choices but, due to Spring break, all nicer hotels were full. Very near entrance to river walk and Market square. The neighborhood was a little scary after dark - several boarded up businesses - but we had no problems. The pool is VERY small but was heated. Room was clean, beds comfortable, no bedbugs. Breakfast was OK except for the "eggs" - not sure what they really were. Wifi in room was nice. Staff were helpful. Would not recommend to families with children who look forward to having a nice pool - BIG disappointment. Otherwise, hotel was OK.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALRedbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area, responded to this review, 31 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. All feedback is appreciated. We know that with every hotel there will be things that guests like and don't like. We strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible and to provide them with excellent customer service. We hope that you will consider us on your next visit to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Avenida Guadalupe
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
Holiday Inn San Antonio Downtown
#129 of 358 in San Antonio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#23 of 358 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk
#12 of 358 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area
Address: 120 Camaron Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio Hotel Near a Variety of Attractions The historic atmosphere, excellent accommodations and friendly staff make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Antonio, Texas near the Alamo, River Walk area, and Trolley perfect for both business and leisure travelers.Our hotel in San Antonio, TX is conveniently located within walking distance from the Alamo and the world-famous San Antonio River Walk. Visitors may enjoy shopping at La Villita Historic Arts Village, Rivercenter Mall and Market Square, the largest Mexican marketplace outside Mexico. Ride the local trolley to the many attractions within a mile of our hotel, such as the Tower of the America and IMAX theater.Business travelers benefit from the great location of this historic hotel in San Antonio, TX. We are situated near Valera Energy Corporation, Coca Cola and Pepsi bottling companies, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and the Alamodome are a mile from our San Antonio, Texas hotel, which features free high-speed Internet access and a 24-hour business center.From the complimentary hot breakfast bar to the flow-regulated Kohler showerheads, our accommodations go beyond cheap hotels in San Antonio. Relax in the pool and whirlpool, work out in the fitness center and rest comfortably every night in a triple-sheeted bed with four pillows. You'll receive excellent service and amenities while lodging in our San Antonio, Texas hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio N-Riverwalk Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio North Hotel San Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing