We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, convenient, shaded parking, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Ranked #40 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, shaded parking, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

The hotel is located near the Alamo and just a short walk away from the Riverwalk. As with other Residence Inn's, we appreciate the apartment like atmosphere. We were in the middle of our cross country driving trip and the fact that this hotel had two different laundry rooms with multiple washers and dryers, made our chore must less time consuming. As with most summer days in San Antonio, the weather was hot and sunny. The locked shaded parking garage was a huge plus!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vacationlandista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    180
    49
    8
    8
See reviews for
217
90
21
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Recently spent two nights here and, as other reviewers say, this hotel has a great location. You can see the Alamo grounds from the hotel, and the Riverwalk is just a very few minutes beyond that. Easy walk to convention center if that is in your plans. Also close to one of the freeways, making it easy to find if you are driving into the city. This also makes it easy if you are touring by car--going to the Spanish Missions or the nearby Hill Country towns for example.

The hotel is undergoing renovations, and if the pictures displayed in the lobby are accurate, it will be very nicely done. Renovations had begun when we were there last week, and the projection is that they will be completed in the second quarter of 2012.

Over the years we have stayed in many properties in San Antonio. After our first stay here, we have decided this is one to which we would definitely return.

Room Tip: The higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TxOffWeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was in walking distance of all the things that we wanted to see. The room was nice and clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

We enjoyed the hotel and the staff were friendly. The parking is $22/day, which is a little ridiculous, but the indoor parking garage is nice and we had no issues with it. The River Walk is only a few blocks away and you walk right past the Alamo to get to it.

The breakfast every morning is nice... we especially enjoyed the Texas-shaped waffles! They also had sausage, scrambled eggs, toast, pastries, fruit, cereal, etc. along with juice, coffee, and hot chocolate. Definitely one of the best hotel breakfasts we have seen, and they also have a happy hour with a light meal, beer, and wine on Mon-Wed evenings.

Overall a nice hotel for the price!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed here with a friend for 10 days for a combination vacation/business trip. We had a two bedroom, two bath suite which allowed us each to have some privacy. We had 3 flat screen TVs- one in each bedroom and one in the living room area. Room was clean and well maintained. Kitchen was complete down to a wine/beer opener. Breakfast was ample with varied hot and cold choices including waffles in the shape of the state of Texas- we didn't make any of the evening socials but if they were anything like the breakfast I'm sure they were good. Only one morning when there were more people having breakfast than chairs. Very close to the Alamo and the big convention hotels, we were a 15 minute walk away from our convention, paid less than we would have for a standard room and had much, much more space. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was busy with a variety of guest including a college volleyball team, many military folks, folks with pets but was quiet. I'd certainly return there if I visit San Antonio again.

A couple of minor issues-We rented a car for part of our stay- $22 a night plus tax to park our rental car seemed excessive- it cost more to park the car than it did to rent it. There is only one control on the air conditioning/heating for the entire suite so if one person wanted it warmer/colder in their bedroom it was an issue. There were problems with the internet access in our room- turned out the wifi didn't like our choice of browser which took a couple of days and a couple of staff folks to figure out, luckily I didn't have any major deadlines or projects to complete during that time.

Room Tip: Higher floors, nicer view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtlawmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
East Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Antonio - Riverwalk / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Downtown
East Side
Home2 Suites by Hilton San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza

Property: Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza
Address: 425 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205-2011
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#21 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#35 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Antonio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio Downtown/Alamo Plaza Hotel San Antonio
Residence Inn Alamo Plaza
San Antonio Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing