We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved everything about it!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
147 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Salem, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alissa D
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
1 review
“Loved everything about it!”
Reviewed 22 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Henry Derby House on out honeymoon. We loved it. The room (the entire house really) was beautiful. The staff was super nice. They were all warm and inviting. The owner (Peg) sat at us at breakfast just about every day and was extremely helpful. She pointed out good attractions to see, great places to eat and the best routes through the city. The house is within walking distance of most of the attractions and restaurants, bonus to people like us who prefer to walk. If we ever go back to Salem we would without a doubt stay at the Henry Derby House again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina R
Western Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cozy, Warm, Inviting, Friendly and close to everything”
Reviewed 22 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful. I have been to Salem many times but this is the first time we stayed in a B&B. The Red room was wonderful, private bath - small but I liked it. Bed was excellent and comfortable. The whole sleeping experience was great. Red room is on the side street and there was a little noise but once in bed didn't hear a thing (I currently live in the country where it is very very quiet). Staying here where there was more traffic, didn't hear it. Slept like a baby. Also great bath towels, soft and big.
And as mentioned in other reviews I found Peg and her staff excellent. Very informative and had a great time with Peg in the morning. Would have actually loved to have spent more time with her as she has knowledge of a lot of history and would like to know more about Henry Derby House. So will have to book another stay!! LOL.
Breakfast was great. She advertised a continental and it really was lovely. Fresh fruit, choice of cereal, and choice of pastries. I walked away full and not wanting more.
Location is the best part. Can walk to the center of Salem and the Wharf. Salem has great places to eat. It is also close enough to jump in the car and go up to Bearskin/Rockport and Glocouster.
Also met some lovely people, two young women from Onterio and another couple who are moving to MA.
I would stay here again and would recommend this place to anyone.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cc5001
Hobart
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming! Great location and lovely hostess”
Reviewed 23 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed at Henry Derby House in the yellow (twin) room for 1 night and wish we had booked more nights!

Salem is not very big so everything is within walking distance, it's about a 5 minute walk to the centre of town, restaurant row and the pedestrian mall. There is a market around the corner and it's right near the Post Office.

The owner, Peg, was lovely and made this experience what it was. She gave us a map and showed us the attractions her guests have most enjoyed on the map with directions.

The b&b is colour coded and each room has its own decor and charm. We stayed in the yellow room which was lovely. The adjoining bathroom was a rose colour with rose body wash and moisturiser to match! The best thing was the bed though! Very comfortable with a choice of 2 heights of pillow and the most comfortable sheets and pillow cases we have ever experienced!

In the morning Peg served us a huge continental breakfast spread of fresh fruits and berries, 2 types of cereals and then we were offered a choice of 6 different types of breads and 4 cakes! There were also different blends of tea including a lovely Chai green tea and coffee with cream, milk or skim. She sat with us and chatted in between serving us.

Peg also called us a taxi to the train station when we needed to leave.

Thanks Peg, we'll try to come again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K
Murrieta, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun stay!”
Reviewed 13 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

My family stayed three nights in April 2012 at the Henry Derby House in Salem, MA. We have two children ages 13 and 11, so there were four of us. We rented the Mauve and the Yellow room. The rooms can be adjoined like a suite (similar to what you can do in a hotel with adjoining rooms) The private bathroom has "in the room" access from the yellow room. You can also get to it easily from the Mauve room, you just need to exit your door and it is to the slight right. We put the kids in the Yellow room which has 2 x twin beds and we stayed in the Mauve room with a King bed. The door to the two rooms we had open so we really had a nice suite between the two rooms and used the bathroom which was private in the kids yellow room.

The B & B is within walking distance to everything...including the commuter train station. (about 15 minute walk to commuter train-MTBA) Restaurants and sights are about a 5 minute walk.
We walked to the train station and took the 1/2 hour train ride into Boston on one of the days. For the four of us it was about 20 bucks round trip.

The B & B is very clean on the inside. Everyday the rooms are made up nicely. (new towels- beds made etc) This is nice and unusual for B & B's as most of the time it is up to you to hang the towels and make the beds- but at this B & B they will do it daily for you) Every day the room is made up you are given a bottled water per person, which is nice since at the end of the day- you are mighty thirsty. There is a coffee maker and small refrigerator in each room.

The owner, Peg was very accommodating. If we needed something- we would just ask. She was under the weather during our stay, but still gave us the "layout" of Salem-where to go - what to see etc

Parking is on the street on the side of the B & B. We just left our car, because you can walk to everything or take the train or bus/ferry if you want to go into Boston. NOTE: The ferry does not run in April. (Starts in May)

I was amazed how busy the street of the house can be at times. I am a light sleeper, however, the traffic on the street did not keep me or my family up on any of the nights.

The restaurants in town have really good food. We mixed it up and ate at various places.

The house has several maps downstairs that make it easy find out how to get around. There are not many rooms at this B & B- so you could be the only one staying there. We were the only ones for the first 1.5 days and it was really nice...although we never did meet or see the other person(s) staying there- nor did we hear them accept for when they first checked in.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constance...
Lancaster, Pa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 20 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Peg was an amazing hostess - very kind, accommodating and helpful. When we got there she directed us to all the nearby restaurants and attractions that met our interests. The entire B&B – bedrooms, bathrooms, dining room – was spotless and well taken care of. Every aspect of the house was comfortable and cozy. They cleaned our room daily, provided a delicious cold breakfast, and there was no curfew – unlike some Salem B&Bs. Also, Henry Derby house had a great location - everything was within easy walking distance. We loved staying here! We highly recommend it and would definitely stay here again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$500
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing